Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 12 of 25 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast
Results 111 to 120 of 241
  1. #111
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,393

    Multi Library support in LMS 7.9

    > Is there an example plugin that utilizes this support? Excuse me if it's
    > been discussed in the past, as I'm somewhat lost now when it comes to
    > multi-libraries and sub-libraries and browse modes.


    The missing piece is a good UI to define the library filter. You can use the Advanced Search to do so, but it's not great.

    > Do I understand correctly how this is intended to work? You would select
    > a library and then when browsing My Music you would see exactly the same
    > browse structure, but it would be targeted only at the library chosen.
    > Is that correct?


    In the music menu you'd get a new sub menu with all the libraries. There you can select what you want to work with. Once selected, the regular browse modes would give you a filtered view on your collection as defined for that particular library.

    Or you could use the Advanced Browse Modes menu to create eg. a single albums browse list based on a library.

    There are more potential use cases: SmartMix is limited to 100k tracks per user (a echonest.com limitation). This is a problem for some users who have more tracks. Using a sub library this user could define which tracks he might want to include in SmartMix. This would allow him to use SmartMix even if he had a total of more than 100k tracks.

    > In the different user interfaces, where/how do you choose the current
    > library? Is it just another level of hierarchy, or is it done some other
    > way? What I mean by another level of hierarchy would be something like:


    No, you'll have a separate item to choose the library, then back to the normal menu. You can't drill down from there directly. But that sounds like an interesting idea for those moments when you want to pick something you usually hide, without the need to switch library for regular browsing. Hmm...

    > Are these libraries just subsets of the master library, or can they
    > point to different locations and be independent of each other?


    They're a subset of the overall library. You could of course select the folder as part of the filter definition. With the right UI you could use any SQL SELECT query to define a sub-library.

  2. #112
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    234
    Maybe a dropdown like the one for players.

  3. #113
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albinea (RE) Italy
    Posts
    809
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    >
    The missing piece is a good UI to define the library filter. You can use the Advanced Search to do so, but it's not great.
    [color=blue]
    I could not figure out where 'library' names and SQL are stored (I suppose is where advanced searches are stored, but...).

    I saw the library_track table with the ID of the library, but is not a FK and I miss the library table at all. There is a way to define a library just pasting a SQL statement? No needs to be in the UI, it's fine also if I have to edit some files.

    Probably I've missed some posts here, but I tried to read this thread carefully and the only indication I've found is from Michael:

    "You could save the search, shut down LMS, then edit the configuration..." but could not understand wich file I have to edit.

    Thanks

    Marco.
    __________________________________________________ ______________________
    Author of C-3PO plugin, Squeezelite-R2, Falcon Web interface - See www.marcoc1712.it

  4. #114
    Senior Member erland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    11,046
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > Is there an example plugin that utilizes this support? Excuse me if it's
    > been discussed in the past, as I'm somewhat lost now when it comes to
    > multi-libraries and sub-libraries and browse modes.


    The missing piece is a good UI to define the library filter. You can use the Advanced Search to do so, but it's not great.
    Or "Custom Libraries" plugin, which have a fairly advanced UI, but might be too complex for users who don't like to do configuration.

    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post

    > In the different user interfaces, where/how do you choose the current
    > library? Is it just another level of hierarchy, or is it done some other
    > way? What I mean by another level of hierarchy would be something like:


    No, you'll have a separate item to choose the library, then back to the normal menu. You can't drill down from there directly. But that sounds like an interesting idea for those moments when you want to pick something you usually hide, without the need to switch library for regular browsing. Hmm...
    It's possible to use Custom Browse plugin if you want to have drill down menus, but in same way as Custom Libraries plugin it will require some configuration. I haven't made easy to use templates that uses the new library functionality yet, but I'm happy to do that if there is an interest.
    Erland Isaksson (My homepage)
    Developer of many plugins/applets

  5. #115
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by erland View Post
    Or "Custom Libraries" plugin, which have a fairly advanced UI, but might be too complex for users who don't like to do configuration.


    It's possible to use Custom Browse plugin if you want to have drill down menus, but in same way as Custom Libraries plugin it will require some configuration. I haven't made easy to use templates that uses the new library functionality yet, but I'm happy to do that if there is an interest.
    How about all other functions relative to library ? will they also limited to those sub-libraries ?
    for example , search, sql list, dynamic playlist...

  6. #116
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,393

    Multi Library support in LMS 7.9

    > I could not figure out where 'library' names and SQL are stored (I
    > suppose is where advanced searches are stored, but...).


    virtuallibraries.prefs in your prefs folder?

    > I saw the library_track table with the ID of the library, but is not a
    > FK and I miss the library table at all. There is a way to define a
    > library just pasting a SQL statement? No needs to be in the UI, it's
    > fine also if I have to edit some files.


    You should be able to edit that file, then restart LMS and re-run a full
    scan.

    --

    Michael

  7. #117
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,393

    Multi Library support in LMS 7.9

    > How about all other functions relative to library ? will they also
    > limited to those sub-libraries ?


    Some of them, yes.

    > for example , search, sql list, dynamic playlist...


    Search would respect the library chosen, as does eg. RandomPlay (iirc).
    Can't speak for the 3rd party plugins (except for SmartMix which should
    do so, soon).

    --

    Michael

  8. #118
    Senior Member pippin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    14,731
    Michael,

    I've started revisiting this a bit defining a library using the advanced search and I'm having some serious performance issues plus I think I found a bug in your filtering.

    Here's what I've done. I have defined a library like mentioned above for "Music without audiobooks", essentially a list of genres to be excluded when browsing. That list _might_ be a bit long (10 or 15 genres or so) but still, it's a one-dimensional filter (only genres being excluded).

    My test library has some 16K tracks, 1K Albums and 9.5K Artists (480 of which are Albumartists), so I'd call this a moderately sized test library, LMS runs on a MacBook Pro.


    The bug is simple: if you apply a filter you can now override that filter for browsing (by simply not specifying the library_id) but you can't seem to be able to do that for playing.
    What this means is: If I browse a menu that is _outside_ the filtered hierarchy I can still browse stuff and get down to the track level but when I try to play such a track or album it won't do it, the playlist gets cleared and stay empty.

    This only applies to albums, not playing individual songs through the context menu (which works).
    I suspect you do some track lookup from the album when playing a whole album and apply the default filter there which then conflicts with the album not being in the "default" library.

    Same behavior in your iOS/Android App (using your browse structure) and in iPeng (using iPeng's own filtering which would use a request entirely without any library_id in this case). Which is a bit funny considering how different the two work...
    Nothing in the logs.

    The performance issue looks more like a notorious problem
    With this enabled my main "All Artists" and "All Albums" lists still work reasonably well. But as soon as I add an additional filter the results get really, really slow.
    A good example is "Album Artists" - still OK. But opening "All Albums" for "Album Artists" makes it really slow, something like 6-7 minutes only to load the album list (1K Albums).

    I suspect the problem is that now the server has to apply the library filter (list of Genres) and also apply an artist role filter ("Albumartists", which are a small subset - 480 - of all artists), plus, it needs to sort the results (by Artist). This seems to be too much for the poor server, even with the "maximum" memory setting.

    This time the behavior between iPeng and your App is a little different: iPeng will take several minutes to load the list while your App bails out with a timeout message and doesn't load it at all - probably the same underlying issue, though, the performance is too bad.

    Could you check whether something weird is going on or does this use case need additional indexes or something?
    ---
    learn more about iPeng, the iPhone and iPad remote for the Squeezebox and
    Logitech UE Smart Radio as well as iPeng Party, the free Party-App,
    at penguinlovesmusic.com
    New: iPeng 9, the Universal App for iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch

  9. #119
    Senior Member pippin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    14,731
    Oh, what I forgot to add in the scenario description is that in addition to the filter I've defined "Books" and "Authors" menus using the "Additional Browse Modes" and using the whole library as a base (and then filtering by the genres for audiobooks, this time including, not excluding them). This is what I've used for the "playback filter bug" issue.

    The performance issue is independent of that and applies to the filtered main library (I actually have _no_ performance issue with these audiobook menus, probably because they have to do less filtering since they are based on the whole library, not the filtered one).
    ---
    learn more about iPeng, the iPhone and iPad remote for the Squeezebox and
    Logitech UE Smart Radio as well as iPeng Party, the free Party-App,
    at penguinlovesmusic.com
    New: iPeng 9, the Universal App for iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch

  10. #120
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,393

    Multi Library support in LMS 7.9

    > Here's what I've done. I have defined a library like mentioned above for
    > "Music without audiobooks", essentially a list of genres to be excluded
    > when browsing. That list _might_ be a bit long (10 or 15 genres or so)
    > but still, it's a one-dimensional filter (only genres being excluded).


    Ok, pretty much my use case, only different content:

    - main filtered view: no children's music, no audiobooks
    - custom sub menu for the kids

    Is this about right?

    > My test library has some 16K tracks, 1K Albums and 9.5K Artists (480 of
    > which are Albumartists), so I'd call this a moderately sized test
    > library, LMS runs on a MacBook Pro.


    I have a similarly sized collection (20k tracks, 1.3k albums) on a much
    less powerful machine (Atom) running Linux.

    > THE BUG IS SIMPLE[/B]: IF YOU APPLY A FILTER YOU CAN NOW OVERRIDE THAT
    > FILTER FOR BROWSING (BY SIMPLY NOT SPECIFYING THE LIBRARY_ID) BUT YOU
    > CAN'T SEEM TO BE ABLE TO DO THAT FOR PLAYING.


    Confirmed: I can't play "Pippi Langstrumpf in Taka Tuka Land", but I can
    play all its tracks from the kids' menu. Correct?

    > [B]THE PERFORMANCE ISSUE LOOKS MORE LIKE A NOTORIOUS PROBLEM
    > With this enabled my main "All Artists" and "All Albums" lists still
    > work reasonably well. But as soon as I add an additional filter the
    > results get really, really slow.
    >
    > A good example is "Album Artists" - still OK. But opening "All Albums"
    > for "Album Artists" makes it really slow, something like 6-7 minutes
    > only to load the album list (1K Albums).


    Hmm... I'm not sure I fully understand the issue, can't reproduce it.
    I've enabled the "no kids music" library as the default view. Then I
    browse Artists -> All Albums. Takes about two seconds in the web UI,
    less than a second in iPeng. I tried both, the unified list as well as
    the separate Album Artist/All Artists lists.

    > I suspect the problem is that now the server has to apply the library
    > filter (list of Genres) and also apply an artist role filter
    > ("Albumartists", which are a small subset - 480 - of all artists), plus,
    > it needs to sort the results (by Artist). This seems to be too much for
    > the poor server, even with the "maximum" memory setting.


    Can you check the resources to figure out whether it's memory, disk IO
    or CPU bound? I would consider my server on the lower performance end
    for any x86 based system. But I don't see your issue. LMS is using about
    250MB. Are you using any 3rd party plugins?

    > This time the behavior between iPeng and your App is a little different:
    > iPeng will take several minutes to load the list while your App bails
    > out with a timeout message and doesn't load it at all - probably the
    > same underlying issue, though, the performance is too bad.


    Yep, I would expect the app to time out. It wouldn't wait (it's not
    using cometd, but jsonrpc requests).

    > Could you check whether something weird is going on or does this use
    > case need additional indexes or something?


    You could enable debugging for database.sql to see whether this is
    triggering some really bad query. And could you please send me all the
    settings on the My Music settings page (screenshot is ok ;-))

    --

    Michael

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •