Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 4 of 36 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 354
  1. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albinea (RE) Italy
    Posts
    729
    Quote Originally Posted by PasTim View Post


    So the codecs listed next to Enable Resampling are the FROM codecs? ie only Resample for tracks that are already in the codecs listed on the same line?
    You are asked to check the box UNDER each FROM codec to enable it (or uncheck to disable) it's a table, each line header is a FROM CODEC, in other words, a file format C-3PO could handle, eventually transcode and serve to the player.

    Quote Originally Posted by PasTim View Post
    So the codecs listed next to Enable Transcoding are the FROM codecs? ie only Transcode for tracks that are already in the codecs listed on the same line? That's not how I read the information tip on the GUI, which may be one cause of my puzzlement.

    same as before
    Witch was confusing you? My bad English could easily be the cause. Please give me a better sentence and I'll replace.

    Quote Originally Posted by PasTim View Post
    I think I may now understand. Thanks.
    Good.

    Quote Originally Posted by PasTim View Post
    I need to transcode aac to flac because my renderer hardly plays at all with aac (it should work, but it doesn't properly). To do this I just set the File Types in the Settings to support aac to flac transcoding, and make sure that my renderer does not announce its ability to support aac (I can do this with squeeze2upnp settings). I have no need to tinker with custom-convert.conf for this to work. I think you are saying this will still work.
    Yes, it should and No, you don't need custom-convert.conf (or C-3PO) when not upsampling.

    Quote Originally Posted by PasTim View Post
    I don't understand what you are referring to here. As I understand it, and I think you said earlier, C-3PO doesn't upsample aac (or many others codecs - that's fine with me). So when you say 'C-3PO could' do you mean 'C-3PO might in the future', or 'C-3PO already can'? If it 'already can', how would I set that up?
    No, it could not actually as for any lossy codec, but sure it could encode to flac and upsample in the same process ANY of the supported input codec (flac included). In this case, ANY player should play so transcoded streams, no special needs for squeezelite-R2 or -W.

    ---

    By the way, You helped me to found a bug that I've inserted in the last version trying to solve the double click problem (...and not enough tested...).

    All the settings that where under control of the show/hide button where broken when having two or more players active at same time, now I've removed that button and added a new check box to show or hide those settings. I know is not that elegant, but as far as I understand the html dialect LMS is using here, is needed to avoid that problem.

    To show or Hide as for use general settings or enable specific player ones, you then have to set the check box and click apply. Hope is not too confusing.

    Thanks for your help in discovering this bug.

    By the way, tonight I've had a try to the Ralphy squeezelite version with -W option and is working like a charms.

    Cheers, Marco.
    __________________________________________________ ______________________
    Author of C-3PO plugin, Squeezelite-R2, Falcon Web interface - See www.marcoc1712.it

  2. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,983
    Hi Marco,

    I'm really glad you found that bug. It's now possible for me to test individual settings easily and reliably. Previously I was not sure what settings were being used, so got very confused.

    For the 'Enable transcoding' setting, it would have helped me if the information had said something like 'Enable transcoding from these codecs to the output format selected below', and for 'Enable resampling' something like 'Enable resampling from these codecs' would be clearer.

    And to testing, it seems my system (Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU D525 @ 1.80GHz, 4 cores) isn't powerful enough to upsample from 16/44100 to best WAV using squeezelite-R2 and a Meridian Explorer USB DAC which can play 24/192000. I get 100% cpu from sox and squeezeboxserver and crackles and pops. Upsampling to flac I got squeezelite-R2 to crash.

    For my other UPnP players using squeeeze2upnp, upsampling to flac doesn't work well for me. squeeze2upnp has some slightly complex logic about how to pause and/or reposition tracks and this doesn't seem to work when C-3PO is in the loop.

    To conclude it's great that one can now test in a logical fashion and try each option for each player to see what effect it has. But C-3PO is not for my system as it is now.

    Thanks for bearing with my slow understanding and queries. I do appreciate it.
    LMS 7.9.2 on PC, Xubuntu 18.04, FLACs 16->24 bit, 44.1->192kbps. 2 Touchs & EDO.
    LMS plugin UPnP/DLNA Bridge to MF M1 CLiC (A308CR amp & ESLs) & Marantz CR603 UPnP renderers.
    Also Minimserver & Upplay to same & to upmpdcli/mpd PC renderers.
    Squeezelite to Meridian USB Explorer DAC to PC speakers/headphones.
    Wireless Xubuntu 18.04 laptop firefox/upplay or Android 'phone with Squeeze-Commander/BubbleUPnP controls LMS/Minimserver.

  3. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albinea (RE) Italy
    Posts
    729
    Quote Originally Posted by PasTim View Post
    Hi Marco,

    I'm really glad you found that bug. It's now possible for me to test individual settings easily and reliably. Previously I was not sure what settings were being used, so got very confused.

    For the 'Enable transcoding' setting, it would have helped me if the information had said something like 'Enable transcoding from these codecs to the output format selected below', and for 'Enable resampling' something like 'Enable resampling from these codecs' would be clearer.

    And to testing, it seems my system (Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU D525 @ 1.80GHz, 4 cores) isn't powerful enough to upsample from 16/44100 to best WAV using squeezelite-R2 and a Meridian Explorer USB DAC which can play 24/192000. I get 100% cpu from sox and squeezeboxserver and crackles and pops. Upsampling to flac I got squeezelite-R2 to crash.

    For my other UPnP players using squeeeze2upnp, upsampling to flac doesn't work well for me. squeeze2upnp has some slightly complex logic about how to pause and/or reposition tracks and this doesn't seem to work when C-3PO is in the loop.

    To conclude it's great that one can now test in a logical fashion and try each option for each player to see what effect it has. But C-3PO is not for my system as it is now.

    Thanks for bearing with my slow understanding and queries. I do appreciate it.
    You are welcome,

    About performance, Crackles and pops - if your DAC is supporting the sent format and you restarted it after changes - are symptom that you are asking too much from your system, probably Atom is not adeguate for server purpose, when upsampling. Firts things to try is increase the buffer size in Squeezelite (with 192/24 wav a minimal setting is -b 16384:16384, but if you have enough memory, you could even double them or more) and use greater period size in alsa (lower period size = greater CPU usage).

    I use an old AMD Dual core 6000+ 3GHz with 4 GB Ram, Ubuntu 15.04 and I could esaily upsample form 44100 to 384Khz and decode form any codec to WAV or AIFF, SOX is sometime using 50% of CPU, but never had a crash of LMS.

    Realy strange Squeezelite crash, if launched without -u, it should use very, very low cpu (< 1%) and less than 50 Mb (depending on buffer size). A lot of people use it on a Futro S450, that's a sempron Thin Client, with 1 GB RAM with great results, I have an AlixBoard and an Atom miniPc and never had a problems, works very well even on tiny ARM devices.

    Could you please post the squeezelite-R2 command line and maybe its log?

    Thanks a lot.
    Last edited by marcoc1712; 2016-03-11 at 06:28.
    __________________________________________________ ______________________
    Author of C-3PO plugin, Squeezelite-R2, Falcon Web interface - See www.marcoc1712.it

  4. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,983
    Quote Originally Posted by marcoc1712 View Post
    You are welcome,

    About performance, Crackles and pops - if your DAC is supporting the sent format and you restarted it after changes - are symptom that you are asking too much from your system, probably Atom is not adeguate for server purpose, when upsampling. Firts things to try is increase the buffer size in Squeezelite (with 192/24 wav a minimal setting is -b 16384:16384, but if you have enough memory, you could even double them or more) and use greater period size in alsa (lower period size = greater CPU usage).

    I use an old AMD Dual core 6000+ 3GHz with 4 GB Ram, Ubuntu 15.04 and I could esaily upsample form 44100 to 384Khz and decode form any codec to WAV or AIFF, SOX is sometime using 50% of CPU, but never had a crash of LMS.

    Realy strange Squeezelite crash, if launched without -u, it should use very, very low cpu (< 1%) and less than 50 Mb (depending on buffer size). A lot of people use it on a Futro S450, that's a sempron Thin Client, with 1 GB RAM with great results, I have an AlixBoard and an Atom miniPc and never had a problems, works very well even on tiny ARM devices.

    Could you please post the squeezelite-R2 command line and maybe its log?

    Thanks a lot.
    I'm not going to try any more tests now, since I don't think I can get this working well enough for all my devices at the same time.

    The command line for squeezelite when using C-3PO is something like:

    /home/me/bin/squeezelite-x86-64 -o hw:CARD=DAC,DEV=0 -a 60 -f /var/log/squeezeboxserver/squeezelite.log -m 00:00:00:00:00:98 -n VBslite -s localhost:3483 -r 192000-192000

    When running without C-3PO I currently upsample flacs to squeezelite at 24/192000 and that's sufficient for my needs - I add -u vLX to get this.

    I'm afraid I have no log - Sorry.
    LMS 7.9.2 on PC, Xubuntu 18.04, FLACs 16->24 bit, 44.1->192kbps. 2 Touchs & EDO.
    LMS plugin UPnP/DLNA Bridge to MF M1 CLiC (A308CR amp & ESLs) & Marantz CR603 UPnP renderers.
    Also Minimserver & Upplay to same & to upmpdcli/mpd PC renderers.
    Squeezelite to Meridian USB Explorer DAC to PC speakers/headphones.
    Wireless Xubuntu 18.04 laptop firefox/upplay or Android 'phone with Squeeze-Commander/BubbleUPnP controls LMS/Minimserver.

  5. #35
    Hi Marco,

    Thanks for the fantastic job. Just a quick question. The plug in works fine in general. but when I am trying to convert flac to wav and upsample to 24/88.2, my dac reads 16/88.2. In other words, I get 88.2kHz but not 24 bit. Here is the command:

    "/var/lib/squeezeboxserver/cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins/C3PO/Bin/C-3PO" -b -p "/var/lib/squeezeboxserver/prefs/plugin/C3PO.prefs" -l "/var/log/squeezeboxserver/" -x "/usr/sbin" "/tmp/C31494220047header.flc" --nodebuglog --noinfolog | "/usr/share/squeezeboxserver/Bin/armhf-linux/flac" -dcs --totally-silent -- - | "/usr/share/squeezeboxserver/Bin/armhf-linux/sox" -q -t wav - -t wav -b 24 --buffer 8192 - rate -v -L -b 90.7 88200

    The 24 bit part is in the command but the output is 16 bit.

  6. #36
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albinea (RE) Italy
    Posts
    729
    Quote Originally Posted by mcduman View Post
    Hi Marco,

    Thanks for the fantastic job. Just a quick question. The plug in works fine in general. but when I am trying to convert flac to wav and upsample to 24/88.2, my dac reads 16/88.2. In other words, I get 88.2kHz but not 24 bit. Here is the command:

    "/var/lib/squeezeboxserver/cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins/C3PO/Bin/C-3PO" -b -p "/var/lib/squeezeboxserver/prefs/plugin/C3PO.prefs" -l "/var/log/squeezeboxserver/" -x "/usr/sbin" "/tmp/C31494220047header.flc" --nodebuglog --noinfolog | "/usr/share/squeezeboxserver/Bin/armhf-linux/flac" -dcs --totally-silent -- - | "/usr/share/squeezeboxserver/Bin/armhf-linux/sox" -q -t wav - -t wav -b 24 --buffer 8192 - rate -v -L -b 90.7 88200

    The 24 bit part is in the command but the output is 16 bit.
    Sox is exiting 24 bit for sure, probably is the player that convert back (truncate) to 16.

    Are you using squeezelite?

    If so, please check alsa parameters (-a x:y:z:w) where z is the bit depth, maybe is forced at 16 here? Please try with these values: -a 40:3:: (you could hange 40 and 3 as you like).

    If not or if you get 16 bit anyway, probably you have an hardware limit, make you sure you apply a Dither at 16 bit.
    __________________________________________________ ______________________
    Author of C-3PO plugin, Squeezelite-R2, Falcon Web interface - See www.marcoc1712.it

  7. #37
    Quote Originally Posted by marcoc1712 View Post
    Sox is exiting 24 bit for sure, probably is the player that convert back (truncate) to 16.

    Are you using squeezelite?

    If so, please check alsa parameters (-a x:y:z:w) where z is the bit depth, maybe is forced at 16 here? Please try with these values: -a 40:3:: (you could hange 40 and 3 as you like).

    If not or if you get 16 bit anyway, probably you have an hardware limit, make you sure you apply a Dither at 16 bit.
    Hi Marco,

    Yes squeezelite:

    /usr/bin/squeezelite-armv6hf - o hw:CARD=sndrpihifiberry,DEV=0 -W -n name -m xx xx xx xx xx xx -s 127.0.0.1 -a 80

    this is a 24/192 hifiberry device.

  8. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albinea (RE) Italy
    Posts
    729
    Quote Originally Posted by mcduman View Post
    Hi Marco,

    Yes squeezelite:

    /usr/bin/squeezelite-armv6hf - o hw:CARD=sndrpihifiberry,DEV=0 -W -n name -m xx xx xx xx xx xx -s 127.0.0.1 -a 80

    this is a 24/192 hifiberry device.
    Could you try to add a log to squeezelite, this way:

    Code:
    /usr/bin/squeezelite-armv6hf - o hw:CARD=sndrpihifiberry,DEV=0 -W -n name -m xx xx xx xx xx xx -s 127.0.0.1 -a 80 -d all=info -f /var/log/squeezelite-R2.log (change the log file pathname as you like).
    then restart squeezelite, play a song, then open the log and look for lines like:

    Code:
    ...
    _check_header:143 pcm size: 3 rate: 192000 chan: 2 bigendian: 0
    ...
     alsa_open:406 opened device hw:CARD=J20 using format: S32_LE sample rate: 44100 mmap: 0
    ...
    Obviously values will be different.
    Last edited by marcoc1712; 2017-05-10 at 03:40.
    __________________________________________________ ______________________
    Author of C-3PO plugin, Squeezelite-R2, Falcon Web interface - See www.marcoc1712.it

  9. #39
    Quote Originally Posted by marcoc1712 View Post
    Could you try to add a log to squeezelite, this way:

    Code:
    /usr/bin/squeezelite-armv6hf - o hw:CARD=sndrpihifiberry,DEV=0 -W -n name -m xx xx xx xx xx xx -s 127.0.0.1 -a 80 -d all=info -f /var/log/squeezelite-R2.log (change the log file pathname as you like).
    then restart squeezelite, play a song, then open the log and look for lines like:

    Code:
    ...
    _check_header:143 pcm size: 3 rate: 192000 chan: 2 bigendian: 0
    ...
     alsa_open:406 opened device hw:CARD=J20 using format: S32_LE sample rate: 44100 mmap: 0
    ...
    Obviously values will be different.
    Hi Marco,

    Here is the output streaming flac from Tidal.

    [06:10:51.874206] _check_header:80 WAVE
    [06:10:51.874818] _check_header:104 header: fmt len: 40
    [06:10:51.874862] _check_header:142 pcm size: 3 rate: 88200 chan: 2 bigendian: 0
    [06:10:51.874905] _check_header:104 header: fact len: 4
    [06:10:51.874946] _check_header:104 header: data len: 187696692
    [06:10:51.874988] pcm_decode:205 setting track_start
    [06:10:51.884073] _output_frames:62 start buffer frames: 19101
    [06:10:51.884181] _output_frames:147 track start sample rate: 88200 replay_gain: 0
    [06:10:51.894261] output_thread:621 open output device: hw:CARD=sndrpihifiberry,DEV=0
    [06:10:51.894529] alsa_open:338 opening device at: 88200
    [06:10:51.895160] alsa_open:389 opened device hw:CARD=sndrpihifiberry,DEV=0 using format: S32_LE sample rate: 88200 mmap: 1
    [06:10:51.895271] alsa_open:468 buffer: 80 period: 4 -> buffer size: 7056 period size: 1764
    [06:11:16.003087] decode_flush:227 decode flush
    [06:11:16.003296] output_flush:424 flush output buffer
    [06:11:17.628183] decode_flush:227 decode flush
    [06:11:17.628429] output_flush:424 flush output buffer

  10. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albinea (RE) Italy
    Posts
    729
    Quote Originally Posted by mcduman View Post
    Hi Marco,

    Here is the output streaming flac from Tidal.

    [06:10:51.874206] _check_header:80 WAVE
    [06:10:51.874818] _check_header:104 header: fmt len: 40
    [06:10:51.874862] _check_header:142 pcm size: 3 rate: 88200 chan: 2 bigendian: 0
    [06:10:51.874905] _check_header:104 header: fact len: 4
    [06:10:51.874946] _check_header:104 header: data len: 187696692
    [06:10:51.874988] pcm_decode:205 setting track_start
    [06:10:51.884073] _output_frames:62 start buffer frames: 19101
    [06:10:51.884181] _output_frames:147 track start sample rate: 88200 replay_gain: 0
    [06:10:51.894261] output_thread:621 open output device: hw:CARD=sndrpihifiberry,DEV=0
    [06:10:51.894529] alsa_open:338 opening device at: 88200
    [06:10:51.895160] alsa_open:389 opened device hw:CARD=sndrpihifiberry,DEV=0 using format: S32_LE sample rate: 88200 mmap: 1
    [06:10:51.895271] alsa_open:468 buffer: 80 period: 4 -> buffer size: 7056 period size: 1764
    [06:11:16.003087] decode_flush:227 decode flush
    [06:11:16.003296] output_flush:424 flush output buffer
    [06:11:17.628183] decode_flush:227 decode flush
    [06:11:17.628429] output_flush:424 flush output buffer
    From what i see:

    a. Squeezelite is receiving a 88200 Hz, 24 bit (size 3) stream form C-3PO. ( pcm size: 3 rate: 88200 chan: 2 bigendian: 0 )
    b. The ooutput device was opened DIRECTLY (hw) at 32bit, 88200 Hz using mmap. ( opened device hw:CARD=sndrpihifiberry,DEV=0 using format: S32_LE sample rate: 88200 mmap: 1 )

    Is your DAC still receiving a 16bit stream? If this is the case, I'll ask to the dac support service.

    Out of curiosity, how could you say is 16 bit?
    Last edited by marcoc1712; 2017-05-12 at 04:03.
    __________________________________________________ ______________________
    Author of C-3PO plugin, Squeezelite-R2, Falcon Web interface - See www.marcoc1712.it

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •