PDA

View Full Version : Syncing wired SB3 with Powerline Homeplug SB3



rbl
2013-03-18, 09:47
Hi - I currently have my main SB3 wired in to the network, and a secondary SB3 connected wirelessly with approx 60% signal strength. It all works and syncs very well until I turn the microwave on whereupon the whole things stops, unless I turn the 2nd SB3 off. Clearly interference from the microwave. Would a Homeplug Powerline solve the problem? And would they still sync properly or is there likely to be a delay between them?

ajkidle
2013-03-18, 10:01
I run a mixed network of traditional ethernet, powerline ethernet, and WiFi across my various players and they sync fine. From my experience, Powerline provides a more reliable connection than WiFi, albeit slower. That said, for the purposes of streaming audio, Powerline is plenty fast enough.

aubuti
2013-03-18, 10:21
Homeplug should work reliably for you as long as the Homeplug adapters on the router and the 2nd SB3 are on the same electrical circuit, and your wiring doesn't have any oddities.

And speaking of oddities, you may want to think about replacing that microwave, because it shouldn't be giving off so much interference as to bring down your wifi.

chill
2013-03-18, 11:08
And speaking of oddities, you may want to think about replacing that microwave, because it shouldn't be giving off so much interference as to bring down your wifi.

I think that depends on the proximity of the Squeezebox to the microwave. I have a fairly newish Panasonic microwave, and my Boom in the same kitchen often drops out while the microwave is on. The microwave isn't killing the wifi in the whole house, but since the Boom is often synced with other players, when it stops, they all do. I've often thought about switching it to a homeplug connection to resolve this.

aubuti
2013-03-18, 11:49
I think that depends on the proximity of the Squeezebox to the microwave. I have a fairly newish Panasonic microwave, and my Boom in the same kitchen often drops out while the microwave is on. The microwave isn't killing the wifi in the whole house, but since the Boom is often synced with other players, when it stops, they all do. I've often thought about switching it to a homeplug connection to resolve this.
One of my Duet Controllers lives about 15cm (6 inches) from my fairly newish GE microwave, and never has a hiccup. But it's also moving a lot less data than a regular player, so maybe that's the difference, or at least part of it. But my extra access point that is in constant use is only about 1 meter from the microwave and it doesn't seem to be affected either. Now I'm more curious, so I'll bring my Radio down and sit it next to the microwave for a test.

chill
2013-03-18, 12:00
One of my Duet Controllers lives about 15cm (6 inches) from my fairly newish GE microwave, and never has a hiccup. But it's also moving a lot less data than a regular player, so maybe that's the difference, or at least part of it. But my extra access point that is in constant use is only about 1 meter from the microwave and it doesn't seem to be affected either. Now I'm more curious, so I'll bring my Radio down and sit it next to the microwave for a test.

I don't think the Controller is a useful indication, because of the amount of data that's moved, as you say. Continuous streaming of high rate data is a sterner test - the buffer will hold a much longer sample of MP3 data than FLAC data - but whatever format you stream you're going to have to run the microwave for a while before the first dropout in playback occurs.

I must admit, your access point experience is harder to dismiss though :) I'll be interested to hear how you get on with the Radio.

rbl
2013-03-18, 12:32
And speaking of oddities, you may want to think about replacing that microwave, because it shouldn't be giving off so much interference as to bring down your wifi.


It is a brand new Siemens combi microwave. It is sitting about 5m from the router, and the wireless SB3 is about 5m too in a slightly direction. The server is wired in. I am typically listening to BBC radio which is hardly demanding. I had exactly the same problem with an old Panasonic microwave too, and am slightly surprised the newer microwave isn't screened better!

GeeJay
2013-03-18, 20:05
My own experience with powerline adapters is mixed. Your success will depend on the wiring in your house. They tend to work well if the sending and receiving devices are on the same circuit, but may not work as well otherwise. I also found that I had buffering problems if someone was running other appliances in the house that pulled a lot of power. If my wife was on the treadmill while I was trying to listen to music, forget about the music for awhile!

I still use my netgear adapters successfully for other network applications, but I eventually gave up on them as a consistently reliable means of streaming music. But as I said at the outset, your experience may be quite different since everyone's operating environment is unique.

You might start off as I did, and purchase a few used adapters off the Internet. If they work for you, invest in new ones and keep the used ones as backups.

simbo
2013-03-19, 04:51
The original UK power supply that came with the original SB3 (Unifive) is incredibly noisy (EMI-wise, not audibly) and lowers the tolerance of a powerline network considerably (YMMV). I personally found plugging the SB3 into a surge-protected 4-gang was the best way of reducing noise.

reinholdk
2013-03-19, 05:30
As far as I know, disturbances from microwave ovens do occur only in the 2.4GHz range of a WLAN (although I'm not an expert here). So if your WLAN router offers 5GHz as well, you could place a 802.11n WLAN-Ethernet adapter near your squeezebox and connect it to the adapter to make it communicate via a channel in the 5GHz range.

Jeff52
2013-03-19, 05:31
Hi - I currently have my main SB3 wired in to the network, and a secondary SB3 connected wirelessly with approx 60% signal strength. It all works and syncs very well until I turn the microwave on whereupon the whole things stops, unless I turn the 2nd SB3 off. Clearly interference from the microwave. Would a Homeplug Powerline solve the problem? And would they still sync properly or is there likely to be a delay between them?

I use to have the same problem. A change of wireless channel solved the problem.

rbl
2013-03-19, 11:25
I use to have the same problem. A change of wireless channel solved the problem.

Bingo - problem solved! Happy days!