Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member ralphpnj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Northern NJ, USA
    Posts
    2,664

    Should I update LMS 7.9 nightly to LMS 7.9 "official"?

    I haven't seen this question posted so here goes:

    I am running LMS 7.9 and recently, as in for the past few weeks, I have been getting this message on the LMS web interface home page - "A new version of Logitech Media Server is available. (Click here)". Please note that I have been running various nightly builds of LMS 7.9 for well over a year and until this message appeared no new version of LMS was available since the official version of LMS appeared to be 7.8.

    Clicking on the update message opens a "Software Updates" web page which says this:

    >>An updated version of Logitech Media Server is available and ready to install.
    A new version of Logitech Media Server is available.
    Latest Changes (all changes)

    2016-10-21
    Ľ Merge pull request #118 from danielvijge/perl-5.20-armel-modules Perl 5.20 modules for armel
    Ľ Perl 5.20 modules for armel
    2016-10-19
    Ľ Show the client ID (if possible) when getting a non dispatchable request
    2016-10-06
    Ľ Merge branch 'public/7.8' into public/7.9
    Ľ Merge branch 'public/7.7' into public/7.8 # Conflicts: # Slim/Plugin/RadioTime/Metadata.pm<<

    So my question is this:

    Should I update my version of LMS (Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.0 - 1474277583 @ Mon Sep 26 04:05:40 CUT 2016) to the new version.

    Thanks in advance for your response!
    Living Rm: Transporter-SimAudio pre/power amps-Vandersteen 3A Sign. & sub
    Home Theater: Touch-Marantz HTR-Energy Veritas 2.1 & Linn sub
    Computer Rm: Touch-Headroom Desktop w/DAC-Aragon amp-Energy Veritas 2.1 & Energy sub
    Bedroom: Touch-HR Desktop w/DAC-Audio Refinement amp-Energy Veritas 2.0
    Guest Rm: Duet-Sony soundbar
    Garage: SB3-JVC compact system
    Controls: iPeng; SB Controller; Moose & Muso
    Server: LMS 7.9 on dedicated windows 10 computer w/2 Drobos
    Last.fm

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2,448
    Hi,

    A new version of Logitech Media Server is available.

    do you mean Michael had to change that message to
    A new nightly version of Logitech Media Server is available.?


    backto your question:
    yes
    you should (and may take a look to your settings [lms selfupdates] when to check for new Versions)

  3. #3
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,004

    Should I update LMS 7.9 nightly toLMS 7.9 "official"?

    > I am running LMS 7.9 and recently, as in for the past few weeks, I have
    > been getting this message on the LMS web interface home page - "A new
    > version of Logitech Media Server is available. (Click here)". Please


    7.9 is still under active development. There are nightly builds. And
    whenever there's a new nightly build, you'd get that information.
    Doesn't mean it's officially released.

    It's certainly a good idea to keep LMS up to date. But there haven't
    been many changes recently. Feel free to update or not. Just when you
    run into an issue, please try to reproduce with the latest nightly build
    before you report it. It might have been fixed already.

    --

    Michael

  4. #4
    Senior Member ralphpnj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Northern NJ, USA
    Posts
    2,664
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > I am running LMS 7.9 and recently, as in for the past few weeks, I have
    > been getting this message on the LMS web interface home page - "A new
    > version of Logitech Media Server is available. (Click here)". Please


    7.9 is still under active development. There are nightly builds. And
    whenever there's a new nightly build, you'd get that information.
    Doesn't mean it's officially released.

    It's certainly a good idea to keep LMS up to date. But there haven't
    been many changes recently. Feel free to update or not. Just when you
    run into an issue, please try to reproduce with the latest nightly build
    before you report it. It might have been fixed already.

    --

    Michael
    Thanks Michael that was exactly the answer I was looking for.
    Living Rm: Transporter-SimAudio pre/power amps-Vandersteen 3A Sign. & sub
    Home Theater: Touch-Marantz HTR-Energy Veritas 2.1 & Linn sub
    Computer Rm: Touch-Headroom Desktop w/DAC-Aragon amp-Energy Veritas 2.1 & Energy sub
    Bedroom: Touch-HR Desktop w/DAC-Audio Refinement amp-Energy Veritas 2.0
    Guest Rm: Duet-Sony soundbar
    Garage: SB3-JVC compact system
    Controls: iPeng; SB Controller; Moose & Muso
    Server: LMS 7.9 on dedicated windows 10 computer w/2 Drobos
    Last.fm

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    14

    7.9 nightly build / home media server suggestions

    Wonderful software. Using as house airplay for numerous devices, and now media server.
    This software has made me yearn for a better media server for my home files.
    Best suggestions/ references for setting up a media server off of my main computer to protect and rapidly access my files including streaming video files (even 4k videos) to my Amazon Fire 4k device?
    Currently I have several computers and keep my media server on my main computer with all of my files.
    I'll happily post this somewhere else if that is better.

    thanks for the great work!

    Pete
    LMS 7.9.1 Windows 10, Airplay Bridge, Shairtunes2, Group Receivers, Squeezebox Boom, Squeezelite on Desktop, 2 Ihome Spkrs, Yamaha MusicCast Rcvr, Amazon Fire 4k (Airplay&UPNP App), Upnp/DLNA bridge

  6. #6
    Senior Member Apesbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,172
    Quote Originally Posted by obguy99 View Post
    Best suggestions/ references for setting up a media server...
    Get a machine like this:
    https://www.amazon.com/HP-6200-Pro-T...dp/B01MT213A3/

    Copy your media to it. Install LMS, Plex and FreeFileSync. Set power management to be "always on". Stick it somewhere out of the way but where you can still wire it to your router. After initial setup, manage it via remote desktop. Get a portable USB drive for media backup and keep it off-site. Or install a slot like this in that open bay and swap out a backup HD drive every month or so:
    https://www.amazon.com/Kingwin-Alumi...dp/B01HIPVVTI/

    Have used this configuration for years with no problems at all. The option with SSD is cool; not necessary if you want to save some money. Win 7/Win 10 makes no difference. Amazing you can get a rig like this for so little money.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •