Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 14 of 14 FirstFirst ... 4121314
Results 131 to 134 of 134
  1. #131
    Senior Member JoeMuc2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Muenster, Germany
    Posts
    216
    Quote Originally Posted by spt87a View Post
    Been reading up on the Transporter power supply topic with great interest - thanks to everyone for all the good info over the last few years.

    My own Transporter throws a lot of noise which impacts AM radio throughout my house. I moved last fall and didn't notice this occurring at my last place so I believe the Transporter has developed this problem recently. Wondering if this is an early sign of caps failing on the power supply. Has anyone noticed this or can anyone comment if their Transporter causes this same interference? I did have issues with mine getting running after the move and ended up doing a full reset of it (xilinx; try regular reset first which didn't help). It didn't want to connect to WIFI even though it was the same WIFI router/name, etc. as before the move. It has been ok since other than the AM noise.

    In my case - I have the Transporter in a rack below a Denon tuner. With the Transporter plugged into power there is noise across the entire AM band. Unplug the Transporter and it goes away. I have other nearby devices - XBOX One, cable DVR box, TV, etc. and no noise from them. With the Transporter plugged in again, I then try my tube based 1950's/60's table radio in the kitchen and same AM noise which goes away with Transporter unplugged. Pretty sure the noise is going thru the power lines as I haven't noticed the problem with battery powered radios.

    If no one has info on this I'll likely just try to recap the power supply and see if it fixes it.
    I guess the power supply could be part of the issue but if your Transporter is still working as it should, so is the power supply. Dying capacitors might have some components swing, but in my opinion that would not be in the range of radio frequencies. Anyway, what I dislike a bit about the Transporter's hardware design is that the aluminum case is not really properly grounded. The IEC connector earth terminal routes on the PCB to one of the nearby bolts that secure the board. The trace is rather thin, and the connection is at best weedy. Usually one would expect a beefy green/yellow wire that goes from the terminal directly to a solid nut-and-bolt connection in the bottom of the case using shake-proof washers and isolation material. Either that was too expensive or they just didn't know how to do it. So it might be good if you checked how well the connection from the metal case to the earth terminal actually is. With a bit of mechanical skills it would be easy to improve the situation by placing an additional grounding wire. The aluminum case itself is not actually airtight, around the Ethernet and serial IO there is some gap, that's also where the most dust accumulates over the years. But I would not assume that these slim gaps actually let unwanted RF emissions escape. If so, they would also be measurable or even audible in the Transporter's own analog outputs.
    Unfortunately I don't have equipment to systematically trace emissions from my Transporter, and no analog tuner in use anymore. An oscilloscope loop probe would be ideal to find out where exactly the emissions are coming from. Do you see any chance to get a hold of something like this?


    PN me if your Boom / Classic / Transporter display has issues!

    Blog: https://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?ri...50753#allposts

  2. #132
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Western/Northern New York
    Posts
    1,261
    Quote Originally Posted by spt87a View Post
    Been reading up on the Transporter power supply topic with great interest - thanks to everyone for all the good info over the last few years.

    My own Transporter throws a lot of noise which impacts AM radio throughout my house. I moved last fall and didn't notice this occurring at my last place so I believe the Transporter has developed this problem recently.

    In my case - I have the Transporter in a rack below a Denon tuner. With the Transporter plugged into power there is noise across the entire AM band. Unplug the Transporter and it goes away. I have other nearby devices - XBOX One, cable DVR box, TV, etc. and no noise from them. With the Transporter plugged in again, I then try my tube based 1950's/60's table radio in the kitchen and same AM noise which goes away with Transporter unplugged. Pretty sure the noise is going thru the power lines as I haven't noticed the problem with battery powered radios.

    .
    If I might jump in with a couple things to try...

    I have this problem with a touch, in the same rack with some arcam gear, including a tuner, and always assumed it was the power supply. I never traced it down, just stream the AM station I am interested in. But, I know what you are experiencing.

    It still could be EMI/RFI, but it seems like you think that the transporter is imparting noise on your power lines, and it didn't happen at your old place, I assume the gear is positioned similarly in the same rack. It also seems that it isn't happening with all equipment on the same outlet/circuit because your kitchen radio has the same problem. Do I have this correct so far?

    Two things:

    - see if your kitchen outlet is on the same circuit as where your kit is plugged into.
    - try an outlet that is on the other "phase" of the house power. Don't know where you are located, but here in the US our 240/120 comes in with 2 hots a neutral and a ground. two "phases" 120 is derived from HotA and Neutral, and HotB and Neutral. In our circuit box, HotA is on the left (odd number breakers), HotB is on the right (even number breakers). If we need 240, the connection in the box is HotA to HotB (phase to phase).

    So, you can look at your box, find a circuit that is on the opposite side from your kit's outlet and run an extension chord from a nearby outlet on the other phase to your transporter to test.

    I suggest this because those "power line ethernet" adaptors work by modulating the signal on the power lines. They work best if it's the same circuit, but still may work if it's the same phase. It's highly unlikely that the work phase to phase.

    This would at least tell you if the noise is being imparted on the power line, or if its travelling through the air (more insidious )

    Jim

    <edit - The one thing I forgot to mention. While I am sure that this "just started happening" is possible, I always tend to focus on "what changed", even if it seems unlikely. In your case, it's the house. Just my opinion>
    Last edited by Redrum; 2022-03-22 at 05:08.

  3. #133
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    8
    Does anyone know how to remove the transnav knob on a Transporter?

  4. #134
    Senior Member JoeMuc2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Muenster, Germany
    Posts
    216
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike2 View Post
    Does anyone know how to remove the transnav knob on a Transporter?
    Hi there,

    just pull it straight away, it will come off. Or is this about removing the entire knob assembly to make your Transporter an SE model? (why would you want that?)
    In that case, you will have to open the Transporter, undo the hex nut that secures the 'Immersion' knob assembly and unplug its 4-pin connector. I think that's all, you might need to flash the SE firmware because some knob functions need to be replaced by other buttons.

    Cheers,
    Joe


    PN me if your Boom / Classic / Transporter display has issues!

    Blog: https://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?ri...50753#allposts

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •