Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    Senior Member Apesbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,369
    Quote Originally Posted by liffy99 View Post
    What about alternatives to LMS or Vortexbox SW - I know nothing of alternatives - is JRiver one ? Does that both manage the library, rip and encode etc ?
    You need LMS (Vortexbox runs LMS) to serve music to your Squeezebox players. It pretty much just runs in the background on Windows. J River is a fine media manager/ripper/tagger; MediaMonkey, MusicBee, Nightingale, and foobar2000 are alternatives.

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    4,001
    Quote Originally Posted by alfista View Post
    I read the question as mainly being a matter of making things more robust and easier to use, and I don't see running VB on a virtual machine doing anything for ease of use, possibly the opposite. It will be just as "headless" and the default install will probably require a bit of tweaking if you want to keep the music collection in the host OS file system.
    Virtualization is pretty neat, but perhaps not the answer to the question at hand.
    I really don't have much of advice, it's not easy to come up with a simple solution that ticks all of the boxes (autorip, incremental backups etc), for such a use case I believe a dedicated server with VB is the least bad option.
    I tend to agree based on the limited information we have.

    If the existing Vortexbox isn't working properly but you need auto-rip, auto conversion then I'd buy a second hand small form factor low power PC with CD and install Vortexbox from ISO.

    Unfortunately the Vortexbox forums are down so the lack of perceived support maybe an off putting factor.
    The basic 2.4 install runs 7.8.1 but it is easy to move it to the 7.9 nightly path.

    It is also fairly easy to hack the config files around to get the CD ripping as you want.

    Personally I still use an old PC in this mode but it has been hacked to have storage on a NAS via NFS - an unnecessary step here.

    I do agree with Jeff that cover art is a bit hit & miss but that is easily resolved.

    There is plenty of support here.
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Pi3+Sreen -> Sony TAFE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi2+DAC & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi2+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) - SB Touch ->Sherwood AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s
    Everything controlled by iPeng

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    132

    VB mounting using shared folder

    Quote Originally Posted by philippe_44 View Post
    In that case, having LMS under Windows is fine, that's my main system. And if you like VB a lot, then run it inside a VirtualBox virtual machine. I'm using that for my tests when somebody has an issue with my plugins and VB. If you want to, you should be able to have your music files on your Windows partition and have the VB mounting that directory using "shared folders"
    I have been trying to use shared folder within VMWare Player but cannot get it to work, do you have the steps/commands to do that?

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,984
    Quote Originally Posted by dbinder101 View Post
    I have been trying to use shared folder within VMWare Player but cannot get it to work, do you have the steps/commands to do that?
    Iĺm not familiar with VMware, only VirtualBox
    LMS 7.7, 7.8 and 7.9 - 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB2. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, JBL OnBeat, XBoxOne, XBMC, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, , Pi B3, B2, Pi B+, 2xPi A+, Odroid-C1, Odroid-C2, Cubie2, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2,845
    Quote Originally Posted by dbinder101 View Post
    I have been trying to use shared folder within VMWare Player but cannot get it to work, do you have the steps/commands to do that?
    Hi,

    these steps vary from Version to Version.

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    132
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe_44 View Post
    In that case, having LMS under Windows is fine, that's my main system. And if you like VB a lot, then run it inside a VirtualBox virtual machine. I'm using that for my tests when somebody has an issue with my plugins and VB. If you want to, you should be able to have your music files on your Windows partition and have the VB mounting that directory using "shared folders"
    philippe_44 -
    Hi-
    I have successfully installed 2.4 within VMware cause I just wanted to test it out. However, I cant seem to share my music library which resides on the host (Windows 10). Can you point me in the right direction on what commands and steps I need to perform in order to do this? Thank you.


    -David

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    4,001
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Pi3+Sreen -> Sony TAFE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi2+DAC & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi2+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) - SB Touch ->Sherwood AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s
    Everything controlled by iPeng

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    132
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    Thank you for the link. Unfortunately, I've followed those instructions before but I cant seem to get past the part where you need to mount the VMWare Tools within the guest terminal window. When I issue the command:

    mount /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom

    it comes back with:
    mount: no medium found on /dev/sr0

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    575
    Did you define a CD rom in settings vm?
    SqueezeBoxes: 1x Transporter (Living room) 1x SB2 (shed), 1x Radio (Kitchen), 1x Boom (Dining room), 1x piCorePlayer (jacuzzi), 1x piCorePlayer (Garden) 1x OSMC + Squeezelite (Movie room), 1x Touch (Study 2), few spare unit's
    Server: LMS on Pi3 7.9.1. on PcP 3.21
    Network: AVM Fritzbox, Netgear Smart Switch 24p, 3x Ubiquity

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    132
    Quote Originally Posted by edwin2006 View Post
    Did you define a CD rom in settings vm?
    Yes, at least I think I did, see attached. I also attached a message from the message log file, maybe that would help?
    Attached Images Attached Images   

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •