Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    133

    Make my system load the LMS faster please!

    Hello

    I want to change to my system to make it faster to load the LMS after a restart. At the moment it can take as long as half an hour, sometimes faster, rarely slower. What would be the most effective changes I could make?

    The server runs on a Lenovo desktop running Windows 10. The processor is an AMD E350, 2 core, 4Gb RAM.

    The music is stored on a Samsung external hard drive, there are 88,000 tracks, mostly FLAC files, about 2.5TB.

    Howard

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2,450
    youll need to add some more inforamtion about your system.
    eg. what needs that long to start the system?

  3. #3
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,005

    Make my system load the LMS faster please!

    > I want to change to my system to make it faster to load the LMS after a
    > restart. At the moment it can take as long as half an hour, sometimes
    > faster, rarely slower. What would be the most effective changes I could
    > make?


    Try to figure out what is slowing it down before taking any action :-).

    Did you check the server.log for obvious errors or the like? Did you
    check task manager to see what the process is doing all this time? Is it
    CPU bound? I/O?

    > The server runs on a Lenovo desktop running Windows 10. The processor is
    > an AMD E350, 2 core, 4Gb RAM.


    No race horse. But did you up the memory usage in
    Settings/Advanced/Performance. Go to the max.

    > The music is stored on a Samsung external hard drive, there are 88,000
    > tracks, mostly FLAC files, about 2.5TB.


    How is this disk connected? USB2? USB3? eSATA?

    Where does your cache live?

    --

    Michael

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    366
    Your PC is a dinosaur. Except for increasing RAM, there isn't much you can do to speed it up. I suggest saving your pennies for an Intel i7...or at least an i5. And make sure it has a minimum 8GB Ram. You can barely run Windows on 4GB.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    3,028
    Probably a perfectly good system for Vortexbox ! But I suspect the external HD is one of the issues. USB 1.0.
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Pi3+Sreen -> Sony TAFE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi2+DAC & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi2+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) - SB Touch ->Sherwood AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s
    Everything controlled by iPeng

  6. #6
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vństerňs Sweden
    Posts
    16,411
    What kind of plugins ? Even dinosaur hardware runs in a couple of minutes IME ?

    But maybe not with some versions of Erlands plugins , they do some database stuff that takes time .
    Some of,his plugins are known to drag out startup .

    Run the server without plugins and then add them one at the time and make observations

    Why win10 on that kind of machine ? it would probably speed up considerably on some Linux distributions ?
    Linux can usually repurpose older hardware that's not fit for the lates win .
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    3,028
    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    What kind of plugins ? Even dinosaur hardware runs in a couple of minutes IME ?

    But maybe not with some versions of Erlands plugins , they do some database stuff that takes time .
    Some of,his plugins are known to drag out startup .

    Run the server without plugins and then add them one at the time and make observations

    Why win10 on that kind of machine ? it would probably speed up considerably on some Linux distributions ?
    Linux can usually repurpose older hardware that's not fit for the lates win .
    Vortexbox distro would be perfect for it.
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Pi3+Sreen -> Sony TAFE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi2+DAC & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi2+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) - SB Touch ->Sherwood AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s
    Everything controlled by iPeng

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    133
    Thanks for all these replies, it's going to have to wait till the weekend before I can experiment with some of the suggestions. I think it may be time to buy a new PC, but I'm not sure that will speed up startup. I want to stay with Windows.

    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    But I suspect the external HD is one of the issues. USB 1.0.
    Yes, I was thinking that too. What can I do about it apart from getting a PC with 3TB internal hard drive?
    Last edited by mandryka; 2016-10-13 at 11:45.

  9. #9
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,005

    Make my system load the LMS faster please!

    >> Probably a perfectly good system for Vortexbox ! But I suspect the
    >> external HD is one of the issues. USB 1.0.

    >
    > What can I do about that apart from getting a PC with 3TB hard drive?


    Figure out what the real bottleneck is. USB _might_ be one. But if the
    cache is stored on the main disk, then I don't see why it would. So go
    back to my first response and go through all of the questions.

    --

    Michael

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    133
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    >> Probably a perfectly good system for Vortexbox ! But I suspect the
    >> external HD is one of the issues. USB 1.0.

    >
    > What can I do about that apart from getting a PC with 3TB hard drive?


    Figure out what the real bottleneck is. USB _might_ be one. But if the
    cache is stored on the main disk, then I don't see why it would. So go
    back to my first response and go through all of the questions.

    --

    Michael
    Sunday!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •