PDA

View Full Version : SiriusXM now works on Squeezebox radio with lifetime subscriptions



jojopuppyfish
2013-08-08, 18:29
After the 3rd party app no longer worked, I gave up using sirius on my squeezebox radio as I needed to have a 128 bit account and I only had a 64 bit account due to having a lifetime subscription with internet.
So for the heck of it, I tried to logon with my account today using the official squeezebox app and it now works with my lifetime subscription
Anyways, I may be the last to know, but it now works.
Just in case you already didn't know......

garym
2013-08-09, 04:52
After the 3rd party app no longer worked, I gave up using sirius on my squeezebox radio as I needed to have a 128 bit account and I only had a 64 bit account due to having a lifetime subscription with internet.
So for the heck of it, I tried to logon with my account today using the official squeezebox app and it now works with my lifetime subscription
Anyways, I may be the last to know, but it now works.
Just in case you already didn't know......

Curious....which 3rd party app are you referring to? I'm only aware of the official app (installed at mysqueezebox.com as well as the SiriusXM plugin for LMS, which is official logitech). Is there another 3rd party app? (Note, I use the official apps above, and have had no problems with siriusXM on my players, which include a Radio). Then again, I don't have the "lifetime" subscription.

jojopuppyfish
2013-08-09, 11:50
I was using the "(not so) Sirius Plugin" because it had support for lifetime subscriptions with internet. Sirius had 2 seperate internet feeds.
If you purchased internet it was something like 128 bit
If you had the lifetime subscription it came with internet but it was 64 bit.
The official sirius app made by logitech only permitted internet accounts with 128 bit per specific instructions by Sirius. Now that Mel Karmazan is gone, most likely the new ceo made a change where all internet feeds are the same.
Because this is the first time I used the offical sirius app from Logitech where I was able to connect and use it.

garym
2013-08-09, 12:26
Aha. Forgot that one.

dwkdnvr
2013-09-25, 11:56
Not directly related to a lifetime subscription, but has anyone else suddenly started experiencing problems with XM/Sirius streams? What I'm experiencing is that some streams continue to work fine, while others that have worked for ages now fail to connect.(Problem: can't connect to server for <channel> is the error that displays on my Touch) An example that doesn't work is The Loft, while Real Jazz, Deep Tracks and Classic Vinyl all work reliably. I haven't verified this will extensive testing, but the Loft url has a numeric channel id (8207) while all 3 that work referenced above have alpha channel ids (thevault, realjazz etc) which strikes me as a bit suspicious. Listening online via the SiriusXm site/web player works fine, so the streams themselves are still there.
This is running through the official Logitech app via mysqueezebox.

garym
2013-09-25, 12:16
Not directly related to a lifetime subscription, but has anyone else suddenly started experiencing problems with XM/Sirius streams? What I'm experiencing is that some streams continue to work fine, while others that have worked for ages now fail to connect.(Problem: can't connect to server for <channel> is the error that displays on my Touch) An example that doesn't work is The Loft, while Real Jazz, Deep Tracks and Classic Vinyl all work reliably. I haven't verified this will extensive testing, but the Loft url has a numeric channel id (8207) while all 3 that work referenced above have alpha channel ids (thevault, realjazz etc) which strikes me as a bit suspicious. Listening online via the SiriusXm site/web player works fine, so the streams themselves are still there.
This is running through the official Logitech app via mysqueezebox.

Loft is working for me. Are you selecting channels via app listing of channels, or had you previously stored these as favorites? If the latter, try direct selection. Channel numbers may have changed.

dwkdnvr
2013-09-25, 13:00
Loft is working for me. Are you selecting channels via app listing of channels, or had you previously stored these as favorites? If the latter, try direct selection. Channel numbers may have changed.

Thanks for the quick response.

I've tried it both ways. Originally it was via a Favorite, but when it started failing I tried it directly from the SiriusXM plugin and get the same results. Originally, the failure was somewhat sporadic - generally failed, but I got it to finally reconnect occasionally. Now it's failing constantly.

I played around a bit more and most (but not quite all) numeric channels fail, and all the alpha channels I tried succeeded. The only numeric channel I found out of the ones I tried that worked was 'Escape'.

What version of LMS are you running? I'm on 7.7.2. Nothing in more recent versions would seem to suggest anything related to this, but I'll try upgrading if it might help.

garym
2013-09-25, 13:08
Thanks for the quick response.

I've tried it both ways. Originally it was via a Favorite, but when it started failing I tried it directly from the SiriusXM plugin and get the same results. Originally, the failure was somewhat sporadic - generally failed, but I got it to finally reconnect occasionally. Now it's failing constantly.

I played around a bit more and most (but not quite all) numeric channels fail, and all the alpha channels I tried succeeded. The only numeric channel I found out of the ones I tried that worked was 'Escape'.

What version of LMS are you running? I'm on 7.7.2. Nothing in more recent versions would seem to suggest anything related to this, but I'll try upgrading if it might help.

7.7.2. I'm in the US. Where are you seeing alpha channel Ids? All my channels are numbers. Loft is channel 30 for example.

garym
2013-09-25, 13:09
I'd restart router first. Next uninstall then reinstall app.

dwkdnvr
2013-09-25, 15:47
7.7.2. I'm in the US. Where are you seeing alpha channel Ids? All my channels are numbers. Loft is channel 30 for example.

I'm referring to the URL associated with the channel - you can see it from the web interface when you select the channel from the Sirius App list. The Loft for example is sirius://8207 whereas Deep Tracks is sirius://thevault . It seems that most channels have a proper 'name' as part of the stream URL, but some don't. This may be a holdover from the merger, but I'm not sure. It may be pure coincidence that the channels that aren't working for me have numeric identifiers in the URL.

I'll try power cycling everything, although I'm not optimistic on that front since I think it may have happened since the problem started. I'm not sure re-installing is in the cards in the near term, unfortunately - we're in the process of finalizing selling our house and starting to pack, so time is scarce.

garym
2013-09-25, 16:12
I'm referring to the URL associated with the channel - you can see it from the web interface when you select the channel from the Sirius App list. The Loft for example is sirius://8207 whereas Deep Tracks is sirius://thevault . It seems that most channels have a proper 'name' as part of the stream URL, but some don't. This may be a holdover from the merger, but I'm not sure. It may be pure coincidence that the channels that aren't working for me have numeric identifiers in the URL.

I'll try power cycling everything, although I'm not optimistic on that front since I think it may have happened since the problem started. I'm not sure re-installing is in the cards in the near term, unfortunately - we're in the process of finalizing selling our house and starting to pack, so time is scarce.

Aha. I see now. Uninstalling and reinstalling the app at mysqueezebox.com should only take 2 minutes, including re entering your userID and password. W

dwkdnvr
2013-09-26, 21:30
Aha. I see now. Uninstalling and reinstalling the app at mysqueezebox.com should only take 2 minutes, including re entering your userID and password. W

Gotcha - I automatically ran off to 'reinstall LMS'.

I uninstalled on mysqueezebox.com, logged out, logged back in and re-added the app. I'm not sure how much it did since it picked up the old settings automatically.

However, The Loft is currently playing, so you might well have solved the problem. Guess we'll see whether this is just a random success or not.

Thanks greatly for the help.