PDA

View Full Version : Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?



Dan Goodinson
2004-11-21, 10:15
Damn - just rebooted, confirmed by the router logs. That's the first
reboot in about 4 hours.

Looks like my issue is not yet fully resolved :( Certainly seems
better, but a few more hours are needed before I can tell whether it is
truly better or whether there's also some interference messing stuff up
which I haven't been able to trace... Probably not going to be able to
provide many more updates until next weekend, as I'm back in work
tomorrow (I work away from home).

Mark - if you get a chance to test your USR8054 with SB as a DHCP
client, let me know the outcome...

Cheers!
Dan.

-----Original Message-----
From: Dan Goodinson
Sent: 21 November 2004 17:04
To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
Subject: [slim] Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?


To add to this, and in response to Mark's latest thread:

Router: USR8054, firmware 1.64
SS: v5.3.1
SB: v39

I agree that auto-config is cool, but I can live without if it solves
the reboot prob. I have a long patch cable somewhere, but I don't
reckon it is long enough to connect SB to router. The only potential
way to test wired ethernet on DHCP is to move the stereo. (That's not
an easy task, since speakers are attached to the wall). If needed, I
can invest in a super long patch cable (so long as there are no issues
with SB and v. long ethernet cables) for test purposes. Let me know if
this would be helpful, and I'll look into it.

Dan.

PS - as a side issue (which may be related) when I first came to set up
my SB and server, I had a couple of instances where the router badly
assigned IP addresses. On reboot of the server, it tried to give my
server the same IP as the SB player (which was up and running at the
time) which caused my server to drop off the network. That was part of
the reason I initially set my server to have static IP. Not sure if
this was a mis-configuration on my part, or an issue with the router.
The router lists the SB as "unknown" in the DHCP client list.

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Biro,
Stephen G.
Sent: 21 November 2004 16:51
To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
Subject: [slim] Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?


Me:

Router: D-Link DI-514, latest firmware
SS: v. 5.4
SB: rev. 40

I am so happy now!! Though auto-config via dhcp is a nice to have.

-s-

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Dan
Goodinson
Sent: November 21, 2004 11:37 AM
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?

Guys,

I can confirm too that my SB has now been running for quite some time
now, with no reboots yet. For me, too, it feels like this is about the
longest it has been running without a reboot. Hard to say for sure, as
occasionally it does seem to run for several hours without problems. But
this is really quite cool - the reboot prob has been getting me down,
and it feels like maybe now I might be getting somewhere.

Fingers crossed!

Stephen - what router are you using? Do you have the USR 8054, like
Mark and I?

Dan.

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Biro,
Stephen G.
Sent: 21 November 2004 16:27
To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
Subject: [slim] Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?


Dan/Mark:

Been running a few hours now without a reboot (max uptime this morning
was about 15 minutes)... this is now FANTASTIC!!

If I were to guess (not being able to see the firmware source) that when
running in wireless, the DHCP lease time issued from _SOME_
brands/models/firmware revs of APs is misinterpreted by the SB (for
whatever reason).... When the SB thinks the lease is up, it then reboots
to request a new IP and lease (since, I assume the dhcp renew will only
run in the boot process).

It would be interesting to somehow query what the sb thinks the lease
time is for the ip it received...might help in debugging and ultimately
fixing the problem?? Thoughts?

Thanks Dan/Mark

-s-

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Dan
Goodinson
Sent: November 21, 2004 10:19 AM
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?

In a way, it is comforting to know that I'm not the only one with this
prob ;-)

Thanks for this info, and thanks again also to Mark for the suggestions
regarding static IP. I've been running static IP since my last message
and so far there have been no reboots. That is to say: for all the time
I've been listening to it, no reboots - and for those times when I've
been away my girlfriend claims that there were no reboots... If
correct, that's now over 2 hours without reboot. That is not bad going,
and it rarely goes this long without a crash.

Not going to know for sure whether or not the issue is cured until a
good few hours have passed.

I'm reluctant to try wiring it up to the ethernet port, since I don't
have any patch cables (or stereo cables) long enough. Broadband modem
is upstairs, so that is where the router is. The squeezebox is plugged
into my stereo - downstairs. if all else fails, I might try that just
so I know whether the issue is specific to wireless. Although kind of
sounds like Stephen has similar issue and wired works ok...

Will keep you posted regards the static IP.

Mark Bennett
2004-11-21, 14:13
I've checked through my router log, and with a static IP
address, I never see any messages coming up relating to
the SB (although the router's only been up a couple of
days, so the log isn't long).

The SB is now switched to DHCP, and I'll see how it goes
over the next day or two.

Cheers,
Mark.

On Sun, 2004-11-21 at 17:15, Dan Goodinson wrote:
> Damn - just rebooted, confirmed by the router logs. That's the first
> reboot in about 4 hours.
>
> Looks like my issue is not yet fully resolved :( Certainly seems
> better, but a few more hours are needed before I can tell whether it is
> truly better or whether there's also some interference messing stuff up
> which I haven't been able to trace... Probably not going to be able to
> provide many more updates until next weekend, as I'm back in work
> tomorrow (I work away from home).
>
> Mark - if you get a chance to test your USR8054 with SB as a DHCP
> client, let me know the outcome...
>
> Cheers!
> Dan.
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Dan Goodinson
> Sent: 21 November 2004 17:04
> To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
> Subject: [slim] Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?
>
>
> To add to this, and in response to Mark's latest thread:
>
> Router: USR8054, firmware 1.64
> SS: v5.3.1
> SB: v39
>
> I agree that auto-config is cool, but I can live without if it solves
> the reboot prob. I have a long patch cable somewhere, but I don't
> reckon it is long enough to connect SB to router. The only potential
> way to test wired ethernet on DHCP is to move the stereo. (That's not
> an easy task, since speakers are attached to the wall). If needed, I
> can invest in a super long patch cable (so long as there are no issues
> with SB and v. long ethernet cables) for test purposes. Let me know if
> this would be helpful, and I'll look into it.
>
> Dan.
>
> PS - as a side issue (which may be related) when I first came to set up
> my SB and server, I had a couple of instances where the router badly
> assigned IP addresses. On reboot of the server, it tried to give my
> server the same IP as the SB player (which was up and running at the
> time) which caused my server to drop off the network. That was part of
> the reason I initially set my server to have static IP. Not sure if
> this was a mis-configuration on my part, or an issue with the router.
> The router lists the SB as "unknown" in the DHCP client list.
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Biro,
> Stephen G.
> Sent: 21 November 2004 16:51
> To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
> Subject: [slim] Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?
>
>
> Me:
>
> Router: D-Link DI-514, latest firmware
> SS: v. 5.4
> SB: rev. 40
>
> I am so happy now!! Though auto-config via dhcp is a nice to have.
>
> -s-
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Dan
> Goodinson
> Sent: November 21, 2004 11:37 AM
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?
>
> Guys,
>
> I can confirm too that my SB has now been running for quite some time
> now, with no reboots yet. For me, too, it feels like this is about the
> longest it has been running without a reboot. Hard to say for sure, as
> occasionally it does seem to run for several hours without problems. But
> this is really quite cool - the reboot prob has been getting me down,
> and it feels like maybe now I might be getting somewhere.
>
> Fingers crossed!
>
> Stephen - what router are you using? Do you have the USR 8054, like
> Mark and I?
>
> Dan.
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Biro,
> Stephen G.
> Sent: 21 November 2004 16:27
> To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
> Subject: [slim] Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?
>
>
> Dan/Mark:
>
> Been running a few hours now without a reboot (max uptime this morning
> was about 15 minutes)... this is now FANTASTIC!!
>
> If I were to guess (not being able to see the firmware source) that when
> running in wireless, the DHCP lease time issued from _SOME_
> brands/models/firmware revs of APs is misinterpreted by the SB (for
> whatever reason).... When the SB thinks the lease is up, it then reboots
> to request a new IP and lease (since, I assume the dhcp renew will only
> run in the boot process).
>
> It would be interesting to somehow query what the sb thinks the lease
> time is for the ip it received...might help in debugging and ultimately
> fixing the problem?? Thoughts?
>
> Thanks Dan/Mark
>
> -s-
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Dan
> Goodinson
> Sent: November 21, 2004 10:19 AM
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?
>
> In a way, it is comforting to know that I'm not the only one with this
> prob ;-)
>
> Thanks for this info, and thanks again also to Mark for the suggestions
> regarding static IP. I've been running static IP since my last message
> and so far there have been no reboots. That is to say: for all the time
> I've been listening to it, no reboots - and for those times when I've
> been away my girlfriend claims that there were no reboots... If
> correct, that's now over 2 hours without reboot. That is not bad going,
> and it rarely goes this long without a crash.
>
> Not going to know for sure whether or not the issue is cured until a
> good few hours have passed.
>
> I'm reluctant to try wiring it up to the ethernet port, since I don't
> have any patch cables (or stereo cables) long enough. Broadband modem
> is upstairs, so that is where the router is. The squeezebox is plugged
> into my stereo - downstairs. if all else fails, I might try that just
> so I know whether the issue is specific to wireless. Although kind of
> sounds like Stephen has similar issue and wired works ok...
>
> Will keep you posted regards the static IP.
>
>
>

Mark Bennett
2004-11-22, 01:10
So my SB has been on DHCP all night, and there is no
sign of any new leases on the router log, so I guess
it's working here.

Of course overnight, the SB has been turned off, I don't
know if this will make a difference, but I'll leave it
running all day, and see what happens today.

On Sun, 2004-11-21 at 21:13, Mark Bennett wrote:
> I've checked through my router log, and with a static IP
> address, I never see any messages coming up relating to
> the SB (although the router's only been up a couple of
> days, so the log isn't long).
>
> The SB is now switched to DHCP, and I'll see how it goes
> over the next day or two.
>
> Cheers,
> Mark.
>
> On Sun, 2004-11-21 at 17:15, Dan Goodinson wrote:
> > Damn - just rebooted, confirmed by the router logs. That's the first
> > reboot in about 4 hours.
> >
> > Looks like my issue is not yet fully resolved :( Certainly seems
> > better, but a few more hours are needed before I can tell whether it is
> > truly better or whether there's also some interference messing stuff up
> > which I haven't been able to trace... Probably not going to be able to
> > provide many more updates until next weekend, as I'm back in work
> > tomorrow (I work away from home).
> >
> > Mark - if you get a chance to test your USR8054 with SB as a DHCP
> > client, let me know the outcome...
> >
> > Cheers!
> > Dan.
> >
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: Dan Goodinson
> > Sent: 21 November 2004 17:04
> > To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
> > Subject: [slim] Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?
> >
> >
> > To add to this, and in response to Mark's latest thread:
> >
> > Router: USR8054, firmware 1.64
> > SS: v5.3.1
> > SB: v39
> >
> > I agree that auto-config is cool, but I can live without if it solves
> > the reboot prob. I have a long patch cable somewhere, but I don't
> > reckon it is long enough to connect SB to router. The only potential
> > way to test wired ethernet on DHCP is to move the stereo. (That's not
> > an easy task, since speakers are attached to the wall). If needed, I
> > can invest in a super long patch cable (so long as there are no issues
> > with SB and v. long ethernet cables) for test purposes. Let me know if
> > this would be helpful, and I'll look into it.
> >
> > Dan.
> >
> > PS - as a side issue (which may be related) when I first came to set up
> > my SB and server, I had a couple of instances where the router badly
> > assigned IP addresses. On reboot of the server, it tried to give my
> > server the same IP as the SB player (which was up and running at the
> > time) which caused my server to drop off the network. That was part of
> > the reason I initially set my server to have static IP. Not sure if
> > this was a mis-configuration on my part, or an issue with the router.
> > The router lists the SB as "unknown" in the DHCP client list.
> >
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> > [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Biro,
> > Stephen G.
> > Sent: 21 November 2004 16:51
> > To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
> > Subject: [slim] Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?
> >
> >
> > Me:
> >
> > Router: D-Link DI-514, latest firmware
> > SS: v. 5.4
> > SB: rev. 40
> >
> > I am so happy now!! Though auto-config via dhcp is a nice to have.
> >
> > -s-
> >
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> > [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Dan
> > Goodinson
> > Sent: November 21, 2004 11:37 AM
> > To: Slim Devices Discussion
> > Subject: [slim] Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?
> >
> > Guys,
> >
> > I can confirm too that my SB has now been running for quite some time
> > now, with no reboots yet. For me, too, it feels like this is about the
> > longest it has been running without a reboot. Hard to say for sure, as
> > occasionally it does seem to run for several hours without problems. But
> > this is really quite cool - the reboot prob has been getting me down,
> > and it feels like maybe now I might be getting somewhere.
> >
> > Fingers crossed!
> >
> > Stephen - what router are you using? Do you have the USR 8054, like
> > Mark and I?
> >
> > Dan.
> >
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> > [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Biro,
> > Stephen G.
> > Sent: 21 November 2004 16:27
> > To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
> > Subject: [slim] Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?
> >
> >
> > Dan/Mark:
> >
> > Been running a few hours now without a reboot (max uptime this morning
> > was about 15 minutes)... this is now FANTASTIC!!
> >
> > If I were to guess (not being able to see the firmware source) that when
> > running in wireless, the DHCP lease time issued from _SOME_
> > brands/models/firmware revs of APs is misinterpreted by the SB (for
> > whatever reason).... When the SB thinks the lease is up, it then reboots
> > to request a new IP and lease (since, I assume the dhcp renew will only
> > run in the boot process).
> >
> > It would be interesting to somehow query what the sb thinks the lease
> > time is for the ip it received...might help in debugging and ultimately
> > fixing the problem?? Thoughts?
> >
> > Thanks Dan/Mark
> >
> > -s-
> >
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> > [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Dan
> > Goodinson
> > Sent: November 21, 2004 10:19 AM
> > To: Slim Devices Discussion
> > Subject: [slim] Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?
> >
> > In a way, it is comforting to know that I'm not the only one with this
> > prob ;-)
> >
> > Thanks for this info, and thanks again also to Mark for the suggestions
> > regarding static IP. I've been running static IP since my last message
> > and so far there have been no reboots. That is to say: for all the time
> > I've been listening to it, no reboots - and for those times when I've
> > been away my girlfriend claims that there were no reboots... If
> > correct, that's now over 2 hours without reboot. That is not bad going,
> > and it rarely goes this long without a crash.
> >
> > Not going to know for sure whether or not the issue is cured until a
> > good few hours have passed.
> >
> > I'm reluctant to try wiring it up to the ethernet port, since I don't
> > have any patch cables (or stereo cables) long enough. Broadband modem
> > is upstairs, so that is where the router is. The squeezebox is plugged
> > into my stereo - downstairs. if all else fails, I might try that just
> > so I know whether the issue is specific to wireless. Although kind of
> > sounds like Stephen has similar issue and wired works ok...
> >
> > Will keep you posted regards the static IP.
> >
> >
> >