Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 78

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,276

    Bass amp problem

    Hi - I'm having a problem on almost all my Radio(s): from time to time (especially after a pause/ resume) all bass-medium are gone which seems to indicate that the amp in charge of bass-medium speaker drive is off and does not resume. A power cycle solves the problem, but this is a bit strange. Am I the only one to observe that ?
    Last edited by philippe_44; 2015-08-17 at 12:16.
    LMS 7.7, 7.8 and 7.9 - 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB2. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, JBL OnBeat, XBoxOne, XBMC, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, , Pi B3, B2, Pi B+, 2xPi A+, Odroid-C1, Odroid-C2, Cubie2, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    648
    never experienced this on my Radios...

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    3,523
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe_44 View Post
    Hi - I'm having a problem on almost all my Radio(s): from time to time (especially after a pause/ resume) all bass-medium are gone which seems to indicate that the amp in charge of bass-medium speaker drive is off and does not resume. A power cycle solves the problem, but this is a bit strange. Am I the only to observe that ?
    No, I've noticed this a few times on my newer white radio. Never on my black radio. It seems to happen when the battery is low but that may be coincidence. The black radio is normally plugged in and the white radio is always used on battery which fits the low battery theory.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,276
    Quote Originally Posted by slartibartfast View Post
    No, I've noticed this a few times on my newer white radio. Never on my black radio. It seems to happen when the battery is low but that may be coincidence. The black radio is normally plugged in and the white radio is always used on battery which fits the low battery theory.
    Mines do that unfortunately whether they are on battery or plugged
    LMS 7.7, 7.8 and 7.9 - 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB2. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, JBL OnBeat, XBoxOne, XBMC, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, , Pi B3, B2, Pi B+, 2xPi A+, Odroid-C1, Odroid-C2, Cubie2, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5

  5. #5
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vństerňs Sweden
    Posts
    16,525
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe_44 View Post
    Mines do that unfortunately whether they are on battery or plugged
    A battery problem ? Does it happen often enough so that you can experiment with removing the battery pack from a radio and notice any differences ?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Rasbery PI digi+ MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Loggia: Raspi hifiberry dac + Adams
    Bathroom : Radio (with battery)
    iPad with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server Intel NUC Esxi VM Linux mint 18 LMS 7.9.2

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,276
    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    A battery problem ? Does it happen often enough so that you can experiment with removing the battery pack from a radio and notice any differences ?
    I'll try as it happens frequently enough. The battery is fine, though, as they all run for hours on battery if needed
    LMS 7.7, 7.8 and 7.9 - 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB2. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, JBL OnBeat, XBoxOne, XBMC, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, , Pi B3, B2, Pi B+, 2xPi A+, Odroid-C1, Odroid-C2, Cubie2, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5

  7. #7
    Junior Member chris67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    21

    Hope this thread's not too old to add to...

    I'm having the same problem with my Logitech UE radio (reverted to Squeezebox mode, firmware 7.7.3-r16676). I started playing music yesterday forgetting I had headphones plugged in. I removed headphones without stopping the music and ever since, no bass.

    I've tried:

    • Rebooting the radio (numerous times)
    • Removing and reinserting battery
    • Performing software update
    • Restore factory settings
    • Restoring backup copy of server.prefs file

    The tinny sound remains whatever I do and it makes no difference whether the radio's playing through its own speaker or through headphones.

    Any advice/suggestions gratefully received.

    Cheers

    Chris
    Last edited by chris67; 2015-12-31 at 13:02.
    It's like, how much more black could this be? And the answer is none. None more black.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3
    I have the same kind of problem on my radio. Seems it only happens on the SB software and not UE software

    Skickat frňn min D5803 via Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    154
    I'm wondering if anyone has found a solution to this problem.

    I have 3 radios; One has had this problem for a couple of months and another (a UE conversion) has just started showing the same symptoms. The third is fine.

    I can cure it by rebooting as stated above and the sound goes tinny again usually after I touch another button i.e. another preset or the back button. I'm no expert but it seems to me to be software related.

    Very annoying as the Radio (the portable aspect) is the one model of SB hardware that can't be replaced by a RPi or such.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    48
    Hi,

    I'm also getting this on at least two SB Radios. Could be software. Or perhaps capacitors drying out? No idea. A power cycle fixes it, but it's quite annoying. Doesn't happen on my Touches, Booms or SB3s. Only the Radio.

    Stephen.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •