Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 209 of 314 FirstFirst ... 109159199207208209210211219259309 ... LastLast
Results 2,081 to 2,090 of 3139
  1. #2081
    Quote Originally Posted by PasTim View Post
    I believe that some of the entries towards the end of convert.conf were added after 7.7.x, including the flac transcode entry. This could, of course, be an 'alternative fact'
    A-ha! Your comment has made me revisit convert.conf and I've finally remembered the real reason I needed custom-convert.conf a few years ago. I had to re-read my original posts and Philippe's comments from 2016 but it's finally clicked again.

    So it turns out that LMS was always successfully downsampling a 24/96 or 24/192 file to 48000Hz, but the problem was that the resultant flac file was still 24 bit.

    If you read Philippe's response to my question a few years back - https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...l=1#post849692 - he said that his plugin could only truncate 24->16 bits on WAV/AIF/PCM, but not FLAC. Due to my downsampled LMS file still being FLAC, the plugin wasn't truncating this to 16 bit and Sonos wouldn't play it.

    So the only reason I had to use custom-convert.conf was to convert the 24 bit flac to 16 bit, as uPnPBridge couldn't do it on FLAC files.

    Here's the default LMS setting:

    Code:
    flc flc transcode *
    	# FT:{START=--skip=%t}U:{END=--until=%v}D:{RESAMPLE=-r %d}
    	[flac] -dcs $START$ $END$ -- $FILE$ | [sox] -q -t wav - -t flac -C 0 $RESAMPLE$ -
    And here's the custom-convert setting I used to have (note the -b 16 flag to truncate to 16 bit):

    Code:
    flc flc * bb:bb:40:ac:0d:2f
    	# FT:{START=--skip=%t}U:{END=--until=%v}D:{RESAMPLE=-r %d}
    	[flac] -dcs $START$ $END$ -- $FILE$ | [sox] -q -t wav - -t flac -C 0 -b 16 $RESAMPLE$ -
    Final question now for Philippe... does this mean that uPnPBridge is now able to truncate flac files to 16 bit? If so, that explains why I needed to do it myself back in 2016, but not now.

    EDIT: Turns out that my results were due to Sonos now being able to play 24/48 flac files natively!
    Last edited by FatPete; 2018-08-28 at 16:06. Reason: Clarification about Sonos 24/48 support

  2. #2082
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,726
    Quote Originally Posted by FatPete View Post
    A-ha! Your comment has made me revisit convert.conf and I've finally remembered the real reason I needed custom-convert.conf a few years ago. I had to re-read my original posts and Philippe's comments from 2016 but it's finally clicked again.

    So it turns out that LMS was always successfully downsampling a 24/96 or 24/192 file to 48000Hz, but the problem was that the resultant flac file was still 24 bit.

    If you read Philippe's response to my question a few years back - https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...l=1#post849692 - he said that his plugin could only truncate 24->16 bits on WAV/AIF/PCM, but not FLAC. Due to my downsampled LMS file still being FLAC, the plugin wasn't truncating this to 16 bit and Sonos wouldn't play it.

    So the only reason I had to use custom-convert.conf was to convert the 24 bit flac to 16 bit, as uPnPBridge couldn't do it on FLAC files.

    Here's the default LMS setting:

    Code:
    flc flc transcode *
    	# FT:{START=--skip=%t}U:{END=--until=%v}D:{RESAMPLE=-r %d}
    	[flac] -dcs $START$ $END$ -- $FILE$ | [sox] -q -t wav - -t flac -C 0 $RESAMPLE$ -
    And here's the custom-convert setting I used to have (note the -b 16 flag to truncate to 16 bit):

    Code:
    flc flc * bb:bb:40:ac:0d:2f
    	# FT:{START=--skip=%t}U:{END=--until=%v}D:{RESAMPLE=-r %d}
    	[flac] -dcs $START$ $END$ -- $FILE$ | [sox] -q -t wav - -t flac -C 0 -b 16 $RESAMPLE$ -
    Final question now for Philippe... does this mean that uPnPBridge is now able to truncate flac files to 16 bit? If so, that explains why I needed to do it myself back in 2016, but not now.
    Yes it does, as long as you do not use "thru" mode, you can set sample size to a fixed value (8, 16, 24) and it will resize everything. Then it will either leave it in pcm or re-encode to flac or mp3
    LMS 8.1.x on Odroid-C4 - SqueezeAMP!, 5xRadio, 5xBoom, 2xDuet, 1xTouch, 1xSB3. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, Squeezelite on Pi, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5, RivaArena 1 & 3

  3. #2083
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe_44 View Post
    Yes it does, as long as you do not use "thru" mode, you can set sample size to a fixed value (8, 16, 24) and it will resize everything. Then it will either leave it in pcm or re-encode to flac or mp3
    That's the weird thing though - I am using thru mode and Sonos can still play the file, which theoretically is now 24/48. I'm off to bed now, but tomorrow I'll try to do some more testing, including trying to play an untouched 24/48 flac file directly on my Sonos... who knows, maybe they've quietly enabled 24/48 flac playback! I was pleasantly surprised the other year when you mentioned Sonos could actually play 24/48 WAV.

    EDIT: Well, I'll be damned! Just played two different 24/48 FLAC files directly on both a Sonos Playbase and Sonos One. When did they sneak that one in?! I can confirm that 24/96 and 24/192 still display the 'Unsupported Sample Rate' message though.

    So I've gone down a lot of wrong paths troubleshooting this one - sorry Philippe! Turns out everything "just worked" because Sonos can apparently now natively play 24/48 FLAC files. That'll teach me to make lots of assumptions that nothing had changed in my setup except for updating the bridge software...sorry!

    I've added a message to all my previous posts on this subject so that people are aware that I've been spouting gibberish the whole time and to ignore my ramblings
    Last edited by FatPete; 2018-08-28 at 16:13.

  4. #2084
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,726
    Quote Originally Posted by FatPete View Post
    So I've gone down a lot of wrong paths troubleshooting this one - sorry Philippe! Turns out everything "just worked" because Sonos can apparently now natively play 24/48 FLAC files. That'll teach me to make lots of assumptions that nothing had changed in my setup except for updating the bridge software...sorry!

    I've added a message to all my previous posts on this subject so that people are aware that I've been spouting gibberish the whole time and to ignore my ramblings
    No worries Sonos could have supported 24 bits a long time ago in a sense that they likely just integrate the reference flac decoder and so they could have just truncated results to 16 bits (like they probably do for wav), which really requires no effort
    LMS 8.1.x on Odroid-C4 - SqueezeAMP!, 5xRadio, 5xBoom, 2xDuet, 1xTouch, 1xSB3. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, Squeezelite on Pi, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5, RivaArena 1 & 3

  5. #2085
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    3
    Hi there. I have pCP set up on a Pi and LMS is working well on that. I installed this plugin, and it seems to be working. From the LMS web interface, I'm able to see my UPnP receiver (Marantz), and am able to control it from the web interface. But...

    I cannot do the other way around. That is, my Marantz searches for UPnP servers when I navigate on the receiver to "Media Servers", but it does not find any. How can it be that I can control UPnP/DLNA devices with this plugin, but they can't actually access the server directly? Is there another configuration option I need to check, or some firewall setting maybe?

    Similarly, I was hoping to access it via my computers via JRiver MC via UPnP, but that's not seeing any servers either.

    I used to use MiniDLNA via my router for this, and that worked well. Am I missing something obvious here?

    Many thanks!

  6. #2086
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    3,637
    UPnPBridge plugin is to control remote UPnP players - however, it does not act as a UPnP media server.
    That is the job of a different (built-in) plugin - UPnP/DLNA Media Interface (author Andy Grundman - Slimdevices/Logitech at the time).
    Is that one enabled?
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  7. #2087
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    3
    Hi Paul,

    Thanks for the reply! Enabling the UPnP/DLNA Media Interface did the trick!

    I'm wondering- is there a similar thing for iTunes? Would love to be able to access LMS via iTunes.

  8. #2088
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    12

    generation the configuration file

    Hello,
    I have problems like Tannis with the generation of the configuration file when I generate.
    The only thing that has changed at home is that I use a Huawei 4g box.
    I am on a RaspBerry pi 3 with PiCorePlayer.
    Do you have a solution for me?
    If you want the logs, can you tell me what options you want me to check like Log?
    thank you in advance
    Boxfirm

  9. #2089
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,726
    Quote Originally Posted by Boxfirm View Post
    Hello,
    I have problems like Tannis with the generation of the configuration file when I generate.
    The only thing that has changed at home is that I use a Huawei 4g box.
    I am on a RaspBerry pi 3 with PiCorePlayer.
    Do you have a solution for me?
    If you want the logs, can you tell me what options you want me to check like Log?
    thank you in advance
    Boxfirm
    Just the default logs
    LMS 8.1.x on Odroid-C4 - SqueezeAMP!, 5xRadio, 5xBoom, 2xDuet, 1xTouch, 1xSB3. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, Squeezelite on Pi, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5, RivaArena 1 & 3

  10. #2090
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe_44 View Post
    Just the default logs
    Philippe,
    can you find attached my log file.
    Say me if you another.
    thanks
    boxfirmBoxFirm_Log-13102018.txt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •