PDA

View Full Version : A new know-nothing looking for help (please)

dtw3
2013-05-20, 01:59
Hello all,

I’m new to all this and the first port of call was FAQs which drew a blank, then the “new member and some tips please” discussion started by mônman. The thing that impressed me most was that mônman seemed to understand what he was being told; “macro variables”, “crossfade”, "smart gain", “bitrates”. I’d understood this digital audio thing can be complicated, I didn’t realise I had to learn Welsh, though it might be easier!

Seriously though, how do you guys learn about all this? I read real lot of review sites and forums trying to understand enough to decide on my kit and here I am, hopefully sounding like I know what I’m talking about – looking for help (please).

All I needed was something to rip my CD/cassette music collection, store it and play it at a decent quality, with a decent UI, ideally all in one box. The product reviews of the Cocktail, Olive Media or the Brennan units sound between good and wonderful - until you read the customer comments, then you want to slit your throat. I settled on FLAC by a VortexBox and a Squeezebox Touch into my ‘Hi-Fi’ with RCA phono plugs.

I had Hi-Fi separates, Celestion Ditton 15s and Shure cartridges but that was back then. I tell you that to show I’ve got some respect for what the audio is supposed to be but when buying CDs, did I check the audio specifications? No! And all I wanted with the VB and SB was quality access to my music and the info. on the CD cover such as album name, cover art, tracks and notes – and the same ability to organise them. Accepting that VortexBox tagging might not always be correct, I presumed a means of correcting them would be available.