Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 37 of 37
  1. #31
    Senior Member toby10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA (home of the bottomless credit card)
    Posts
    9,229
    Quote Originally Posted by chamonix View Post
    .... Should a regular RCA cable have worked the same as the Digital Coax cable?
    Yes. Stranger still that it produced the exact same channel issue. Very odd indeed.

  2. #32
    Mnyb wrote
    You don't need to order fancy audiophile variants , just decent cables .
    I ordered some inexpensive cables, the TOSlink and digital coax were from New Egg. Maybe $5.00 each.
    Last edited by chamonix; 2015-10-25 at 19:07.

  3. #33
    Sadly, almost 3 years to the day after my previous post, this same SB3 is starting to reboot constantly. Like every 5 minutes .Sad ...

  4. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,109
    Quote Originally Posted by chamonix View Post
    Sadly, almost 3 years to the day after my previous post, this same SB3 is starting to reboot constantly. Like every 5 minutes .Sad ...
    Sorry to hear that - Mine started to do the same a couple of weeks ago, after it dropped on the floor. Tried new PSU, did not help. Although the CPU board and WiFi board where still in place, I did take them off and put them back on but it did not help. I thought it had some CPU board component soldering issue so I decided to reflow it but I got "distracted" and due to a silly mistake I did in reflow settings, I killed it.

    If you decide to not use yours anymore, I'll buy it for parts
    Last edited by philippe_44; 2018-10-16 at 19:54.
    LMS 7.7, 7.8 and 7.9 - 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB2. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, JBL OnBeat, XBoxOne, XBMC, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, , Pi B3, B2, Pi B+, 2xPi A+, Odroid-C1, Odroid-C2, Cubie2, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5

  5. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    17,912
    Quote Originally Posted by chamonix View Post
    Sadly, almost 3 years to the day after my previous post, this same SB3 is starting to reboot constantly. Like every 5 minutes .Sad ...
    If you haven't tried removing the Wifi card - do so . A failing wifi card can cause reboots even if not using wifi connection.

  6. #36
    bpa,
    I will try that . Remove wifi card...

  7. #37
    Well I tried my SB 3 today, with the WiFi card removed. I connected it with Ethernet directly to the WiFi Router. After about 6 minutes of streaming KCRW, it rebooted. And went back to normal ...in six minute stretches, before it would re-boot.

    So this is the last of my original circa 2006 SB3s to finally die. I have two of these "re-booting" Squeezeboxes now. Too bad no one has figured out a way to fix them..
    Last edited by chamonix; 2018-10-18 at 18:01.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •