PDA

View Full Version : SB2 remote stopped working



gregklanderman
2013-01-26, 11:20
Any advice on debugging an SB2 remote that just stopped working? The remotes from my SB1 and Boom work on the SB2, have replaced batteries, but getting nothing with the SB2 remote. Will the case pop open without breaking anything if I pry at the seam?

thanks
Greg

tcutting
2013-01-26, 12:05
I've never taken one apart, but I know a common failure on SB3 remotes is the connection to the IR LED. Usually fixable by reflowing the solder connection. I imagine the SB2 has the same remote.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

Recoveryone
2013-01-27, 08:57
If your not the DIY type, you can get one off ebay for less than $20.00

gregklanderman
2013-01-27, 10:35
I've never taken one apart, but I know a common failure on SB3 remotes is the connection to the IR LED. Usually fixable by reflowing the solder connection. I imagine the SB2 has the same remote.

Perfect, just popped it apart, resoldered the IR LED, and it's fixed. And only broke 3 clips popping it apart.

thanks,
Greg

roscored1000
2015-01-07, 21:47
Perfect, just popped it apart, resoldered the IR LED, and it's fixed. And only broke 3 clips popping it apart.

thanks,
Greg

thanks for posting this I did a little basic heating of my old iron and touched the contacts and hey presto it works.
Thanks Greg saved me a lot of running around and improvising. cheers