PDA

View Full Version : Cannot get .ASX files to work in 5.4.0 on Win2K



Phil Fernandez
2004-11-18, 23:29
OK, this is going to sound really weird, but I think it's real. I was
having this same problem. My config: Server 5.4.0, XP Pro SP2, Slip3,
SoftSqueeze.

I was able to get WMA (.ASX, etc.) to play on SoftSqueeze just fine, but
not make any sound on the Slimp3. I did a day and a half of various
debugging, to no end.

But then I decided to check into the convert.conf file to see if
something might be wrong there with the pipe for WMA transcoding with
Lame. For grins, I edited the convert.conf file to delete the Lame parm
"-x" (biteswap), and tried to play on my Slip3. Voila: Noise!

So obviously we neded the -x. I put it back in, restarted the server,
and then, really, voila: WMA streaming works with transcoding!

I diffed the original convert.conf and my final edited version.
Identical. But somehow editing the convert.conf fixed the problem for
me. I don't understand why this would be. Is there a chance that the
server somehow caches the convert.conf settings, and that the fact that
I edited the file caused it to flush/reload cache? Something of that
sort?

pmf

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Vidur
Apparao
Sent: Thursday, November 18, 2004 9:20 AM
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] Cannot get .ASX files to work in 5.4.0 on Win2K



John,

The problem is that WMA support works by transcoding. Out of the box, we

are able to transcode to WAV or AIF (uncompressed PCM output), which is
supported by Squeezebox, but not SliMP3. You should be able to get your
stations playing if you install LAME. This will enable us to transcode
to MP3. See
http://www.slimdevices.com/su_faq.html#troubleshooting-aacwireless for
information about getting LAME.

--Vidur

John Hall wrote:

>Hello,
>
>Just installed the new 5.4.0 slim server on Win 2k (using an SliMP3 box

>rather than a Squeezebox). Not having any luck getting the newly
>supported .ASX stream formats to work. I'm using the Internet Radio URL

>text box within the main server console to try and run the stations.
>Yes, the firmware updater has been run.
>
>e.g., http://www.ministryofsound.com/asx/radio/mosradio.asx
>
>This just returns a javascript error - parent.status.location is null
>or not an object
>
>I've tried this for a few different stations - no luck.
>
>The playlist shows the URL, but the status is stopped. On the slimpey
>itself if I click play on the URL it almost immediately says 'stopped'
>after a nanosecond attempt to connect.
>
>Any ideas?
>
>cheers,
>John
>
>
>

Stuart
2004-11-19, 03:24
Since updating to 5.4, it seems really slow. Navigating though the
squeezbox menus is not as snappy as it was, but worse is the time it
takes to Browse Folders. I haven't timed it, but its probably not an
exaggeration to say it's taking roughly twice as long. CPU usage seems
the same (Gentoo Linux).

Also, i couldn't get my .ogg files to play. I had to edit the
convert.conf file, and add "1" to the "-R" parameter. I had the same
problem with 5.3 too.

ogg wav * *
[oggdec] -Q -o - -R 1 $FILE$

kdf
2004-11-19, 03:38
Quoting Stuart <stuart (AT) stu (DOT) org.uk>:

> Since updating to 5.4, it seems really slow. Navigating though the
> squeezbox menus is not as snappy as it was, but worse is the time it
> takes to Browse Folders. I haven't timed it, but its probably not an
> exaggeration to say it's taking roughly twice as long. CPU usage seems
> the same (Gentoo Linux).
>

if you haven't been keeping up with nightly builds, there will be enough changes
to force a full rescan. It is possible that this will cause your system to
react slower for some length of time until you allow the server to run a
complete scan.

> Also, i couldn't get my .ogg files to play. I had to edit the
> convert.conf file, and add "1" to the "-R" parameter. I had the same
> problem with 5.3 too.
>
> ogg wav * *
> [oggdec] -Q -o - -R 1 $FILE$
>\
ogg 1.0 and ogg 1.1 forced this change in params. make sure you dont have an
old copy of the binary lingering on your system. the current convert.conf is
correct for the most recent version of ogg.

-kdf

Stuart
2004-11-19, 04:24
> if you haven't been keeping up with nightly builds, there will be enough changes
> to force a full rescan. It is possible that this will cause your system to
> react slower for some length of time until you allow the server to run a
> complete scan.

I waited for the scan to complete, before using the Squeezebox, so it's
not that. Generally, everything seems slower.

Don't know if it's relevant, but I have noticed that the web interface
says my Squeezebox is on 192.168.0.1, but it's on 192.168.0.100 (and I
can ping it). 192.168.0.1 is my router.

Stuart.