Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    169

    Problem with squeezelite connecting to localhost (linux)

    Hi all,
    I've got a little problem to use squeezelite with lms running on the same host.
    Let me explain :
    When I'm on holidays, I usually don't have any network nor wifi. I run LMS on my laptop and (try to) use squeezelite as the player.
    It works well when the wifi or the network is on. I run squeezelite, then on my browser, I go to http://localhost:9000/ and I can see squeezelite in the list of players.
    But when I have no network, most of the time the case when I'm on holidays, I go to http://localhost:9000/ and can't see squeezelite.
    I tried to run :
    squeezelite-x86-64 -s localhost:9000
    But it's the same.
    I suspect it's not related to squeezelite but more to the network config on my laptop, but I can't figure out the problem.
    Actually, I gave my laptop a name but don't remember how, so when I open a shell, I have the prompt
    antonio@magneto

    My /etc/hosts is :
    127.0.0.1 localhost magneto

    The ip adress of magneto is 127.0.0.1, the same as localhost.
    Also, if I point to :
    http://magneto:9000/
    the page is not found.

    Thanks a lot for help !
    LMS 7.9.x
    on Linux Mageia 6 and RPI 3
    1 SB3, 2 radio, 1 touch, 1 transporter SE, 1 chromecast audio
    Plugins : Trackstat, Smartmix, MusicIP, ...

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2,853
    Quote Originally Posted by Antoniop View Post
    My /etc/hosts is :
    127.0.0.1 localhost magneto
    Hi thats wrong
    Code:
    # Syntax 4 /etc/hosts is :
    #
    # IP-Address  Full Qualified Hostname  Short Hostname
    127.0.0.1       localhost
    127.0.0.1       magneto
    The "right" way to use two "names" in one line is like that. (mylocaldnsname is a "not working" sample)
    Code:
    127.0.0.1 magneto.mylocaldnsname magneto
    You should also take a look @ /etc/networks if there is something "special" and do a
    Code:
    ifup eth0
    - when no network is connected - may its down ?
    Last edited by DJanGo; 2014-07-26 at 06:50.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    169
    Quote Originally Posted by DJanGo View Post
    Hi thats wrong
    Code:
    # Syntax 4 /etc/hosts is :
    #
    # IP-Address  Full Qualified Hostname  Short Hostname
    127.0.0.1       localhost
    127.0.0.1       magneto
    The "right" way to use two "names" in one line is like that. (mylocaldnsname is a "not working" sample)
    Code:
    127.0.0.1 magneto.mylocaldnsname magneto
    You should also take a look @ /etc/networks if there is something "special" and do a
    Code:
    ifup eth0
    - when no network is connected - may its down ?
    Hi,
    thanks a lot for your answer.
    I changed /etc/hosts like that :
    Code:
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    127.0.0.1 magneto
    But I don't see any change, still can't connect squeezelite with LMS.
    I disabled the firewall, just in case, but it makes no difference.
    I also removed the line with magneto in /etc/hosts and rebooted but the name "magneto" still appears at the command prompt.

    In /etc/networks I have
    Code:
    default 0.0.0.0
    loopback 127.0.0.0
    link-local 169.254.0.0
    And ifup command doesn't give me anything special :
    Code:
    # ifup eth0
    
    Determining IP information for eth0... failed; no link present.  Check cable?
    Thanks !
    LMS 7.9.x
    on Linux Mageia 6 and RPI 3
    1 SB3, 2 radio, 1 touch, 1 transporter SE, 1 chromecast audio
    Plugins : Trackstat, Smartmix, MusicIP, ...

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    169
    Alright, I found out why it didn't work. I was using the wrong port with squeezelite !
    It's not 9000, it's 3483 !

    Code:
    $ squeezelite-x86-64 -s localhost:3483
    works fine.
    Thanks a lot !
    LMS 7.9.x
    on Linux Mageia 6 and RPI 3
    1 SB3, 2 radio, 1 touch, 1 transporter SE, 1 chromecast audio
    Plugins : Trackstat, Smartmix, MusicIP, ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •