PDA

View Full Version : Analogue output Quality



Simon Turner
2004-11-23, 04:36
I'd just like to agree with Robin. The Squeezebox DAC is not bad and there
is probably no value in adding a standalone DAC unless you use reasonable
quality kit (especially if you use mp3s).

My big problem with the Squeezebox analogue outs is that the volume level is
not high enough so I ended up having to increase the volume of the hifi
power amp to compensate whenever I changed from another separate to use the
Squeezebox. I do wonder if the output lower volume level of the analogue
outs could have a bigger effect on the hifi audio output quality than a
change of DAC would have for most people with normal kit (due to increased
signal to noise ratio).

There has been at least one (quite long) thread about this before.

The strange thing is (that in their literature) SlimDevices state that the
Squeezebox analogue outputs are set at a higher level than the line outs of
most other devices. This is definitely not the case with my Squeezebox (and
also others whose owners contributed to the aforementioned thread).

Simon Turner
Brighton UK


> Robin Bowes wrote:
> > I've done some initial tests [1] (more to follow eh, Simon??)
>
> [1] I've auditioned the Squeezebox with a Perpetual Technologies P3-A
> both with and without the P1-A correction engine, and also with an Arcam
> delta Black Box 5.
>
> Perhaps this is a good time to mention that I find the (analogue) output
> level of the Squeezebox significantly lower than all of the DACs making
> AB testing rather difficult.
>
> Is there anything that can be done in firmware that can up the output
> level at all?
>
> R.
> --
> http://robinbowes.com
>

windguy2@accesscomm.ca
2004-11-23, 07:34
I'm happy to hear that the analogue output is lower than expected
because I have a Quad power amp (.5volts for full output) feed by a
passive preamp and find most devices have too high of an output.

I am also considering running the Squeezebox directly into the power
amp if it behaves nicely, ie. no nasty pops, etc when muting powering
down, skipping tracks etc. Anyone done anything like this?

Mike.

On Nov 23, 2004, at 5:36 AM, Simon Turner wrote:

> I'd just like to agree with Robin. The Squeezebox DAC is not bad and
> there
> is probably no value in adding a standalone DAC unless you use
> reasonable
> quality kit (especially if you use mp3s).
>
> My big problem with the Squeezebox analogue outs is that the volume
> level is
> not high enough so I ended up having to increase the volume of the hifi
> power amp to compensate whenever I changed from another separate to
> use the
> Squeezebox. I do wonder if the output lower volume level of the
> analogue
> outs could have a bigger effect on the hifi audio output quality than a
> change of DAC would have for most people with normal kit (due to
> increased
> signal to noise ratio).
>
> There has been at least one (quite long) thread about this before.
>
> The strange thing is (that in their literature) SlimDevices state that
> the
> Squeezebox analogue outputs are set at a higher level than the line
> outs of
> most other devices. This is definitely not the case with my Squeezebox
> (and
> also others whose owners contributed to the aforementioned thread).
>
> Simon Turner
> Brighton UK
>
>
>> Robin Bowes wrote:
>>> I've done some initial tests [1] (more to follow eh, Simon??)
>>
>> [1] I've auditioned the Squeezebox with a Perpetual Technologies P3-A
>> both with and without the P1-A correction engine, and also with an
>> Arcam
>> delta Black Box 5.
>>
>> Perhaps this is a good time to mention that I find the (analogue)
>> output
>> level of the Squeezebox significantly lower than all of the DACs
>> making
>> AB testing rather difficult.
>>
>> Is there anything that can be done in firmware that can up the output
>> level at all?
>>
>> R.
>> --
>> http://robinbowes.com
>>

Daniel Cohen
2004-11-23, 08:32
On 23/11/04 at 11:36 am +0000, Simon Turner wrote
>My big problem with the Squeezebox analogue outs is that the volume level is
>not high enough so I ended up having to increase the volume of the hifi
>power amp to compensate whenever I changed from another separate to use the
>Squeezebox.

I wonder how one can be sure that this is due to the Squeezebox and
not to any issues with the ripped files.

I make this comment because I mostly create files from BBC radio
programmes, and depending on the particular program there is quite a
variability in the volume level I need on my amplifier for a good
volume.
--
Daniel Cohen