Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24
  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    163
    Ditto: "Operating system: Windows 10 - EN - cp1252"

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    163
    I've tried to understand the code; On Windows LMS uses Async.pm, not AIO.pm. The only bit of the code that appears that it could silently skip over a directory is folderFilter() / fileFilter() in https://github.com/Logitech/slimserv.../Utils/Misc.pm, and based on the tests I have verified that there is no significant file ACL or oth erproperty that could cause this.

    I am going to test to "prove" it's simply the name / special character by renaming, scanning, checking, re-rename back and rescan to see if the behaviour is actually just based on the dir name. Back soon.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    163
    I renamed the directory "Sign O' The Times" and did a rescan. Ironically it found it fine and the tags in the FLAC files resulted in the album name containing the peace symbol. Put the symbol back, rescanned and it's gone again.

    My concern is NOT the renaming of one directory but how many other directories I may have with odd characters (I know of at least one with a "mu", as in "mu"zik) and the same for others on Windows. Like I said, this wasn';t an issue on my old Linux LMS install.

    Looking at code, but it's not so easy to hack "in place" on Windows.

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2,854
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Galbavy View Post
    I renamed the directory "Sign O' The Times" and did a rescan. Ironically it found it fine and the tags in the FLAC files resulted in the album name containing the peace symbol. Put the symbol back, rescanned and it's gone again.

    My concern is NOT the renaming of one directory but how many other directories I may have with odd characters (I know of at least one with a "mu", as in "mu"zik) and the same for others on Windows. Like I said, this wasn';t an issue on my old Linux LMS install.

    Looking at code, but it's not so easy to hack "in place" on Windows.
    Hi,

    you already named it - its not a lms thema - its a windooze vs. *nix theme.
    (I know of at least one with a "mu", as in "mu"zik)
    really ? Under *nix this char isnt allowed.

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    163
    Quote Originally Posted by DJanGo View Post
    Hi,

    you already named it - its not a lms thema - its a windooze vs. *nix theme.

    really ? Under *nix this char isnt allowed.
    Really? "μZiq" has always been there... (now I found it) and yes, this is also not showing up in either the scan or the Music Folder browser. Rats.

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    752
    But as I understand it you have your files and folders locally on the Windows machine and you can see and browse them using Windows explorer, right?
    if yes, it's not a Windows thing per se, but maybe rather a Perl thing on Windows?

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    163
    Quote Originally Posted by reinholdk View Post
    if yes, it's not a Windows thing per se, but maybe rather a Perl thing on Windows?
    Yes, this is what I assuming - but rather not a perl issue but a CPAN module issue. I have tried a bit of a google around for know issues but not much luck so far. My next step is understanding how the Windows install is built and/or if I can run a semi-pure-perl version to be able to scatter extra debug print() around to narrow down the guilty part.

  8. #18
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,545

    Scanner can't see symbols?

    > not much luck so far. My next step is understanding how the Windows
    > install is built and/or if I can run a semi-pure-perl version to be able
    > to scatter extra debug print() around to narrow down the guilty part.


    You don't need to "build" LMS for Windows. The most complicated part
    will be to get Perl 5.14. That's rather old, but that's what LMS is
    expecting. If you can't find it on ActiveState's web site, then feel
    free to PM me.

    Once you've got ActivePerl 5.14 installed, get the LMS source from
    https://github.com/Logitech/slimserver - there's a link to download a
    ZIP file with it all, if you prefer not to deal with git.

    Once you've downloaded the source code, you can simply run "perl
    slimserver.pl" from the folder where you've saved the LMS source in a
    command window.

    --

    Michael

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    163
    Cool. I thought the built-into-a-binary was mandatory, but I guess that's a convenience for distribution. Will attempt soon.

  10. #20
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,545

    Scanner can't see symbols?

    > Cool. I thought the built-into-a-binary was mandatory, but I guess
    > that's a convenience for distribution. Will attempt soon.


    That big binary basically is Perl and our code wrapped up on one large
    package which then would be extracted dynamically. But it's no more
    compiled code then running LMS from the source.

    --

    Michael

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •