PDA

View Full Version : ShadowPlay plugin



fcm4711
2004-06-28, 14:04
Hi all

With this plugin it is possible to control
a player from another player without synch-
ronizing the two.

http://www.gwendesign.com/slimserver/development.htm#shadowplay

However there are two problems I haven't found
a solution yet.

1. The remote buttons are much too sensitive,
meaning, the repeat is much too fast when
remote controlling a player. Also sometimes
pressing a button once advances more than
one entry. (Especially 'up' and 'down')

2. For some unknown reason the 'Settings'
mode on a remote player cannot be exited
by pressing 'left'. Is the 'Settings' mode
somehow special/different than any other?

Any ideas?

Thanks
Felix



__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Mail - 50x more storage than other providers!
http://promotions.yahoo.com/new_mail

kdf
2004-06-28, 14:15
Quoting Felix Mueller <fcm4711 (AT) yahoo (DOT) com>:

> Hi all
>
> With this plugin it is possible to control
> a player from another player without synch-
> ronizing the two.
>
> http://www.gwendesign.com/slimserver/development.htm#shadowplay
>
> However there are two problems I haven't found
> a solution yet.
>
> 1. The remote buttons are much too sensitive,
> meaning, the repeat is much too fast when
> remote controlling a player. Also sometimes
> pressing a button once advances more than
> one entry. (Especially 'up' and 'down')
>
> 2. For some unknown reason the 'Settings'
> mode on a remote player cannot be exited
> by pressing 'left'. Is the 'Settings' mode
> somehow special/different than any other?

the settings modules makes extensive use of the INPUT.Text mode, which requires
an exithandler. This would make it different from other modes that just
popleft. I'm surprised its causing a problem, but that could be a good place to
start looking.

-kdf

dean
2004-06-28, 14:20
That's neat! I'd like to consider this as an included plugin with the
server.

Couple of suggestions:

1. It would be neat if you could navigate into the other player and
have it jump to the top-level Home menu. Then exit it by pressing
right from the top level...

2. I think you could fix the IR problem by using
Slim::Control::Command::setExecuteCallback and looking for low-level IR
events.

3. I think that the problem with the settings is due to the use of the
INPUT.list mode. No idea why, though...

-dean

On Jun 28, 2004, at 2:04 PM, Felix Mueller wrote:

> Hi all
>
> With this plugin it is possible to control
> a player from another player without synch-
> ronizing the two.
>
> http://www.gwendesign.com/slimserver/development.htm#shadowplay
>
> However there are two problems I haven't found
> a solution yet.
>
> 1. The remote buttons are much too sensitive,
> meaning, the repeat is much too fast when
> remote controlling a player. Also sometimes
> pressing a button once advances more than
> one entry. (Especially 'up' and 'down')
>
> 2. For some unknown reason the 'Settings'
> mode on a remote player cannot be exited
> by pressing 'left'. Is the 'Settings' mode
> somehow special/different than any other?
>
> Any ideas?
>
> Thanks
> Felix
>
>
>
> __________________________________
> Do you Yahoo!?
> Yahoo! Mail - 50x more storage than other providers!
> http://promotions.yahoo.com/new_mail
>

slim@olilo.org
2004-06-28, 19:06
Quoting dean blackketter <dean (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com>:

> That's neat! I'd like to consider this as an included plugin with the
> server.
>

I would have to agree. I would actually like to request that it be brought
outside the plugin menu to the top-level menu like the shoutcast plugin recently
was. I was actually planning to file a feature request so I could remotely power
down one unit from another, but this does that and a whole lot more. Great work
Felix.

Tom

kdf
2004-06-28, 19:26
Quoting slim (AT) olilo (DOT) org:

> Quoting dean blackketter <dean (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com>:
>
> > That's neat! I'd like to consider this as an included plugin with the
> > server.
> >
>
> I would have to agree. I would actually like to request that it be brought
> outside the plugin menu to the top-level menu like the shoutcast plugin
> recently
> was.
This is something you can do at any time from the server settings -> additional
server settings -> interface -> home menu customisation. you can then pick the
plugins of your choice to become part of the home menu.

-kdf