PDA

View Full Version : Napster Not Playing

allgonepetetong
2013-05-09, 11:52
Hi All

I wonder of someone could help please.

I have recently installed the Napster app and opened and account. When I select a track to play in Napster, my squeeze box screen displays the song that I have selected and the time bar shows it is playing, however no sound is being played.

This problem is apparent on both my Duet and Boom when controlled either by the Duet handset, the Boom directly, or via the android app on my connected phone.

please help

thanks

Barry

slimfast
2013-05-10, 14:12
I'm not an expert but I do know that DRMed services like Napster can be tricky. In the case of Napster which I use, I needed to update the firmware on my Squeezeboxes when they changed DRM a while back. That meant a lot of messing around to get the LMS on my NAS up to date. (Firmware is automatically updated when you connect to a server, by the server).

You could try connecting to mysqueezebox. com if you aren't already doing so that would update your firmware.

If you are using your own lms server, make sure it's the latest version so that your firmware stays current.

allgonepetetong
2013-05-10, 15:36
Thanks Slimfast.

I connected to mysqueezebox.com, which automatically updates my firmware every time I connect to it, and I am then able to play Napster on my Boom, but only when connected to mysqueezebox.com. On my Duet I do not know how to connect to mysqueezebox so am unable to get it playing there. Should it be necessary that I have to connect to mysqueezbox in order to play Napster?

When I am connected to mysqueezebox.com, however, I am unable to view my own music library stored on the NAS. Is there something wrong with my set up?

And lastly, why does my firmware update every time I log into mysqueezebox on the boom?

w3wilkes
2013-05-10, 21:56