PDA

View Full Version : Mostly Softsqueeze (but some slimserver) Troubles



Stephen Sweeney
2004-11-23, 10:17
I have a laptop at work and a server at home. Both run the latest nightlies.
The server is running SlimServer as a service. I have gateway port forwarding
and OpenSSH configured to access the server from outside of the network.

All works well for the most part. Using SoftSqueeze (1.13), I stream from my
home server to my laptop at work.

However . . .

1 - Installing SlimServer and SoftSqueeze on my laptop did not create a
SoftSqueeze icon on my desktop. I can and did create it manually. All
attempts at uninstalling and reinstalling these apps has failed to create the
icon unfortunately. Yes, I installed SoftSqueeze from the option within
SlimServer. (Installing the same on my server created both icons, so I
suspect it has something to do with vestiges of an old installation.)
2 - Opening SoftSqueeze from the icon (I created) fails unless the local
SlimServer is open. When opening SoftSqueeze from the icon I created, it
tries to load a slimserver resource
(http://localhost:9000/html/softsqueeze/softsqueeze.jnlp) and fails.
3 - When connected remotely, the SoftSqueeze player Audio setting doesn't have
the "fixed audio level" setting available. Is this right?

So basically, I have to open SlimServer (local), then open SoftSqueeze, then
close SlimServer (local), then connect w/ SoftSqueeze.

PS - SoftSqueeze enhancements / bugs -
1 - Save / load connection setting profiles. Too much rekeying now when using
SoftSqueeze to multiple location - within the network vs. all local vs. remote.
2 - The two little arrows on the bottom left of the default skin point right
and down. I think their functions are reversed.

Anthony James
2004-11-24, 04:45
I didnt get a shortcut/desktop icon when i installed Softsqueeze on my
server PC - how do you create one?

rtitmuss
2004-11-25, 13:46
Anthony,

I have just looked into this and the latest release of Softsqueeze won't
create a shortcut or menu item when using Java 1.5 webstart. It looks
like Sun made some 'improvements' in Java that I had not spotted. I have
just checked in a fix, and the next release will work correctly. It will
even add the Softsqueeze menu item in the SlimServer submenu :).

Regards,
Richard


Anthony James wrote:

>I searched for and created a shortcut to softsqueeze.jar last night
>which will start softsqueeze for me. i didnt have time to test
>playback, synching or anything else - will try again this evening (UK
>time)
>
>
>On Thu, 25 Nov 2004 02:18:44 +0000 (UTC), Stephen Sweeney
><ssweeney (AT) houston (DOT) rr.com> wrote:
>
>
>>Anthony James <b33k34@...> writes:
>>
>>
>
>
>
>>I don't know how to create one that works. Wish I did.
>>
>>
>

rtitmuss
2004-11-25, 13:56
Stephen,

I have found out tonight that Softsqueeze won't create an icon on your
desktop or a menu when you install it if you are using Java 1.5. This
will be fixed in the next release. The icon install by Java should work
when your local slimserver is closed, allowing you to connect directly
over ssh. I will probably make the next release over the weekend, so
please let me know if it works better for you then.

The "fixed audio level" setting should never be available when you are
using Softsqueeze, this is only applicable to the digital outputs on the
squeezebox.

And multiple configurations is on the list of things to do, but at the
moment I am concentrating on the music search.

Regards,
Richard


Stephen Sweeney wrote:

>I have a laptop at work and a server at home. Both run the latest nightlies.
>The server is running SlimServer as a service. I have gateway port forwarding
>and OpenSSH configured to access the server from outside of the network.
>
>All works well for the most part. Using SoftSqueeze (1.13), I stream from my
>home server to my laptop at work.
>
>However . . .
>
>1 - Installing SlimServer and SoftSqueeze on my laptop did not create a
>SoftSqueeze icon on my desktop. I can and did create it manually. All
>attempts at uninstalling and reinstalling these apps has failed to create the
>icon unfortunately. Yes, I installed SoftSqueeze from the option within
>SlimServer. (Installing the same on my server created both icons, so I
>suspect it has something to do with vestiges of an old installation.)
>2 - Opening SoftSqueeze from the icon (I created) fails unless the local
>SlimServer is open. When opening SoftSqueeze from the icon I created, it
>tries to load a slimserver resource
>(http://localhost:9000/html/softsqueeze/softsqueeze.jnlp) and fails.
>3 - When connected remotely, the SoftSqueeze player Audio setting doesn't have
>the "fixed audio level" setting available. Is this right?
>
>So basically, I have to open SlimServer (local), then open SoftSqueeze, then
>close SlimServer (local), then connect w/ SoftSqueeze.
>
>PS - SoftSqueeze enhancements / bugs -
>1 - Save / load connection setting profiles. Too much rekeying now when using
>SoftSqueeze to multiple location - within the network vs. all local vs. remote.
>2 - The two little arrows on the bottom left of the default skin point right
>and down. I think their functions are reversed.
>
>

Anthony James
2004-11-25, 16:45
Thanks for your work on this - it is appreciated.

AJ

Stephen Sweeney
2004-11-25, 22:01
Richard Titmuss <richard_titmuss@...> writes:

>
> I have found out tonight that Softsqueeze won't create an icon on your
> desktop or a menu when you install it if you are using Java 1.5.

Confirmed on my end, too. I was in fact installing SS under 1.5. The
shortcut created manually never worked either - standalone without slimserver
running locally, that is - and yeilded the message in my original post. But
when I uninstalled java 1.5, the manually created shortcut worked fine.

> This will be fixed in the next release.

Thank you! Your hard work definitely is greatly appreciated. Best of luck
and let me know if I can help test anything for you.

Also, was this a bug?

> >2 - The two little arrows on the bottom left of the default skin point
> >right and down. I think their functions are reversed.