Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 41 to 49 of 49
  1. #41
    Senior Member JoeMuc2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Muenster, Germany
    Posts
    176
    Quote Originally Posted by kidhazy View Post
    Joe,

    Is there any way to determine if a blank display is the power-supply versus a dead VFD ?

    One of my Booms has finally died with a blank display (ie. no Logitech display at re-powerup, and doesn't even resurface after some time of power off).

    Looking at your great and very detailed blog the VFD replacement is beyond my soldering skills - but looking to see if there is a way to diagnose if the power-supply work-around may work for me?

    Cheers.
    Hi there,

    sure, there is. You will need a multimeter though in DC voltage mode. If the Boom is still controllable via IR or via network, the display power supply is the main suspect. If it is no longer controllable, it might have died. Hope that's not the case.
    If you get down to the mainboard, you'll just have to push the multimeter's negative probe against one of the five screws that hold the mainboard, and the positive (red) probe against one of the three metal pins on the very left (upper corner) of the display. It does not matter which of the three you touch as they are shorted together. You should see around 5 Volts there. Then connect the positive probe to the one of the three pins on the opposite side (right top corner) and check the voltage there. It should be considerable less than 5 Volts. If it is same as on the left side, or even higher, that's the display power supply circuitry failure. The three-diode fix from by blog will help in that case.
    Please be sure not to have the probe slip anywhere else than the points described. You can easily damage the board beyond repair with a short circuit or ripped PCB lines, so please be very careful there.

    Wish you good luck, and if you need help, let me know

    Regards,
    Joe


    PN me if your Boom / Classic / Transporter display has issues!

    Blog: https://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?ri...50753#allposts

  2. #42
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    134
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeMuc2009 View Post
    Hi there,

    sure, there is. You will need a multimeter though in DC voltage mode. If the Boom is still controllable via IR or via network, the display power supply is the main suspect. If it is no longer controllable, it might have died. Hope that's not the case.
    Thanks Joe. Yes, the Boom can still be controlled via the Network (IR works, but hard to drive blind).

    I was all set to open it up and check the voltages when I moved the unit on the bench and the display 'limped' back to life.
    It is very, very dull (even on the brightest setting) - which I think fits with your description of the VFD needing the voltage drop to maintain brightness.

    So, I won't even bother opening it up to check just now, I'll just head down to the shops and grab some diodes and give your 'fix' a try.

    Thanks.

  3. #43
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    134
    Thanks again to Joe.

    $2 worth of parts and the Squeezebox Boom display is back and active.

    The display stopped displaying again and was measuring 5V at both ends - so yeah, power supply was the issue.

    But your work-around did the job and the display is back and readable.

    Now...just to get rid of the stickiness on the front panel ;-)

    Cheers.

  4. #44
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    1

    Boom

    Was really glad to see that it is poosible to save my Boom was just about to thow it in the bin :-)

  5. #45
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    South Devon, UK
    Posts
    173

    Thanks!

    Another Boom brought back from the dead with a few diodes using your very clear instructions - Thank you!

    Philip
    Odroid HC1 / Armbian Stretch LMS & LocalPlayer
    4x Slim Devices SB3 (White)
    1x Boom, 1x Radio
    2x Joggler + Squeezeplay / Squeezelite + Topping TP30

  6. #46
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    6

    Can I send it in for service somewhere in the U.S.?

    I've been reading through the thread and all of this seems super-technical to me. My Squeezebox Boom works fine, Wi-fi, streaming music from my library, all of that. It's just that the display is dead as as doornail. I'm afraid that If I try to solder in it, that I'll just make it 100% non-functional. Is there anywhere I can send it in for service? I'd rather go to a barber than cut my own hair.

    I live in the U.S.

  7. #47
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,054

    Boom display not lighting up at all

    Quote Originally Posted by Strychnine View Post
    I've been reading through the thread and all of this seems super-technical to me. My Squeezebox Boom works fine, Wi-fi, streaming music from my library, all of that. It's just that the display is dead as as doornail. I'm afraid that If I try to solder in it, that I'll just make it 100% non-functional. Is there anywhere I can send it in for service? I'd rather go to a barber than cut my own hair.

    I live in the U.S.
    If it did not fade progressively, it's likely what Joe described with a failing transistor under the display. I've fixed 3 of mine this way and sometimes replaced the whole display. I do repairs from time to time, but it's just to help this community. So it's free but I can't guarantee success and turnaround time and ... it's Canada
    Last edited by philippe_44; 2020-09-15 at 14:07.
    LMS 7.9 on Pi 3B+ & Odroid-C2 - SqueezeAMP!, 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB3. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, Squeezelite on Pi, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5, Riva 1 & 3

  8. #48
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe_44 View Post
    If it did not fade progressively, it's likely what Joe described with a failing transistor under the display. I've fixes 3 of mine this way and sometimes replaced the whole display. I do repairs from time to time, but it's just to help this community. So it's free but I can't guarantee success and turnaround time and ... it's Canada
    No worries! I can't travel there but my Squeezebox can. If you're willing to take a stab at it, I can PM you.

  9. #49
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,054
    Quote Originally Posted by Strychnine View Post
    No worries! I can't travel there but my Squeezebox can. If you're willing to take a stab at it, I can PM you.
    Yes please do
    LMS 7.9 on Pi 3B+ & Odroid-C2 - SqueezeAMP!, 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB3. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, Squeezelite on Pi, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5, Riva 1 & 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •