PDA

View Full Version : Possible to revive bricked Squeezebox classic?



Marsupial
2013-05-24, 11:49
I am still relatively new to squeezebox, and am on the look for the classic devices.
there are some on ebay that are advertised as "tested and not working" such as this one
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Logitech-Squeezebox-Classic-Music-Player-no-power-/130908083681?pt=US_Internet_Media_Streamers&hash=item1e7abad5e1

can one expect to be able to get those back to life, or are those parts devices?

chrisla
2013-05-24, 14:31
Your biggest hope is that it is the wireless card holding it down. It's a
very (if not the most) common failure for the wireless card to either just
need a reseating or have failed keeping it from booting further. A common
tell-tale of that is that they don't do anything but their toslink ports
are lit up. In this state one can dismantle it, remove the wireless card
and either replace it or used it wired. This is the exact same way the
wired only SB3's were sold from the factory. Other common failures are the
external power supply and some caps failing inside that are well
documented. If it is none of those things and a full Xilinx reset does not
do it, you probably really have something difficult to fix.

Thanks,

-Chris



On Fri, May 24, 2013 at 11:49 AM, Marsupial <
Marsupial.5vuypb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

>
> I am still relatively new to squeezebox, and am on the look for the
> classic devices.
> there are some on ebay that are advertised as "tested and not working"
> such as this one
>
> http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Logitech-Squeezebox-Classic-Music-Player-no-power-/130908083681?pt=US_Internet_Media_Streamers&hash=item1e7abad5e1
>
> can one expect to be able to get those back to life, or are those parts
> devices?
>
>
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Marsupial's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=59182
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=98840
>
>

mikeh49
2013-05-24, 17:25
It might also be a dead display. The display seems to especially susceptible to being dropped. This happened to mine. The Toslink was lighted and the power supply was good, but without a display, hard to tell if working and also hard to use. But, it can be rescued with the Net::UDP tool that you can find on this forum. It's command line and you have to be patient to work through it. I rescued my SB3 and it works just fine as a "blind" player.

Here's a link to some info on Net::UDP:

http://swisschecklist.com/en/qsjakd4y/Logitech-Squeezebox-Receiver-Setting-it-up-without-the-Duet-Remote-Control

w3wilkes
2013-05-24, 20:56
In the checklist it forgets to mention that if the receiver was previously configured for wireless you will have to do a factory reset for the receiver to recognize that it has a ehternet cable attached. Don't know if this is true for the SB3.

servies
2013-05-25, 08:21
Your biggest hope is that it is the wireless card holding it down. It's a
very (if not the most) common failure for the wireless card to either just
need a reseating or have failed keeping it from booting further. A common
tell-tale of that is that they don't do anything but their toslink ports
are lit up. In this state one can dismantle it, remove the wireless card
and either replace it or used it wired. This is the exact same way the
wired only SB3's were sold from the factory. Other common failures are the
external power supply and some caps failing inside that are well
documented. If it is none of those things and a full Xilinx reset does not
do it, you probably really have something difficult to fix.

Chris: could you point me to those documented failing caps?
I have a bricked Squeezebox classic that doesn't provide any sign of life. no lit up toslink ports etc...
If I know where the problem possibly is, someone can repair it for me, but for now I haven't got a clue at all...

mikeh49
2013-05-25, 08:35
Better link for Net::UDAP

http://projects.robinbowes.com/Net-UDAP/trac/wiki/GettingStarted

And the forum thread:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?57861-Net-UDAP-SqueezeBox-Receiver-configuration-tool

gharris999
2013-05-25, 11:05
I'll second what chrisla said. All the "bricked" SB2s & SB3s I've come across (several) have been bricked due to bad wireless cards. Crack the case and remove the card and I've always found you end up with a perfectly functioning (albeit wired-only) SqueezeBox.

Marsupial
2013-05-27, 08:05
Thanks guys!

That sounds promising. I would be OK with a dead unit if need be, and can do without the wifi card; but getting one of them is the main issue; so going to fixer-upper way seems interesting. Altough, I might have a few questions in the process.

servies
2013-05-29, 04:29
Is there nobody who can point me to those well documented failing caps?
my toslink port doesn't show any light so it's probably not my wifi card and I also already tried another powersupply...

mikeh49
2013-05-29, 08:18
I have not seen anything directly applicable to bad capacitors in SBs. This site helped me recover a video card with bad caps:

http://www.badcaps.net/

There might be something about SBs in their forum. Might try a google search on their domain.

tcutting
2013-05-29, 09:51
I have not seen anything directly applicable to bad capacitors in SBs. This site helped me recover a video card with bad caps:

http://www.badcaps.net/

There might be something about SBs in their forum. Might try a google search on their domain.

My recollection with the bad caps was that there are DC blocking caps on the audio outputs which have gone bad on several SB3. Symptom would be low or no audio out on one channel. I don't recall if they needed to be replaced, or if they could be simply bypassed (effectively shorted out) which may be OK if there is no DC offset from the DAC outputs.

ant.perry
2013-05-29, 10:42
A friend of mine with a squeezebox classic used the method described below

http://lowtek.ca/roo/2011/squeezebox-classic-repair/

hope it helps

Cheers
Anthony

Beast Of Bodmin
2014-03-22, 05:16
Rather than start a new thread, this thread seems to be closest to the problem I have.

For a long time, I was under the impression my SB3 remote control was broken, but this didn't matter as I had used a smartphone app to control my SB3 for a while.

Then I overhauled my home network and changed from WEP to WPA2. Consequently my SB3 can no longer connect to my home wifi.

Now I think the remote is OK. I verified this by starting Photo Booth on my iMac and pointing the remote control at the built in camera. I see a flash when I press buttons on the remote. I also compared this with a known working TV remote control.

When I power up the SB3 I see these screens

logitech splash screen
squeezebox splash screen
Welcome to Squeezebox (press right arrow...)
Connecting to wireless network...

Then the screen goes blank.

I tried all 4 tests here http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Special_IR_Keys_on_Reboot_for_Factory_Reset_and_La st_FW but the remote control was ignored.

I tried Net::UDAP via an ethernet cable, but Net::UDAP doesn't discover the device. No sign of the MAC Address. Also I wasn't sure if an SB3 is the same as a SB Receiver.

I don't need wireless as I have an ethernet switch nearby.

If I open the thing, can I cause a factory reset, which might allow me to configure it via Net::UDAP? Or is there some other route I can go down?

Suggestions are welcome!

Cheers,
BoB

mikeh49
2014-03-22, 07:30
Net::UDP does work with a SB3. You have to start from a full reset of the SB3 however so it will be looking for a connection, if I understand correctly. There's a reset and then a Xilinx reset as well. I don't remember how to do them, so you'll have to search, or wait for someone with a better memory.

I used Net::UDP to recover a SB3 with a bad display. If your display is working, you should not need it, I think. In my experience the SB3s can be cranky when changing anything with wireless. I'd try the full reset technique and see if you can start from scratch.

Here's the Xilinx reset procedure:


Unplug the SB3.

Press and hold '1' on the remote (of course pointing it at the SB3...)

Plug SB3 back in.

Continue holding '1' until the SB3 says something like 'Programming Xilinx'.

Now if the remote does not work ...

bpa
2014-03-22, 09:41
logitech splash screen
squeezebox splash screen
Welcome to Squeezebox (press right arrow...)
Connecting to wireless network...

This can be caused by faulty wifi card - you can open SB3 up (you need a torx t10) and remove card. If card was faulty Sb3 will boot OK. This link show how http://lowtek.ca/roo/2011/squeezebox-classic-repair/
Other possibility - bad power supply.

Mnyb
2014-03-22, 11:50
Tried to cycle the brigthness button ?

Or holding < arrow on the remote for a while .

Resets

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Special_IR_Keys_on_Reboot_for_Factory_Reset_and_La st_FW

Beast Of Bodmin
2014-03-22, 12:04
Net::UDP does work with a SB3. You have to start from a full reset of the SB3 however so it will be looking for a connection, if I understand correctly. There's a reset and then a Xilinx reset as well. I don't remember how to do them, so you'll have to search, or wait for someone with a better memory.

I used Net::UDP to recover a SB3 with a bad display. If your display is working, you should not need it, I think. In my experience the SB3s can be cranky when changing anything with wireless. I'd try the full reset technique and see if you can start from scratch.

Here's the Xilinx reset procedure:

Now if the remote does not work ...


This can be caused by faulty wifi card - you can open SB3 up (you need a torx t10) and remove card. If card was faulty Sb3 will boot OK. This link show how http://lowtek.ca/roo/2011/squeezebox-classic-repair/
Other possibility - bad power supply.

Long story short:

My SB3 is now running from the ethernet port, and is a few grammes lighter due to having had its Wifi card removed.

I opened the SB3. The pictures at http://lowtek.ca/roo/2011/squeezebox-classic-repair/ were useful. Disconnected the wifi card from the board. Attached the SB3 to my iMac via an ethernet cable. Powered up. Got Net::UDAP to recognise it. I attempted to set the wireless settings as required, just in case the wifi card was OK. After the Net::UDAP reset, that was the last time I could discover it.

I can control the SB3 with the smartphone app as before.

The remote control is still ignored.

It is strange to me that the start of the problems with the wifi card seem to coincide with my changing from WEP to WPA2. So I bet either the IR sensor on the SB3 has a fault, or the remote control is indeed broken. Even though I can see the IR diode emitting light in a digital camera. I don't have a spare remote.

Here's the trace of my Net::UDAP session.



computer-7:1.0.x BoB$ perl scripts/udap_shell.pl --local-address 192.168.10.1
UDAP> discover
info: *** Broadcasting adv_discovery message to MAC address 00:00:00:00:00:00 on 255.255.255.255
info: adv_discovery response received from 00:04:20:07:1c:79
info: *** Broadcasting get_ip message to MAC address 00:04:20:07:1c:79 on 255.255.255.255
info: get_ip response received from 00:04:20:07:1c:79
info: *** Broadcasting get_data message to MAC address 00:04:20:07:1c:79 on 255.255.255.255
info: get_data response received from 00:04:20:07:1c:79
UDAP> list
# MAC Address Type Status
== ================= ========== ===============
1 00:04:20:07:1c:79 squeezebox wait_slimserver
UDAP> configure 1
UDAP [1] (squeezebox 071c79)> list
bridging: 0
hostname: Beast Of Bodmin
interface: 0
lan_gateway: 192.168.1.1
lan_ip_mode: 1
lan_network_address: 192.168.1.4
lan_subnet_mask: 255.255.255.0
primary_dns: 192.168.1.1
secondary_dns: 0.0.0.0
server_address: 0.0.0.0
squeezecenter_address: 169.254.60.157
squeezecenter_name: Muzak Of Bodmin
wireless_SSID: Seventh Gate of Hell
wireless_channel: 6
wireless_keylen: 1
wireless_mode: 0
wireless_region_id: 14
wireless_wep_key_0: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
wireless_wep_key_1: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
wireless_wep_key_2: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
wireless_wep_key_3: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
wireless_wep_on: 1
wireless_wpa_cipher: 3
wireless_wpa_mode: 1
wireless_wpa_on: 0
wireless_wpa_psk:

UDAP [1] (squeezebox 071c79)> set wireless_wep_on=0
UDAP [1] (squeezebox 071c79)> set wireless_wpa_on=1
UDAP [1] (squeezebox 071c79)> set wireless_wpa_on=2
UDAP [1] (squeezebox 071c79)> set wireless_wpa_cipher=2
UDAP [1] (squeezebox 071c79)> set wireless_wpa_mode=2
UDAP [1] (squeezebox 071c79)> set wireless_wpa_psk=XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

UDAP [1] (squeezebox 071c79)> list
bridging: 0
hostname: Beast Of Bodmin
interface: 0
lan_gateway: 192.168.1.1
lan_ip_mode: 1
lan_network_address: 192.168.1.4
lan_subnet_mask: 255.255.255.0
primary_dns: 192.168.1.1
secondary_dns: 0.0.0.0
server_address: 0.0.0.0
squeezecenter_address: 169.254.60.157
squeezecenter_name: Muzak Of Bodmin
wireless_SSID: Seventh Gate of Hell
wireless_channel: 6
wireless_keylen: 1
wireless_mode: 0
wireless_region_id: 14
wireless_wep_key_0: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
wireless_wep_key_1: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
wireless_wep_key_2: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
wireless_wep_key_3: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
wireless_wep_on: 0
wireless_wpa_cipher: 2
wireless_wpa_mode: 2
wireless_wpa_on: 2
wireless_wpa_psk: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

UDAP [1] (squeezebox 071c79)> save_data
info: *** Broadcasting set_data message to MAC address 00:04:20:07:1c:79 on 255.255.255.255

UDAP [1] (squeezebox 071c79)> reset
info: *** Broadcasting reset message to MAC address 00:04:20:07:1c:79 on 255.255.255.255

fbachofner
2016-11-10, 17:01
Hi Beast of Bodmin:


Long story short:
< trim >
Here's the trace of my Net::UDAP session.
< trim >



I am trying to run Net-UDAP on a LinuxMint 18 system and am not having any luck. What OS did you run it on (if you happen to remember)?

If you have a moment, could you look at http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?106390-Squeezebox-Classic-stuck-at-language-selection&p=867155&viewfull=1#post867155 to comment?

Thanks in advance!


Felix