Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    15

    Player not working with ethernet, does with wifi

    I have a Squeezebox Classic, running firmware 137, server is 7.7.5. I've been running it over wifi for many years.

    Recently I experienced the problem of the player randomly resetting, sometimes skipping. I read up on the forums, did factory resets and xilinx programs, didn't help. So I switched from a wireless to an ethernet connection. The player has no problem seeing the server and the music, but when I hit Play, it switches to play mode but doesn't play. The track counter isn't moving and there's nothing on the level meter.

    If I switch back to wifi, no problem (except for the intermittent issues mentioned). I'm using the exact same static IP and other connection settings. It's connected through a router acting as a wireless access point to my main router. Switch back to ethernet, sees the music, won't play.

    Any suggestions?

    -Jerry

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    4,158
    Remove the static IP on Ethernet.
    Each network card has its own MAC address. You can't have the 2 MAC addresses - wired & wireless - with the same IP. Your switch or router doesn't know where to find the route to the wired connection so is sending them to where it last found that IP address - the wireless card.
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Pi3+Sreen -> Sony TAFE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi2+DAC & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi2+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) - SB Touch ->Sherwood AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s
    Everything controlled by iPeng

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    Remove the static IP on Ethernet.
    Each network card has its own MAC address. You can't have the 2 MAC addresses - wired & wireless - with the same IP. Your switch or router doesn't know where to find the route to the wired connection so is sending them to where it last found that IP address - the wireless card.
    Hmm, made no difference. First a tried a different static IP, then I tried DHCP. I made sure the router and WAP only were seeing the hardwired connection, correct MAC address. The server sees the unit correctly. The unit can see the music database and navigate to a song on an album. It fails when it tries to play the song though. I can ping the unit ok.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vństerňs Sweden
    Posts
    16,525
    Does an actual ethernet cable directly to the main router work ?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Rasbery PI digi+ MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Loggia: Raspi hifiberry dac + Adams
    Bathroom : Radio (with battery)
    iPad with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server Intel NUC Esxi VM Linux mint 18 LMS 7.9.2

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    15
    No, and now that I moved it, it complains "ethernet appears disconnected". I tried two different cables and two different ports on the main router.

    Then I brought it back to the WAP, and I'm getting the same thing there. So it seems like the jostling made something stop working (not that I handled it roughly).

    I can try reseating the networking card inside the SB, but it seems like it's likely ok, since it works if I switch it to a wifi connection.

    Is the wired networking part of the card separately powered from the wifi?

    Any other suggestions? Anything?

  6. #6
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vństerňs Sweden
    Posts
    16,525
    Hmm ethernet is on the main board wifi is a separate card ? The ethernet port may actually be broken .
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Rasbery PI digi+ MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Loggia: Raspi hifiberry dac + Adams
    Bathroom : Radio (with battery)
    iPad with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server Intel NUC Esxi VM Linux mint 18 LMS 7.9.2

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    4,158
    If the server could see the correct MAC address and the player could select tracks ok then I doubt it is the card. It would not work at any level if it was the card.
    What happens if you connect to MySqueezebox.com instead of your LMS?
    What is LMS running on? Could the LAN port on the LMS be firewalled?
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Pi3+Sreen -> Sony TAFE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi2+DAC & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi2+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) - SB Touch ->Sherwood AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s
    Everything controlled by iPeng

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    15
    The LMS is running on a Linux machine (ubuntu). Its configuration hasn't changed in a long time, and the SB is talking fine with it over wifi. On wifi tracks play without issue (except for the occasional reboots and skipping).

    I have not tried connecting to MySqueezebox.com. Will try tonight if I can get it talking on ethernet again. Note: another thing I've started seeing is that sometimes the SB acts like I'm holding down a button on the remote - as if I'm pressing it repeatedly. A quick press of the right arrow will result in endless advances to the right. There's nothing wrong with the remote. I can cover up the led and it keeps acting like the button is pressed.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    4,158
    Doesn't sound good!
    I am sure it does on wifi (sound good that is) but you know what I mean.
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Pi3+Sreen -> Sony TAFE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi2+DAC & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi2+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) - SB Touch ->Sherwood AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s
    Everything controlled by iPeng

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    15
    Yeah, it seems like there's some kind of baseline flakiness going on. This probably accounts for:

    - sometimes not recognizing that the ethernet cable is connected at all
    - sometimes processing a button press repeatedly

    Perhaps it's a heat thing related to a loose connection or hairline circuit board break. More experimentation may shed more light.

    My gut tells me there is a different issue going on related to not playing through ethernet. I say this because simply changing the configuration through the remote from wired to wireless gets it working, and changing back makes it not work. I would think the transport mechanism shouldn't make any difference in the functionality end of things, that it would either completely work or completely not communicate. But instead when it's wired, it _mostly_ works. There's some amount of data that is obviously being exchanged, since I can see the database. It's just the actual playback that freezes, only through ethernet.

    Can someone suggest particularly useful categories to turn on logging for within the server? There are many categories.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •