Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 891011 LastLast
Results 91 to 100 of 102
  1. #91
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Coast, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    1,256
    Today I downloaded 7.9.0 - 1399649268 @ Sat May 10 and installed it onto my Win 7 i3-4130 workstation and the recently replaced (by VortexBox) Win 7 AMD E-350 1.6GHz HTPC. The music libraries were synced with the VortexBox, giving me 3 systems of varying power with their own local disks containing the same music library. The two Win boxes have 2 x Samsung 2TB drives, the VortexBox has a 4TB Seagate drive for music. All have SSD drives for the system disk. The Win boxes have had the RAMDisk removed.

    I ran clear and rescans on each system and then a bunch of lookups - New Music, search artist for "the girl", album browse and artist browse.

    The AMD E-350 system performs so well I need not have gone and replaced it by the VortexBoxes. New Music is almost instant, browse by Artists can take a second or two after selecting a letter and the artist picture is a bit slow but not unacceptable. Browse by Albums takes 2 to 3 seconds per change of letter for the albums to appear, but again, not unacceptable.
    The i3 powered workstation is a bit quicker but not twice as fast.
    The VortexBox running 7.8 with the Tweak DB plugin installed and set to 500 is the fastest.

    Clear & rescan times show the great improvements that have been made with LMS 7.9
    The differences between systems were as expected with the exception of MusicIP Import and Artist Picture lookup - the Artist Picture lookup shows there is something seriously wrong with either my setup or the way this function works in Windows.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    A camel is a racehorse designed by a committee.

    Seen sprayed on the outside wall of the local library -
    Three things I hate in life :
    1. Vandalism
    2. Irony
    3. Lists

  2. #92
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Coast, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    1,256

    Gross speedup of Artist Picture Lookup in Windows

    Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.0 - 1399649268 @ Sat May 10 03:05:32 CUT 2014
    Hostname: Daisy

    Artist picture lookup (3135 of 3135) Complete 01:58:39

    Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.0 - 1399988233 @ Tue May 13 14:08:10 CUT 2014
    Hostname: Daisy

    Artist picture lookup (3136 of 3136) Complete 00:30:29

    Took a quarter of the previous time - well done Michael. Will test further.
    A camel is a racehorse designed by a committee.

    Seen sprayed on the outside wall of the local library -
    Three things I hate in life :
    1. Vandalism
    2. Irony
    3. Lists

  3. #93
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,316

    Plugin to test database tweaks

    > Artist picture lookup (3136 of 3136) Complete 00:30:29
    >
    > Took a quarter of the previous time - well done Michael. Will test
    > further.


    Are you sure it's not due to the fact that the first time it had to
    download stuff from the internet, while the second time around it was
    able to pick up stuff from the cache? I wouldn't know what particular
    change would have made such a dramatic difference...

    --

    Michael

  4. #94
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Coast, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    1,256
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    >
    Are you sure it's not due to the fact that the first time it had to
    download stuff from the internet, while the second time around it was
    able to pick up stuff from the cache? I wouldn't know what particular
    change would have made such a dramatic difference...
    Michael
    The second scan was from a New and Changed, so after seeing your post I power cycled Daisy and started a Clear & Rescan -
    Artist picture lookup (3136 of 3136) Complete 00:49:50
    Still a hell of an improvement.

    I save the artist pictures to a directory and do not ever fiddle with or delete them.

    I was hoping that " Speed up web requests for artwork, stylesheets etc. by not passing it to the templating engine." which was committed on 10/5 might have had something to do with the speed up.

    Take the credit Michael and hope that it sticks around !
    A camel is a racehorse designed by a committee.

    Seen sprayed on the outside wall of the local library -
    Three things I hate in life :
    1. Vandalism
    2. Irony
    3. Lists

  5. #95
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,980
    Just to let you know, using the "7.9.0 - 1399649268 @ Sat May 10 04:05:56 UTC 2014" update, without the tweak plugin, I have recently found that a couple of my custom scan menus are still slow (several tens of seconds) and busy enough to interrupt playing music the 1st time they are run after a restart, unless I do a full vacuum on persist.db after a rescan. It isn't too onerous to do this just once after each rescan, so it's not a problem for me.
    LMS 7.9.2 on PC, Xubuntu 18.04, FLACs 16->24 bit, 44.1->192kbps. 2 Touchs & EDO.
    LMS plugin UPnP/DLNA Bridge to MF M1 CLiC (A308CR amp & ESLs) & Marantz CR603 UPnP renderers.
    Also Minimserver & Upplay to same & to upmpdcli/mpd PC renderers.
    Squeezelite to Meridian USB Explorer DAC to PC speakers/headphones.
    Wireless Xubuntu 18.04 laptop firefox/upplay or Android 'phone with Squeeze-Commander/BubbleUPnP controls LMS/Minimserver.

  6. #96
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,316

    Plugin to test database tweaks

    > Just to let you know, using the "7.9.0 - 1399649268 @ Sat May 10
    > 04:05:56 UTC 2014" update, without the tweak plugin, I have recently
    > found that a couple of my custom scan menus are still slow (several tens
    > of seconds) and busy enough to interrupt playing music the 1st time they
    > are run after a restart, unless I do a full vacuum on persist.db after
    > a rescan. It isn't too onerous to do this just once after each rescan,
    > so it's not a problem for me.


    That's quite surprising, as vacuum now is part of the optimize step at
    the end of every scan.

    --

    Michael

  7. #97
    Senior Member JJZolx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    11,531
    (sorry, wrong thread)
    Last edited by JJZolx; 2014-05-14 at 04:18.

  8. #98
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,980
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > Just to let you know, using the "7.9.0 - 1399649268 @ Sat May 10
    > 04:05:56 UTC 2014" update, without the tweak plugin, I have recently
    > found that a couple of my custom scan menus are still slow (several tens
    > of seconds) and busy enough to interrupt playing music the 1st time they
    > are run after a restart, unless I do a full vacuum on persist.db after
    > a rescan. It isn't too onerous to do this just once after each rescan,
    > so it's not a problem for me.


    That's quite surprising, as vacuum now is part of the optimize step at
    the end of every scan.

    Michael
    But presumably not at the end of a Custom Scan?

    When I vacuum, I stop LMS before running the vacuum using a sqlite3 command. I don't know if this makes any difference.
    LMS 7.9.2 on PC, Xubuntu 18.04, FLACs 16->24 bit, 44.1->192kbps. 2 Touchs & EDO.
    LMS plugin UPnP/DLNA Bridge to MF M1 CLiC (A308CR amp & ESLs) & Marantz CR603 UPnP renderers.
    Also Minimserver & Upplay to same & to upmpdcli/mpd PC renderers.
    Squeezelite to Meridian USB Explorer DAC to PC speakers/headphones.
    Wireless Xubuntu 18.04 laptop firefox/upplay or Android 'phone with Squeeze-Commander/BubbleUPnP controls LMS/Minimserver.

  9. #99
    Senior Member JJZolx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    11,531
    Now that the SQLite memory setting has been moved into Settings > Advanced > Performance, I see the following popup warning when changing the setting:

    "Changes will take place at the next application restart for the following plugins:"

    and nothing listed.

    Is this message necessary, or is the memory setting made on the fly? If it is necessary, then shouldn't it be the same message shown when plugins are enabled/disabled? "Please restart Logitech Media Server for the changes to take effect."

  10. #100
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,316

    Plugin to test database tweaks

    > Now that the SQLite memory setting has been moved into Settings >
    > Advanced > Performance, I see the following popup warning when changing
    > the setting:
    >
    > "Changes will take place at the next application restart for the
    > following plugins:"


    Sounds like the wrong text to me anyway :-). I think that message is
    wrong or at least not crucial in most cases. Changing that parameter
    required a restart with MySQL. With SQLite not all changes will be made
    unless you restart, but the most important (buffer size) will be applied
    anyway. I'll review that. Thanks!

    --

    Michael

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •