PDA

View Full Version : NEW Netgear ReadyNAS and Squeezebox



kouta
2013-03-27, 19:37
I am a computer novice but have had so many system failures that I've decided to get an NAS. I just read that Netgear has recently announced a new line of NAS products with a new operating system and GUI. I know that you can run Squeezebox on the old line but can anyone tell me whether the new products (model ReadyNAS 312) will run Squeezebox (LMS)? Appreciate that no one might have the product yet as it was announced 10 days ago but you might be able to look at the specs and tell me. Thank you for your help.

mherger
2013-03-27, 22:41
While the LMS itself most likely would work without a change, Netgear changed their SDK from a simple script based system to something Java based. Which means that there is no add-on for this line of ReadyNAS.

kouta
2013-03-27, 23:54
Which means that there is no add-on for this line of ReadyNAS.

Thanks for the reply....what does the above mean? (did say I was a novice).

mherger
2013-03-28, 00:37
Consider an add-on for the ReadyNAS what an app is for your smartphone: a software package which adds some functionality to your device. We've provided such add-ons for the older ReadyNAS product lines. A simple file you easily install on your NAS. But the latest ReadyNAS don't work with these packages any more.

The simple answer for you probably is: no, you can't run LMS on the latest ReadyNAS. But do you really need the latest? You might get a better deal on eg. a Duo V2 or NV V2 (the V2 is important!).

cparker
2013-03-28, 12:54
Unless you particularly want a ReadyNAS I would recommend looking at the Synology instead. I've used both and the ReadyNAS (NV+) was unreliable, its supposed to be resilient but if there was a network blip it would "disappear" off the network, you had to restart it, to awaken the network port again. If there was a disk problem such as a partially failing disk instead of just dropping the disk, it would fail to boot up with no error messages until you manually pulled one disk out at a time and found the one that was broken. Software updates were non-existent.

The Synology has a far better graphical GUI, has very regular software updates and also runs LMS. I wouldnt buy a ReadyNAS again.

kouta
2013-03-28, 15:23
Thank you both for your replies. The reason I would prefer the 'latest' is twofold. Firstly, it seems from the many posts that I've read about NAS and squeezebox, the more memory and faster processor you have the better perfomance you will get. The new ReadyNAS comes with 2GB and a dual core 2.1ghz processor. Now this may be complete overkill for my current needs but it seems to me that getting the latest now gives me a little 'future proofing'. I'm not one to turn over my gear every two years so it makes sense to get the latest and keep it longer. Secondly, it also means that I will still get support if needed rather than buying an older line that is phased out and no longer supported. I realise I will be paying more and there will be cheaper solutions that provide the same outcome but as I said I dont want to get something now and find in 18 months I have to upgrade because my needs have changed and my 'old' NAS doesnt cut it anymore. I've already read a few posts (not on this site) of people wanting to upgrade their NAS to the new line because they have 'outgrown' their existing gear.

However, its all somewhat redundant if Squeezebox doesnt run on it. Is there a chance that someone will provide an 'add on' for it?

Pascal Hibon
2013-03-31, 01:28
Thank you both for your replies. The reason I would prefer the 'latest' is twofold. Firstly, it seems from the many posts that I've read about NAS and squeezebox, the more memory and faster processor you have the better perfomance you will get. The new ReadyNAS comes with 2GB and a dual core 2.1ghz processor. Now this may be complete overkill for my current needs but it seems to me that getting the latest now gives me a little 'future proofing'. I'm not one to turn over my gear every two years so it makes sense to get the latest and keep it longer. Secondly, it also means that I will still get support if needed rather than buying an older line that is phased out and no longer supported. I realise I will be paying more and there will be cheaper solutions that provide the same outcome but as I said I dont want to get something now and find in 18 months I have to upgrade because my needs have changed and my 'old' NAS doesnt cut it anymore. I've already read a few posts (not on this site) of people wanting to upgrade their NAS to the new line because they have 'outgrown' their existing gear.

However, its all somewhat redundant if Squeezebox doesnt run on it. Is there a chance that someone will provide an 'add on' for it?

Just make sure you select a NAS with an x86 processor. I have run LMS on both a ReadyNAS NV+ and a NVX. While LMS runs fine on both models, the NVX with an x86 processor is very fast. The performance difference of LMS on both models is very noticeable.
Never had one issue with ReadyNAS and I would stick with these. They are very well build, are packed with wonderful features and there is great support through their forums. Yes the frontview pages donít look too slick but that is not important for a NAS. The performance, built quality and feature set is whatís important. You canít go wrong with ReadyNAS.
For now, I would get the ULTRA series. LMS is supported on these and you might get a good deal on it. Donít worry about support; netgear has committed themselves to continue support and even bug fixes if required on these models.

Pascal Hibon
2013-03-31, 01:51
Just read another thread on this topic at the ReadyNAS forum. It seems that there is very little effort required in order to get LMS running on their new product range. The 100 series is ARM based, just as the Duo V2, and the 200 and 300 series are x86 based, just like the NVX / PRO / ULTRA series.
Logitech only needs to sign up to the ReadyNAS developer program: https://developer.netgear.com/
I understand that requires some efforts from Logitech but I do hope theyíll do it.

kouta
2013-03-31, 03:09
I understand that requires some efforts from Logitech but I do hope theyíll do it.

I have my doubts. I assume 'mherger' who first replied to my inital post works for Logitech. And although he refers to 'A simple file you easily install on your NAS' he certainly hasnt provided any indication that they will provide this file. Maybe if we get enough people to ask they might. Or we can see if there are other experts on the forum who know how to do it. I would be happy to pay a small fee if someone came up with something that was guaranteed to work.

garym
2013-03-31, 05:39
I have my doubts. I assume 'mherger' who first replied to my inital post works for Logitech.

yes he does work for logitech as a developer. I have my doubts too. They've shut down the squeezebox line. LMS only needed for the squeezebox line, so why do additional work for a dead product? And there is a UE Smart Radio that has a similar server to LMS, but there they only do versions for Windows or Mac (not linux, and the readynas units are running linux). I replaced my readynas with a Vortexbox years ago and couldn't be happier. Very fast and powerful, and serves as my music server, video server, and file server for anything in my local network. And much more open for additions, modifications, etc. readynas tends to be very closed to changes by the user.

sander
2013-03-31, 16:10
Well, I would say as a longtime fan of both Readynas and Squeezebox, neither is for the true computer novice, but both are are excellent, if sadly on the road to extinction in their current form.

If you really want a Readynas I would recommend this model:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822122086&cm_mmc=AFC-dealnews-_-NA-_-NA-_-22-122-086

Its probably won't receive many (any?) firmware updates going forward but can hold more storage than you will probably ever need and can be upgraded piecemeal. It has a low end core 2 processor with up to 1 GB of RAM by default, and since its x86 you can run MusicIP.

You can run any version of Squeeze*/LMS on it.

mherger
2013-04-03, 00:01
If anyone wanted to give the new SDK a try, I'd be happy to help. As I mentioned before I'm pretty confident LMS itself would run easily. It's all about the packaging, which afaict requires some Java and XML skills.

kouta
2013-04-03, 03:21
If anyone wanted to give the new SDK a try, I'd be happy to help. As I mentioned before I'm pretty confident LMS itself would run easily. It's all about the packaging, which afaict requires some Java and XML skills.

Michael, thanks, I and I'm sure countless others appreciate your offer of help. Unfortunately I have no skills in that area so am of no use but as mentioned before would be prepared to pay a reasonable fee to anyone who put the 'add on' together. You're probably aware of the senior members on this site with the relevant skills and interest. Should we start another thread asking for programmers or hope they see this and respond?

Heuer
2013-04-06, 08:48
I have a ReadyNAS NV and a ReadyNAS Ultra 4+ and they are both more than capable of running LMS. The Ultra is quicker responding but other than that they both work just fine and I have a 17,000 song FLAC library, two SB3's and a Transporter. At the moment the Ultra is streaming 1080p video to a HTPC, running two SB3's and having Norton Ghost back up a PC without a stutter. The Ultra 4+ (x86) would be my choice although I understand Netgear are shipping new ones with the new OS as standard so you need to be quick and find a NOS one before they run out. As for support I am still getting updates on my NV and that was bought in 2004. ReadyNAS/Netgear do not withdraw support for legacy products in my experience.

gregb
2013-04-13, 10:03
The released Logitech Media Server package and binaries for x86 won't directly run on the new OS and new processor for ReadyNAS 516. I'm looking to stream music to MANY squeezeboxes from ReadyNAS series.
Has anybody rebuilt LMS package and binaries for new ReadyNAS OS6 and new processor?

kouta
2013-04-13, 15:54
Has anybody rebuilt LMS package and binaries for new ReadyNAS OS6 and new processor?

I think you might be referring to the 'add on' that 'Mherger' from Logitech has mentioned in his post. If so, we need someone with the appropriate skills (Java and XML?) to make a start and mherger said he will help. Should we start a new thread asking for people with the appropriate skills?

gregb
2013-04-13, 18:49
> why do additional work for a dead product?
Because there are many ten-thousands+ users with ReadyNAS running LMS.

> Should we start a new thread asking for people with the appropriate skills?
Yes! for all new ReadyNAS targets (1xx, 3xx, 5xx series).

UnterDenLinden
2013-04-29, 18:21
I would like to add my vote to the necessary software adjustments of the latest LMS for use as add-on for the latest readynas models. If somebody with the necessary software/programming skills would be willing to take on this task I would be willing to financially contribute (unfortunately, I don't have any programming skills). Also, the LMS could probably be posted on the genie add-on list and could be sold for some moderate income for the developer (?). Hope, other participants in this forum will also support this effort (perhaps with some $$).

Pascal Hibon
2013-04-29, 22:11
There is of course another option. You could go for the new ReadyNAS products and use a Wandboard to run LMS. This is not a one box solution but the Wandboard is quite a small box and you get to enjoy the great new features of the new ReadyNAS lineup. I tried LMS on the Wandboard yesterday and it is very fast. You can find more about this project over at the Linux section of this forum http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?98544-Community-Squeeze-OS-R3
It can even be used as a Squeezebox.

garym
2013-04-30, 05:48
or use a headless Vortexbox Appliance. I replaced my readynas with one of these and couldn't be happier. Essentially a much more powerful NAS that has certain music/video streaming applications built in to a fedora linux base. I use it to stream music, video, and to share/store files on my network.

Otto-Wilhelm
2013-04-30, 14:08
I can also recommend a Synology NAS. I have a DS 1511+ which is very fast and gives a very good responsiveness for LMS. The current DS 1512+ presumably is even faster.

morthan
2013-06-11, 18:57
I just found this thread over at the Netgear readynas forum.
http://www.readynas.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=61&t=70937
Can anyone confirm that this is what we are looking for to run LMS on the new Netgear NAS line based on OS6?

mherger
2013-06-11, 22:23
> I just found this thread over at the Netgear readynas forum.
> http://www.readynas.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=61&t=70937
> Can anyone confirm that this is what we are looking for to run LMS on
> the new Netgear NAS line based on OS6?

Lack of hardware I didn't test this, but yes, this sounds very much like
what you need.

--

Michael

morthan
2013-06-12, 00:17
> I just found this thread over at the Netgear readynas forum.
> http://www.readynas.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=61&t=70937
> Can anyone confirm that this is what we are looking for to run LMS on
> the new Netgear NAS line based on OS6?

Lack of hardware I didn't test this, but yes, this sounds very much like
what you need.

--

Michael

thanks Michael. I see that you had a bit of a 'chat' with those guys over at the netgear forum. Do you know them and are there any risks in using their add on? ie can we use it with some confidence?

mherger
2013-06-12, 03:15
> thanks Michael. I see that you had a bit of a 'chat' with those guys. Do
> you know them and are there any risks in using their add on?

No, I don't know them. And yes, there's always a risk to break something
when changing a running system. I don't know that implementation,
therefore I can't say how big this risk is. Ask them :-).

--

Michael

morthan
2013-06-14, 05:57
I've got the new hardware (ReadyNAS 312 with OS6) and have found this Wiki (Logitech Media Server on ReadyNAS http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Squeezebox_Server_on_ReadyNAS). Question is what parts of this do I follow given that the I have the new model which is not listed here? Understand I need the add on that has been written for it and is over at the Netgear forum. Any advice would be appreciated.
(I am a complete novice so please base any advice at a level that a 4 year old would understand). Thank you.

mherger
2013-06-14, 06:10
> I've got the new hardware (ReadyNAS 312 with OS6) and have found this
> Wiki (Logitech Media Server on ReadyNAS
> http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Squeezebox_Server_on_ReadyNAS).
> Question is what parts of this do I follow given that the I have the new
> model which is not listed here?

Ignore that article. Follow instructions given in the netgear forums.

> Understand I need the add on that has
> been written for it and is over at the Netgear forum. Any advice would
> be appreciated.

There's a readme file or similar in their addon folder.

--

Michael