PDA

View Full Version : Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?



Dan Goodinson
2004-11-21, 06:11
Thanks Mark - I'll give the SB a static IP and see what happens.

Just worked out, too, that the unknown MAC address that appears in the
router logs matches that of the router itself. I've set up a MAC filter
to only allow connection by the devices that are known to me. Is it
normal for the router to - in effect - try and connect to itself? Since
I enabled debug log messages (in addition to standard logs) I can see
that this happens very frequently; it happens in "batches" every 5 mins
or so, and then every 10 seconds for a few minutes). If it is "normal"
(and therefore safe) I'll allow this MAC address to connect to the
router too - e.g. I'll allow the router to connect to itself...

I'm using same firmware version as you (1.64). Currently using
slimserver v5.3.1, although I see that 5.4 is now available. I've seen
a few threads recently about issues with 5.4 - is it worth upgrading
yet?

Still running CH11 at the moment, while I waited fror feedback from
here... It's rebooted twice this morning: it's been in use for about 4
hours, so that makes once per couple of hours. In fact, that's not a
bad average when comparing to "normal" number of reboots.

I only have 1 SB. Going to set it up as a static IP just now and see if
it helps... Cheers for the suggestion.

Dan.

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Mark Bennett
Sent: 21 November 2004 12:44
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] Wireless interference? Or problem with SB?


Hi Dan,

as an extra data point, I'm also using a USR8054 Access Point (Firmware
1.64) together with a wireless squeezebox. My laptop uses the USR5410
PCMCIA card, and my wife's uses a Lucent card of some sort.

I'm running SlimServer 5.3.0 (one of the nightlies: 2004_09_23-1) but on
fast Linux box (FC2) with a single Squeezebox set to a static IP
address. The server is allocated an IP using DHCP, so it's the opposite
way round to yours.

My wireless signal strength is typically around 60%->70%, and I think I
live in a relatively clean environment from a wireless perspective. I'm
using wireless channel 11.

I have never seen the problem you're describing, although I do very
occasionally get a 1-2 second dropout in the music, maybe once every 20
hours of playback time.

Have you tried setting the SB(s) to static IP addresses as well?


On Sun, 2004-11-21 at 11:25, Dan Goodinson wrote:
> I've been trying to track this down for 2 weeks now, and am wondering
> what else I can do to identify the issue? I'm thinking even about a
> 3rd party site survey to find out if there is a lot of interference in

> this area. How can I get to the bottom of this?
>
> The problem:
>
> Problem is that intermittently the SB player reboots. It will be
> playing music, and then music stops and display goes dark. Then a
> couple of seconds later I see the splash screen, SB gets the IP
> address back again, and then it restarts the track. It's
> intermittent, but it happens at least once every 2 hours (generally as

> much as once an hour, sometimes a LOT more - e.g. 3 or 4 times per
> hour). Every time this happens, my router logs show SB request a new
> IP (it invariably gets the same IP each time).
>
> The software:
>
> I'm running slimserver 5.3.1. Slimserver is running on a Win2k
> (advanced server) sp4 box with various critical MS hotfixes applied.
> Server is more or less dedicated - there are no other apps running on
> it (except for the RAID and AV software). IIS and other related stuff

> are disabled, as is MS Auto Update. I'm running MacAfee virus Scan
> Enterprise v7, with on-access scan. No firewall installed. Server is

> 500MHZ (PIII Pentium) with 512MB RAM (Crucial branded) and 2GB swap.
> OS hard-drive is virtually empty - I have a 40GB drive, with around
> 35GB free space. My RAID1 array is for MP3s - it's currently 80GB,
> with around 35GB free.
>
> The hardware:
>
> The network consists of a USR 8054 'turbo' wireless router access
> point with most recent firmware update (as of 2 weeks ago when I first

> got SB, and had a real nightmare with reboots!). Router is 801.11g. I

> have 3 PCs, all with USR 125mbps ('g') cards all running latest
> drivers. I also have 2 laptops: 1 with a USR PCMCIA 125mbps ('g')
> card; my work laptop uses a built-in 11mbps 'b' wi-fi card. I very
> occasionally experience problems on my other network members - but
> this is very very infrequent. At worst, it is once a week - but
> generally a lot less than that (e.g. once a fortnight or less
> normally). When I say "problems" I mean that the remote client I use
> (e.g. remote desktop connection, terminal services client etc) loses
> connection with the machine it was talking to.
>
> Wireless cards all running latest drivers, with short pre-amble.
> Slimserver OS is running with no power management on the disks and
> I've disabled the VGA power-down and screensaver. I've also disabled
> BIOS power management. Server BIOS is the most recent possible
> version (motherboard is Intel SE440BX-2).
>
> My slimserver is running on a static IP. All PCs (and SB) are running

> as DHCP clients. I tried wi-fi channel 1 (that was a nightmare) and
> currently running channel 11 (better but still sometimes painful).
> Going to try channel 6 today. I enabled dynamic channel switching (to

> minimise interference) but this just switched to channel 1 at first
> sign of trouble: the switch to CH1 caused SB to reboot, plus CH1
> seemed to be far worse, judging by SB stability.
>
> No other wireless devices in the house, except the "wirefree
> doorbell". I unplugged this the other day, but there was no
> difference to SB reboot. The SB is unaffected when I press doorbell,
> so I don't reckon it is this. We DO have a microwave, but we never
> use it. We certainly haven't used it once in the 2 weeks since I've
> had the SB.
>
> The network signal:
>
> I have been monitoring the wi-fi signal using both USR utilities and
> "netstumbler". Signal strength at SB is around 80-85%. Signal
> strength at the server (where slimserver is installed) is around 65%,
> with signal quality at around 75%. No other networks detected. Signal

> strength is fairly constant (I'm running netstumbler on a laptop which

> is within 2 feet of SB, so I can get an idea of interference at that
> point). It seems that my NICs don't support "noise" measurements, so
> unable to tell the noise level in the wi-fi signal. There is no
> perceptible drop in average signal strength when I see SB reboot.
> Also, there is no perceptible jump in CPU usage or RAM usage on
> slimserver when a reboot occurs.
>
> My router logs show persistent attempts to connect to my network by an

> unknown device - it is being denied by my MAC filter. This is going
> to be generating a lot of noise, I guess, but so far none of these log

> entries coincide with a SB reboot. I currently have NO other security

> in place other than my MAC filter, although considering enabling it.
> The problem surely can't get much worse :(
>
> Any ideas on how I can further narrow this down? CH6 is the next
> step, but any advice gratefully received. The continuous SB reboots
> are driving me nuts :(
>
> Cheers!
> Dan.
>
>

Mark Bennett
2004-11-21, 07:13
On Sun, 2004-11-21 at 13:11, Dan Goodinson wrote:
> Thanks Mark - I'll give the SB a static IP and see what happens.
>
> Just worked out, too, that the unknown MAC address that appears in the
> router logs matches that of the router itself. I've set up a MAC filter
> to only allow connection by the devices that are known to me. Is it
> normal for the router to - in effect - try and connect to itself? Since
> I enabled debug log messages (in addition to standard logs) I can see
> that this happens very frequently; it happens in "batches" every 5 mins
> or so, and then every 10 seconds for a few minutes). If it is "normal"
> (and therefore safe) I'll allow this MAC address to connect to the
> router too - e.g. I'll allow the router to connect to itself...

I don't see this happening at all, and I do have the debug turned
on for the log. I also don't have the router explicitly listed in
my MAC filter list - I'm not having any problems with this setup.

Sounds like your router is behaving strangely to me, although how you
track down what's causing it I have no idea, other than USR support.

> I'm using same firmware version as you (1.64). Currently using
> slimserver v5.3.1, although I see that 5.4 is now available. I've seen
> a few threads recently about issues with 5.4 - is it worth upgrading
> yet?

I've just moved up to the official 5.4.0-1 release, but I haven't
done much testing. 5.3.1 was working fine for me, so I don't yet
know the benefit (or harm) of upgrading...

> Still running CH11 at the moment, while I waited fror feedback from
> here... It's rebooted twice this morning: it's been in use for about 4
> hours, so that makes once per couple of hours. In fact, that's not a
> bad average when comparing to "normal" number of reboots.

Sounds like it could be an interference problem of some sort if
moving channels makes a noticeable difference. Have you tried it
over ethernet cable to see if it makes a difference?

> I only have 1 SB. Going to set it up as a static IP just now and see if
> it helps... Cheers for the suggestion.

That's what we're here for :-)