PDA

View Full Version : Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?



Biro, Stephen G.
2004-11-21, 09:27
Dan/Mark:

Been running a few hours now without a reboot (max uptime this morning was
about 15 minutes)... this is now FANTASTIC!!

If I were to guess (not being able to see the firmware source) that when
running in wireless, the DHCP lease time issued from _SOME_
brands/models/firmware revs of APs is misinterpreted by the SB (for whatever
reason).... When the SB thinks the lease is up, it then reboots to request a
new IP and lease (since, I assume the dhcp renew will only run in the boot
process).

It would be interesting to somehow query what the sb thinks the lease time
is for the ip it received...might help in debugging and ultimately fixing
the problem?? Thoughts?

Thanks Dan/Mark

-s-

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Dan Goodinson
Sent: November 21, 2004 10:19 AM
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?

In a way, it is comforting to know that I'm not the only one with this
prob ;-)

Thanks for this info, and thanks again also to Mark for the suggestions
regarding static IP. I've been running static IP since my last message
and so far there have been no reboots. That is to say: for all the time
I've been listening to it, no reboots - and for those times when I've
been away my girlfriend claims that there were no reboots... If
correct, that's now over 2 hours without reboot. That is not bad going,
and it rarely goes this long without a crash.

Not going to know for sure whether or not the issue is cured until a
good few hours have passed.

I'm reluctant to try wiring it up to the ethernet port, since I don't
have any patch cables (or stereo cables) long enough. Broadband modem
is upstairs, so that is where the router is. The squeezebox is plugged
into my stereo - downstairs. if all else fails, I might try that just
so I know whether the issue is specific to wireless. Although kind of
sounds like Stephen has similar issue and wired works ok...

Will keep you posted regards the static IP.

Mark Bennett
2004-11-21, 09:47
OK, so from both of your results it looks like it's a DHCP problem.
Workaround is obviously to stick with a static IP address....

(BTW the wired option was only to try to eliminate wireless
interference, but it might be useful to isolate the problem to the
narrowest space possible. Is it possible to try this with DHCP
and wired - just as an experiment?)

However, it would be good to find out what this problem really is.
Later I will try my SB with a dynamic IP address and see how I get
on.

Let's also see if we can find some common denominators here:

Stephen - are you also using a USR8054, or some other access point?

Anyone else reading this thread - does anyone else have DHCP
working/not working over wireless?
If so which access points /firmware are you using?



On Sun, 2004-11-21 at 16:27, Biro, Stephen G. wrote:
> Dan/Mark:
>
> Been running a few hours now without a reboot (max uptime this morning was
> about 15 minutes)... this is now FANTASTIC!!
>
> If I were to guess (not being able to see the firmware source) that when
> running in wireless, the DHCP lease time issued from _SOME_
> brands/models/firmware revs of APs is misinterpreted by the SB (for whatever
> reason).... When the SB thinks the lease is up, it then reboots to request a
> new IP and lease (since, I assume the dhcp renew will only run in the boot
> process).
>
> It would be interesting to somehow query what the sb thinks the lease time
> is for the ip it received...might help in debugging and ultimately fixing
> the problem?? Thoughts?
>
> Thanks Dan/Mark
>
> -s-
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Dan Goodinson
> Sent: November 21, 2004 10:19 AM
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?
>
> In a way, it is comforting to know that I'm not the only one with this
> prob ;-)
>
> Thanks for this info, and thanks again also to Mark for the suggestions
> regarding static IP. I've been running static IP since my last message
> and so far there have been no reboots. That is to say: for all the time
> I've been listening to it, no reboots - and for those times when I've
> been away my girlfriend claims that there were no reboots... If
> correct, that's now over 2 hours without reboot. That is not bad going,
> and it rarely goes this long without a crash.
>
> Not going to know for sure whether or not the issue is cured until a
> good few hours have passed.
>
> I'm reluctant to try wiring it up to the ethernet port, since I don't
> have any patch cables (or stereo cables) long enough. Broadband modem
> is upstairs, so that is where the router is. The squeezebox is plugged
> into my stereo - downstairs. if all else fails, I might try that just
> so I know whether the issue is specific to wireless. Although kind of
> sounds like Stephen has similar issue and wired works ok...
>
> Will keep you posted regards the static IP.
>
>
>