Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    piCorePlayer and plugable USB audio adapter

    I have insalled piCorePlayer on a pi zero w and set it up as a player only
    I purchased a plugable USB audio adapter which I plugged into the Pi zero w
    I get no sound out of the speakers
    tested both speakers and usb audio adapter on other devices successfully
    Squeezlite settings set to USB audio
    got this info from the pi
    [ 1.542215] usb 1-1: new full-speed USB device number 2 using dwc_otg
    [ 1.542460] Indeed it is in host mode hprt0 = 00021501
    [ 1.814021] usb 1-1: New USB device found, idVendor=0d8c, idProduct=0014
    [ 1.814038] usb 1-1: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
    [ 1.814045] usb 1-1: Product: USB Audio Device
    [ 1.814052] usb 1-1: Manufacturer: C-Media Electronics Inc.
    [ 1.825023] input: C-Media Electronics Inc. USB Audio Device as /devices/platform/soc/20980000.usb/usb1/1-1/1-1:1.3/0003:0D8C:0014.0001/input/input0
    [ 1.892574] hid-generic 0003:0D8C:0014.0001: input,hidraw0: USB HID v1.00 Device [C-Media Electronics Inc. USB Audio Device] on usb-20980000.usb-1/input3
    I set the OTG-Speed to dwc_otg.speed=1
    Tried FIQ-Split acceleration of 1, 2, 3 and 8
    Is there anything I should be adding to the picoreplayer squeezelite definitions to get the sound to work?
    Last edited by simon m madle; 2018-05-16 at 04:03.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    2,176
    Quote Originally Posted by simon m madle View Post
    I have insalled piCorePlayer on a pi zero w and set it up as a player only
    I purchased a plugable USB audio adapter which I plugged into the Pi zero w
    I get no sound out of the speakers
    tested both speakers and usb audio adapter on other devices successfully
    Squeezlite settings set to USB audio
    Is there anything I should be adding to the picoreplayer squeezelite definitions to get the sound to work?
    What do you see here?

    Name:  aaapcpusb.png
Views: 138
Size:  113.5 KB

    Ronnie

  3. #3
    Thanks for your reply
    I've tried that field
    • empty
    • sysdefault:CARD=ALSA
    • hw:CARD=ALSA

    but none made any difference, no sound.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    2,176
    If you ssh into picore (user tc, passwd piCore) and at the cmd promt type

    Code:
    aplay -l
    press enter

    and then

    Code:
    aplay -L
    and press enter again

    what do you get?

    This is mine

    Code:
    tc@piCorePlayer:~$ aplay -l
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: Star [North Star], device 0: USB-SPDIF Audio [USB-SPDIF Audio]
      Subdevices: 0/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: ALSA [bcm2835 ALSA], device 0: bcm2835 ALSA [bcm2835 ALSA]
      Subdevices: 7/7
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
      Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
      Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
      Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
      Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
      Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
      Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
    card 1: ALSA [bcm2835 ALSA], device 1: bcm2835 ALSA [bcm2835 IEC958/HDMI]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    tc@piCorePlayer:~$ aplay -L
    null
        Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
    sysdefault:CARD=Star
        North Star, USB-SPDIF Audio
        Default Audio Device
    sysdefault:CARD=ALSA
        bcm2835 ALSA, bcm2835 ALSA
        Default Audio Device
    tc@piCorePlayer:~$

    Not all cards are compatible, do you have a link to the card you are using?

    Have you checked the list at

    https://sites.google.com/site/picore...st-of-USB-DACs

    I don't have any experience with the zero so I don't know what is normal.

    just to be certain, you did reboot after selecting USB-Audio?

    You might need a powered hub for both the zero and the usb-adapter
    Last edited by Man in a van; 2018-05-16 at 08:48.

  5. #5
    mine says
    tc@piCPlayerOnly:~$ aplay -l
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: ALSA [bcm2835 ALSA], device 0: bcm2835 ALSA [bcm2835 ALSA]
    Subdevices: 6/7
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
    Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
    Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
    Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
    Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
    Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
    card 0: ALSA [bcm2835 ALSA], device 1: bcm2835 ALSA [bcm2835 IEC958/HDMI]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    tc@piCPlayerOnly:~$ aplay -L
    null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
    sysdefault:CARD=ALSA
    bcm2835 ALSA, bcm2835 ALSA
    Default Audio Device

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    2,176
    Well it looks like it is not registering.

    Maybe try a fresh download of the standard pCP and burn a fresh image and try again.

    If you let folk know which adapter you are using it may help.

    Ronnie
    Last edited by Man in a van; 2018-05-16 at 09:20.

  7. #7
    Name:  picoreplayer.jpg
Views: 125
Size:  62.6 KB
    here is a screenshot
    this is my usb audio device
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Plugable-He...+audio+adapter

  8. #8
    Senior Member chill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    568
    Hi Simon

    I had a similar issue with a Zero - see here.

    Paul's answer in the next post fixed it for me.


    Quote from the second post in the pCP 3.5.0 thread:
    "If using on a armv6 device, and using USB for audio there is a missing driver, after you install 3.5.0 and boot up.....open a ssh session and run pcp-update alsa-modules-KERNEL"

  9. #9
    This is what I got
    tc@piCPlayerOnly:~$ pcp-update alsa-modules-KERNEL
    [ INFO ] Checking for Updates

    [ INFO ] Checking: alsa-modules-4.14.26-pcpCore.tcz [ ERROR ] downloading http://picoreplayer.sourceforge.net/...re.tcz.md5.txt
    [ INFO ] Done checking for updates
    and I got this error
    503 No Backend Servers Available
    No backend servers were available to answer your request. Please notify the site admins.
    when trying to access
    http://picoreplayer.sourceforge.net
    so it's down or does not exist

  10. #10
    Tried later and it worked. I now see this
    Name:  picoreplayer1.jpg
Views: 103
Size:  61.8 KB
    so far tried null and the first one without success
    these work
    sysdefault:CARD=Device
    front:CARD=Device,DEV=0
    Brilliant
    Thanks to everyone who took the time and responded.
    Last edited by simon m madle; 2018-05-17 at 03:39.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •