Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    4

    what to use to run squeeze

    Hello,
    I want to set up a low cost,low energy computer to run squeeze-center
    Having 5 squeezeboxes at home.
    What will still run this fluidly?
    asrock-c70m1 with amd c70 cpu with 4 gb ram
    will this work is better to take a stronger option?
    thanks for the ideas
    Uliver

  2. #2
    Senior Member jeremy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    149
    Quote Originally Posted by Uliver View Post
    Hello,
    I want to set up a low cost,low energy computer to run squeeze-center
    Having 5 squeezeboxes at home.
    What will still run this fluidly?
    asrock-c70m1 with amd c70 cpu with 4 gb ram
    will this work is better to take a stronger option?
    thanks for the ideas
    Uliver
    Looks ok but I'd go with an Odroid http://www.hardkernel.com/main/produ...=g138745696275 paired with Squeezeplug ready made linux/LMS image http://www.squeezeplug.eu/ as an easier option if you are not a linux wizard. Mine runs fast & without any problems
    RaspberryPi3 server running Raspbian & LMS 7.9, USB hard drive
    Lounge - Pi2 running piCoreplayer 4 connected via Toslink to Cambridge Audio DACMagic 100, Linn LP12/Ekos/Troika, Naim NAC102, Linn Tunebox crossover, 4 x Naim NAP250 power amps with Avondale Audio 2018 mods, Linn Keltik active isobarik speakers
    Office - Squeezebox Boom
    Kitchen - Squeezebox Boom
    Sunroom - Squeezebox Boom
    Bedroom - Squeezebox Radio x2 plus another in en-suite
    Dining Room - SB3 & small computer speakers

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    139
    Hi,

    I have a cubietruck with a 2 TB Harddisk for 5 Boxes. Works perfectly as server and player and is very low on energy.

    Greets
    Chris

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    4
    thanx for the ideas
    But maybe i should ask different
    What cpu power do i need to run it fast and error free
    I play most songs as flac and that results in large files and libery
    Is this c70 powerful enough?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sor°, Denmark
    Posts
    717
    Quote Originally Posted by Uliver View Post
    Hello,
    I want to set up a low cost,low energy computer to run squeeze-center
    Having 5 squeezeboxes at home.
    What will still run this fluidly?
    asrock-c70m1 with amd c70 cpu with 4 gb ram
    will this work is better to take a stronger option?
    thanks for the ideas
    Uliver
    Why not buy a used ReadyNas Ultra/pro.... ? Much easier and runs perfectly. Then your LMS is always there and you can set timer in the ReadyNas to stop/start.
    Callesoroe
    Living room: Transporter, Preamp Gato PRD-3S NPM, Martin Logan Vista speakers, Power-AMP Gato DPA-4004 (biamp setup).
    Kitchen: Transporter - Prodipe Pro 5 active bi-amp speakers. Bedroom: Receiver+UE boombox, Kids: Receiver+Active speakers, Summerhouse: Touch - Bencmark DAC1, JBL LSR305 active speakers , TIDAL HIFI flac streaming.
    http://www.last.fm/user/callesoroe

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by callesoroe View Post
    Why not buy a used ReadyNas Ultra/pro.... ? Much easier and runs perfectly. Then your LMS is always there and you can set timer in the ReadyNas to stop/start.

    i never tried to use a nas.
    when i wanted to buy one a few years ago i was told it was better to use
    a pc system. The lack of cpu power and mostly the lack of sufficient memory
    would be hard with large liberies and music in flac and multi squeezeboxes.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    139
    Hi,
    You don't need much cpu power to run LMS. Especially not if you use flac, since flac is natively supported by all squeezeboxes. If you use not natively supported file formats, you need cpupower for transcoding of lms. Also if you play resolutions that are not supported, for example 24/96 on a boom or radio, you need cpu power for resampling. Since I use only flacs and don't play highres to not natively supported devices, the cubie is great. I have a larger server with an intel celeron which has enough power for all the transcoding stuff, but it is not in use as a squeezserver. On the cubie, a full scan of about 21000 files takes about 1/2 hour. If you want it faster, you need more power.

    A NAS is only useful, if you need the diskspace.

    Greets
    Chris

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    5,065
    I have been using an Arm QNAP NAS for some years but I am currently in the process of converting to a Vortexbox running on an old Dell Server but with the files still stored on the NAS via NFS mount. Scan speed is about twice as fast on the Dell as it is on the QNAP but the Dell doesn't have the same disk capacity.
    The Vortexbox CD ripper rips straight to the share on the QNAP.
    Personally I would avoid anything that relies on USB storage. Have found that USB disks often go "offline" and require disconnection, server reboot and then reconnection to get them recognised again. This is with all sorts of different Linux distros.
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TXNR686 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Joggler & Pi3 -> Denon RCD N8 -> Celestion F10s
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi Zero+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) & Bathroom - SB Touch ->Denon AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s + Pioneer ceiling speakers
    Guest Room - Joggler > Topping Amp -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Everything controlled by iPeng & Material on iOS

  9. #9
    Hmm your doing, just what I'm looking to move to.

    Any benefit to an nfs share rather than samba?
    PiCorePlayer 3.11 with Hifiberry Digital + (Lounge)
    Joggler Squeezeplay as Remote (Lounge)
    PiCorePlayer 3.11 with pi official touchscreen and hifiberry DAC (Office)
    Joggler Squeezeplay as Remote (Office)
    Joggler Squeezeplay (Kitchen)
    Joggler Squeezeplay (Conservatory)
    Radio x 2 (Bedroom)
    Joggler Squeezeplay (Garage)


    LMS 7.9 on DIY Unraid 6 Server (i5)

    Squeeze user since the SB1

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    211
    Quote Originally Posted by Uliver View Post
    Is this c70 powerful enough?
    I don't know the benchmark scores on top of my head. However, keep in mind that this is essentially AMD's answer to Intel's Atom platform. And AMD's strong suit is graphics which is irrelevant for running Logitech Media Server. On the other hand, Intel's strong suit is traditional CPU-based computation (relevant for running LMS).

    So, generally speaking, I think you get more bang for your buck by going the Atom route rather than the AMD Fusion/Ontario route.

    But yeah, I think this system would be powerful enough for your purposes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •