Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 146 of 146 FirstFirst ... 4696136144145146
Results 1,451 to 1,460 of 1460
  1. #1451
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4,239
    Keeping up with the HDMI stuff is getting harder and harder.

    I just tested this on a RPI2B+ rev 1.2

    Add to config.txt

    dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d

    You may also need to comment out the line that says
    gpu_mem=16


    Note this will also show a new soundcard on your system (vc4-hdmi) You can disable this sound card by using this line instead.
    dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d,noaudio
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  2. #1452
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,430
    ... and this is the first step towards getting CEC to work so that you can use the TV remote to control JiveLite.

    I haven't had a chance to try it with the released pCP 8 yet but Paul- did give me access to one of the 8.0 beta builds and I had it working there.
    If the weather is as bad as forecast today then I will try it out and document it properly.
    Meanwhile ... if anyone else wants to try then the outline of the required steps is at
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...-pCP-7-0/page3
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  3. #1453
    Senior Member Jeff07971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    1,662
    Quote Originally Posted by paul- View Post
    Keeping up with the HDMI stuff is getting harder and harder.

    I just tested this on a RPI2B+ rev 1.2

    Add to config.txt

    dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d

    You may also need to comment out the line that says
    gpu_mem=16


    Note this will also show a new soundcard on your system (vc4-hdmi) You can disable this sound card by using this line instead.
    dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d,noaudio
    That worked, all fine now.

    Thanks Paul

    Want a webapp ? Get SqueezeLite-X ! https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...l=1#post903953

  4. #1454
    Member Eyerex's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    South London
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff07971 View Post
    That worked, all fine now.

    Thanks Paul
    Hello just wondered are you getting audio via the HDMI ?

  5. #1455
    Senior Member Greg Erskine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,321
    I hope so. I always test HDMI audio to my TV.

    What was missing here was Jivelite output to screen. I only tested jivelite to 7" screen and 3.5" screen, I must not have tested jivelite to TV during pCP8 development

  6. #1456
    Senior Member Jeff07971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    1,662
    Quote Originally Posted by Greg Erskine View Post
    I hope so. I always test HDMI audio to my TV.

    What was missing here was Jivelite output to screen. I only tested jivelite to 7" screen and 3.5" screen, I must not have tested jivelite to TV during pCP8 development
    Hi Greg,

    I'm sorry to say I don't think it does work.

    My system is now not clean installed but it does not appear there is an output device.

    I added "dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d,noaudio" to config.txt in order to get the Video output working, which it did.

    To test for you I removed the ",noaudio" from config.txt and rebooted

    I then set SL to use HDMI via Web Gui and rebooted

    after reboot SL was not running.

    I SSH'd in :-

    Name:  2021-07-14 15_39_14-A. Jeff SqueezeBox-Pcp-Lounge.jpg
Views: 149
Size:  73.5 KB

    Not sure how the HDMI should show up (I've never used or been interested in it) but I don't think its here

    Jeff

    Want a webapp ? Get SqueezeLite-X ! https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...l=1#post903953

  7. #1457
    Member Eyerex's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    South London
    Posts
    58
    Having the same problem one thing i did see when booting it says something about "waiting for sound card to populate.........fail"
    Last edited by Eyerex; 2021-07-14 at 07:58.

  8. #1458
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,430
    The IEC958 device worked best for me when I used kms rather than fkms.
    Try all of the ones with hdmi in their name.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  9. #1459
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4,239
    Here is the skinny

    By default when you select HDMI on the squeezelite page, pCP is going to prepopulate the "output" field with the device "b1"

    There are many cases where the default choice of B1 is not going to work, just manually select one of the others

    -RPI4 has "b1" and "b2" ports due to dual HDMI
    -When you load the vc4 driver with audio, the output "B1" and "B2" will get disabled, and your outputs are now going to be vc4hdmi

    Just manually pick the output on the squeezelite page and press save. IEC958:CARD=vc4hdmi is likely the best choice.
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  10. #1460
    Senior Member Greg Erskine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,321
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff07971 View Post
    Hi Greg,

    I'm sorry to say I don't think it does work.

    My system is now not clean installed but it does not appear there is an output device.

    I added "dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d,noaudio" to config.txt in order to get the Video output working, which it did.

    To test for you I removed the ",noaudio" from config.txt and rebooted

    I then set SL to use HDMI via Web Gui and rebooted

    after reboot SL was not running.

    I SSH'd in :-

    Name:  2021-07-14 15_39_14-A. Jeff SqueezeBox-Pcp-Lounge.jpg
Views: 149
Size:  73.5 KB

    Not sure how the HDMI should show up (I've never used or been interested in it) but I don't think its here

    Jeff
    Hi Jeff,

    On a clean pCP install (no dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d) the HDMI interface appears when you plug in a HDMI device and boot. Well it does using my HDMI port on my TV. In the past this has been an adequate test.

    We have defaulted to "b1".

    Now come the complications:

    If you unplug your HDMI device it disappears from ALSA. Makes sense but I think this behaviour changed going from pCP6 to pCP7.
    Some RPi's now have 2 HDMI ports, named "HDMI0" and "HDMI1". In ALSA these line up with "b1 - HDMI1" and "b2 - HDMI2". Notice 0 becomes 1 and 1 becomes 2, clever.
    I have found some dual RPi HDMI ports don't work.
    The default MMAP settings broke the audio output in some circumstances (for Headphones too) in pCP7. Should be fixed in pCP8.
    Then yesterday we found the separation of audio and visual. In the past if audio worked, jivelite worked. We might have just been lucky for the past 6 or 7 years with this assumption.

    We are just gradually working through these issues in pCP7 and pCP8.

    regards
    Greg

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •