PDA

View Full Version : wired to wireless problem



johnpaul
2004-11-20, 19:09
I am having the same problem.

If you look at the network settings, what does it report as your IP address
i.e. does it make sense in your network? I am finding that it is getting the
wrong IP address because the wireless is looking for the wrong gateway. With
the wired version setup you can set the gateway, but it doesn't seem that
you can set the gateway in the wireless version.

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of dean blackketter
Sent: Saturday, November 20, 2004 2:19 PM
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] wired to wireless problem

John,

This sounds like a firewall issue, since the network connectivity seems
to be fine.

-dean

On Nov 19, 2004, at 2:10 PM, John L Fjellstad wrote:

> I'm having problems with my new wired squeezebox going through a
> linksys ap.
>
> Basically, this is a my network setup:
> I have my Tivo and new wired squeezebox going through a hub that is
> connected to a linksys ap
> (http://www.linksys.com/products/product.asp?grid=33&scid=38&prid=558).
> The Tivo has no problems accessing the network, but the squeezebox
> can't
> seem to connect (won't get the ip address from the dhcp server, and
> can't find the slimserver). Even if I connect the squeezebox directly
> to the AP, it can't find the slimserver. Now, if I put a network cable
> from my wired network to the squeezebox, then everything works (but
> it's
> a pain, since my network is upstairs, and my living room with
> squeezebox
> is downstairs). I tried my old slimp3 device, and that had problems
> too,
> so it's not just the squeezebox
>
> I read in the archives, and this is the setup for at least one person
> who had this setup working. Just wondering if anyone had any idea of
> what the problem might be.
>
> Thanks,
> --
> John L. Fjellstad
> email: john-slimlist (AT) fjellstad (DOT) org Quis custodiet ipsos
> custodes
>

John L Fjellstad
2004-11-21, 00:16
On Sat, Nov 20, 2004 at 06:09:58PM -0800, johnpaul wrote:
>
> If you look at the network settings, what does it report as your IP address
> i.e. does it make sense in your network? I am finding that it is getting the
> wrong IP address because the wireless is looking for the wrong gateway. With
> the wired version setup you can set the gateway, but it doesn't seem that
> you can set the gateway in the wireless version.

Actually, I did notice that it didn't set the IP address correctly, so I
tried setting all the values manually, and it still didn't work.
Figured out what the problem is, though...

--
John L. Fjellstad
web: http://www.fjellstad.org/ Quis custodiet ipsos custodes