Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    104

    BBC iPlayer no longer supported

    Hi, just a quick heads-up that my audio alarm this morning woke me with the friendly announcement (on infinite loop) that "The BBC no longer supports Windows Media format" please see http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/internet/...6-3938cfb4b882. BBC still supports shoutcast, AAC and MP3 so there should not be a problem for Squeezebox. I am not aware, though, that it would be possible to configure one codec over another in the iPlayer plug-in. I am not sure who maintains this plug-in but an update would be much appreciated. Thank you.

  2. #2
    Came here to say the same thing. I switched to a BBC stream in the Internet Radio section, but it didn't seem stable - stopped every few minutes. Haven't had time to check whether it was my connection yet though.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    121
    post #2 in this thread

    http://forums.slimdevices.com/showth...supporting-WMA

    suggests trying to re-select the station, in the expectation (hope?) that a shoutcast stream will be selected.

    Might be worth posting back, if you try it.

    regards, Atlantic.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    92
    Quote Originally Posted by ovonrein View Post
    Hi, just a quick heads-up that my audio alarm this morning woke me with the friendly announcement (on infinite loop) that "The BBC no longer supports Windows Media format" please see http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/internet/...6-3938cfb4b882. BBC still supports shoutcast, AAC and MP3 so there should not be a problem for Squeezebox. I am not aware, though, that it would be possible to configure one codec over another in the iPlayer plug-in. I am not sure who maintains this plug-in but an update would be much appreciated. Thank you.
    Exactly the same problem here. The BBC explanation is here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/internet/...6-3938cfb4b882

    I rely upon my Squeezebox radio and Squeezebox Touch for all my radio reception and sincerely hope that a new LMS plugin will be available soon for BBC iPlayer.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    92
    Quote Originally Posted by Atlantic View Post
    post #2 in this thread

    http://forums.slimdevices.com/showth...supporting-WMA

    suggests trying to re-select the station, in the expectation (hope?) that a shoutcast stream will be selected.

    Might be worth posting back, if you try it.

    regards, Atlantic.
    I have tried a factory reset on my SBR followed by reconfig etc. The error message on BBC Radio2 remains. For the time being other BBC radio channels are still working.

  6. #6
    Senior Member bonze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Bucks. UK
    Posts
    1,499
    Quote Originally Posted by ovonrein View Post
    Hi, just a quick heads-up that my audio alarm this morning woke me with the friendly announcement (on infinite loop) that "The BBC no longer supports Windows Media format" please see http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/internet/...6-3938cfb4b882. BBC still supports shoutcast, AAC and MP3 so there should not be a problem for Squeezebox. I am not aware, though, that it would be possible to configure one codec over another in the iPlayer plug-in. I am not sure who maintains this plug-in but an update would be much appreciated. Thank you.
    Make sure you have the latest version of the plugin

    and read towards the end of the thread:
    http://forums.slimdevices.com/showth...ugin-(UK-only)
    LMS Version: 7.9
    TranquilPC T2-WHS-A3 - WHS 2011
    2x Touch, 3x SB3

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Aberdeen, UK
    Posts
    530
    Quote Originally Posted by ovonrein View Post
    I am not aware, though, that it would be possible to configure one codec over another in the iPlayer plug-in. I am not sure who maintains this plug-in but an update would be much appreciated. Thank you.
    The BBC stopping WMA has been know about for some time. The BBCiPlayer is extremely well supported by Triode and there's a thread under "3rd Party Software" where people normally go with issues. But to solve your problem, in LMS go to Settings, then the Advanced tab, then the pull down box at top-left to reveal the BBC iPlayer settings, then set the Live Stream Preference to AAC > ...
    PS Also make sure you're on v 1.2.14 of the plugin.
    PPS I switched to WMA to hear the message and am thinking I rather like it .. I may keep it that way.
    PPPS If you're using the applet on a Radio, you'll need to prioritise AAC over WMA - it's in the menu system somewhere.
    Last edited by majones; 2015-02-06 at 08:58.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by majones View Post
    The BBC stopping WMA has been know about for some time. The BBCiPlayer is extremely well supported by Triode and there's a thread under "3rd Party Software" where people normally go with issues. But to solve your problem, in LMS go to Settings, then the Advanced tab, then the pull down box at top-left to reveal the BBC iPlayer settings, then set the Live Stream Preference to AAC > ...
    PS Also make sure you're on v 1.2.14 of the plugin.
    Hi - sorry to hijack, but I'm running 1.2.14 and I don't have the dropdown option you mention. Under live stream preference all I have is
    AAC > FlashAAC > FlashMP3 > WMA
    AAC > FlashAAC > WMA
    AAC > FlashAAC
    AAC > WMA
    FlashAAC > WMA
    WMA

    I didn't know about the 3rd party support area, since I rarely have any issues with LMS or SB, but I'll go and check.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Aberdeen, UK
    Posts
    530
    Quote Originally Posted by Cessquill View Post
    Hi - sorry to hijack, but I'm running 1.2.14 and I don't have the dropdown option you mention. Under live stream preference all I have is
    AAC > FlashAAC > FlashMP3 > WMA
    AAC > FlashAAC > WMA
    AAC > FlashAAC
    AAC > WMA
    FlashAAC > WMA
    WMA
    Sorry, when I wrote AAC > ... I should have written AAC > FlashAAC > FlashMP3 > WMA.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    104
    Quote Originally Posted by majones View Post
    in LMS go to Settings, then the Advanced tab, then the pull down box at top-left to reveal the BBC iPlayer settings, then set the Live Stream Preference to AAC > ...
    I can confirm that I am on v 1.2.14 of the plugin; that I can navigate to the settings you mention and that those are set to "AAC..."

    I can also confirm that SqueezePlay indeed manages to play BBC Radio but that none of our Squeezebox Classic, Squeezebox Touch or Squeezebox Radio will play it. I have looked through the menu of my Squeezebox Radio and cannot find any pertinent entries. Neither on the other devices. Please advise. Thank you.

    EDIT: A full power cycle of server and clients has got the Classics to stream the BBC again. Radio and Touch still play WMA.

    EDIT: Just realized that there is a BBC App for Radio and Touch. Never used it before. Do I need it? (I'd rather not.) Anyway, installed it and I can indeed find at the bottom of the stations list a selection for the stream preference which is set out-of-the-box to WMA. Changing it to AAC unfortunately only means that the Radio now hangs "Connecting..." Any suggestions? Thanks.

    EDIT: Goofy! I realized that I can drive these clients from the browser on the server and the browser shows me the streaming URL that goes in. Half the problem is that these URLs all look like this:

    iplayer://live?ms=http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediaselector/4/mtis/stream/bbc_radio_one&aac=http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/listen/live/r1_aaclca.pls&wma=http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/listen/live/r1.asx&icon=http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/imda/logos/radio1_logomobile1-1.png&radiovis=fm/ce1/c201/09880

    That is, they give a preference for AAC but will settle for WMA (which is now pointless because the BBC no longer provides that service). The other half of the problem appears to be some connection issue. May be the AAC stream sometimes takes too long to respond? Either way - if unlucky, I end up with a WMA stream. Weird thing is, I seem to be more unlucky when driving the client directly than when driving the client via the server. May be old habits (of the clients) die hard. Some DNS thing perhaps? I guess that the ultimate solution would be to drop the "&wma=http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/listen/live/r1.asx" from the URL.

    Anyway, seems like there is nothing fundamentally wrong with my setup. May just need to work itself out.

    EDIT: One way of making absolutely certain that WMA will not interfere (until an iPlayer plugin update strips those extraneous WMA stream) is to select the stream and save it to Favourites (it does not matter whether you happen to have got AAC or WMA). Then go into your web panel, navigate to Favourites and EDIT the stream you just saved. Delete the "&wma=http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/listen/live/???.asx" bit. When you now select your BBC station via Favourites it is assured to work. Hold down the Preset button on your Radio (if having) to make sure that button forgets about WMA. Tiresome may be, but effective.
    Last edited by ovonrein; 2015-02-06 at 13:54. Reason: Update

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •