Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Senior Member pablolie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    bay area, california.
    Posts
    1,138

    Remote Access to LMS Options

    I just wonder if anyone has a more elegant solution -

    when I work from home I am connected to the corporate VPN. my LMS is of course set up on my home network. so when i am on my work computer, i need to switch to the home computer every time i want to control LMS. i was wondering whether there's an elegant way to allow me to control my LMS from my corporate edition. i have admin rights so i can do anything i want. But right now all i do is use a KVM switch to change from work to home computer every time i need to change music or volume etc.
    Last edited by pablolie; 2016-04-14 at 16:21.
    ...pablo
    Server: Virtual Machine (on VMware Workstation 14 Pro) running Ubuntu 18.04 + LMS 7.9.1
    System: SB Touch -optical-> Benchmark DAC2HGC -AnalysisPlus Oval Copper XLR-> NAD M22 Power Amp -AnalysisPlus Black Mesh Oval-> KEF Reference 1
    Other Rooms: 2x SB Boom; 1x SB Radio; 1x SB Classic-> NAD D7050 -> Totem DreamCatcher + Velodyne Minivee Sub
    Computer audio: workstation -USB-> audioengine D1 -> Grado RS1/Shure 1540

  2. #2
    Being in a similar situation, I just use my smartphone connected to my home network. I use OrangeSqueeze on my S5 but there are apps for Iphones as well.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Julf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,510
    Quote Originally Posted by pablolie View Post
    when I work from home I am connected to the corporate VPN. my LMS is of course set up on my home network. so when i am on my work computer, i need to switch to the home computer every time i want to control LMS.
    But you connect to the VPN through your home network? In that case you should be able to connect to any host on your home network too, you might just have to add a route (and a host entry if you want to use a host name instead of numeric IP address).
    "To try to judge the real from the false will always be hard. In this fast-growing art of 'high fidelity' the quackery will bear a solid gilt edge that will fool many people" - Paul W Klipsch, 1953

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2,848
    Quote Originally Posted by Julf View Post
    But you connect to the VPN through your home network? In that case you should be able to connect to any host on your home network too, you might just have to add a route (and a host entry if you want to use a host name instead of numeric IP address).
    I dont understand his setup.

    A vpn means nothing cause there are point to point vpns aswell as net to net vpns.
    If he uses a point to pont vpn than a single computer is connected over vpn to another single computer ( seems he uses that setup)
    If thats true you need the remote pc to walk into the other pcs in the remote network.

    If its a net to net vpn the whole net is connected together.

    Kvm is another feature some call software like vnc also kvm.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    2,209
    Quote Originally Posted by alnames View Post
    Being in a similar situation, I just use my smartphone connected to my home network. I use OrangeSqueeze on my S5 but there are apps for Iphones as well.
    I would say this is the sensible answer. After all if you're using a dedicated work PC and a VPN that redirects the default route to HQ, although you have admin rights, the intention was probably not to allow users install anything that would open the PC to the outside world.
    With an app on a personal device you'd have a perfectly good experience and the work PC can stay in its cocoon.

    If you don't really want to do that, or if the security policy is not that stringent, just start another network card on the PC (wifi or ethernet, physical or virtual) and connect it to your home network. Your work PC will have one connection to each locations at the same time. That will work unless both networks have the same numbering scheme, e.g. 192.168.0.0/24.

    Just remember that if you were given remote access to the work network, an admin there might access to your work PC just the same and examine what's going on. The right decision depends on what your organization (really) expects.

    (BTW, years ago in a time of thinner pipes, VPNs that would redirect the default route to the remote site weren't the norm. That was considered a super secure setup. Nowadays the "hide my ass/make me appear as being in another country" feature has made VPNs popular, so redirecting the default route has become a standard setup of VPN clients from which it can be surprisingly difficult to evade...)
    Last edited by epoch1970; 2016-04-15 at 00:25.
    3 SB 3 • Libratone Loop, Zipp Mini • iPeng (iPhone + iPad) • LMS 7.9 (linux) with plugins: CD Player, WaveInput, Triode's BBC iPlayer by bpa • IRBlaster by Gwendesign (Felix) • Server Power Control by Gordon Harris • Smart Mix, Music Walk With Me, What Was That Tune? by Michael Herger • PowerSave by Jason Holtzapple • Song Info, Song Lyrics by Erland Isaksson • AirPlay Bridge by philippe_44 • WeatherTime by Martin Rehfeld • Auto Dim Display, SaverSwitcher, ContextMenu by Peter Watkins.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Julf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,510
    Quote Originally Posted by epoch1970 View Post
    Nowadays the "hide my ass/make me appear as being in another country" feature has made VPNs popular, so redirecting the default route has become a standard setup of VPN clients from which it can be surprisingly difficult to evade...)
    Your PC still has to be able to reach the local gateway, so reaching a local server is usually just a question of pointing to it.
    "To try to judge the real from the false will always be hard. In this fast-growing art of 'high fidelity' the quackery will bear a solid gilt edge that will fool many people" - Paul W Klipsch, 1953

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Julf View Post
    But you connect to the VPN through your home network? In that case you should be able to connect to any host on your home network too, you might just have to add a route (and a host entry if you want to use a host name instead of numeric IP address).
    That would depend on the VPN. Some VPN connections take ALL of the traffic down the road to the office while some allow for simultaneous connections to both networks... OpenVPN/PolarVPN provide simultaneous connections, for example, while the Windows VPN client does not.

    B4L

  8. #8
    Senior Member Julf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,510
    Quote Originally Posted by banned for life View Post
    That would depend on the VPN. Some VPN connections take ALL of the traffic down the road to the office while some allow for simultaneous connections to both networks... OpenVPN/PolarVPN provide simultaneous connections, for example, while the Windows VPN client does not.
    https://blog.lan-tech.ca/2013/02/21/...imultaneously/
    "To try to judge the real from the false will always be hard. In this fast-growing art of 'high fidelity' the quackery will bear a solid gilt edge that will fool many people" - Paul W Klipsch, 1953

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    2,209
    Yes yes split VPN. Thats all good but this is not what Pablolie describes. He describes a full tunnel VPN.
    Messing with the PC setup (adding an interface) might be frown upon, messing with the VPN client setup itself is serious.
    3 SB 3 • Libratone Loop, Zipp Mini • iPeng (iPhone + iPad) • LMS 7.9 (linux) with plugins: CD Player, WaveInput, Triode's BBC iPlayer by bpa • IRBlaster by Gwendesign (Felix) • Server Power Control by Gordon Harris • Smart Mix, Music Walk With Me, What Was That Tune? by Michael Herger • PowerSave by Jason Holtzapple • Song Info, Song Lyrics by Erland Isaksson • AirPlay Bridge by philippe_44 • WeatherTime by Martin Rehfeld • Auto Dim Display, SaverSwitcher, ContextMenu by Peter Watkins.

  10. #10
    It's not the most secure option, but you could forward port 9000 (tcp) to the IP address of the LMS. Get your external IP address from whatismyip.com then open yourIPaddress:9000 while VPN'd.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •