X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • paf
    • Apr 2010

IR sensor ALMOST dead - any cure?

Hello

After 5 years of faithful service, my Squeezebox Touch has developed a problem.

The IR remote control only works when i hold the remote very near to the Touch, and it seems to become worse every day.

As the problem happens with several remotes (two original SB remotes and a Harmony 785), it must be on the side of the Touch.

Does anybody know this problem already or any solution? As an electrical engineer, I'm not afraid of opening my Touch and soldering, but with such a partial malfunction, no schematics and no advice, there is not much place for hope!

Thanks and regards
    Patrick
  • Fizbin
    • Jan 2013

Have you tried the simple things? Like unplugging the SBT for awhile (overnight), and try the reset procedure by pressing the little button at the back, for around 15 seconds. You can also perform a factory reset from the Settings > Advanced menu.

Comment

• DonOregano
      • May 2010

I've got the same problem with two Touches! Very annoying...
      I've been thinking about doing some soldering and replacing the ir sensor, but I'd prefer to hear from someone who's successfully done this before I try it myself.

Comment

• yeomanspc
        • Apr 2005

Are you sure that nothing else in the room ( like an or extender) isn't also sending IR. If it is then the touch is being flooded and will not pick up the remote correctly. I'd be surprised if it's the sensor. I once had an extender (blaster) where interference was causing it to be on low transmit all the time
        3 of every player ever sold back to SLIMP3 (missed Booms)

Comment

• paf
          • Apr 2010

Schematics of the Touch available somewhere?

Hello

I have tried all possible resets and power-offs. There is no IR sender which could perturbate in the room.