PDA

View Full Version : RSS



David Jameson
2004-11-18, 07:50
Having RSS is nice but it's not much good if it only displays one headline
and I have to manually scroll to see other headlines.

It should scroll automatically (continuously) through ALL headines in the
selected feed (or feeds if you could group them). You could then use the
remote to interrupt if you wanted to see more information about a particular
headline.


David Jameson

--
_______

Craig Eales
2004-11-18, 08:24
If you navigate to the plugin then you have to scroll via the remote -
but if you set it as your screen saver (player settings) then it
scrolls when the screen saver kicks in.

CE

On Thu, 18 Nov 2004 10:02:42 -0500, Christopher Jacob
<chris (AT) jacob-solutions (DOT) com> wrote:
>
>
>
>
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com [mailto:discuss-
> > bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of David Jameson
> > Sent: Thursday, November 18, 2004 9:51 AM
> > To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> > Subject: [slim] RSS
> >
> > Having RSS is nice but it's not much good if it only displays one headline
> > and I have to manually scroll to see other headlines.
> >
> > It should scroll automatically (continuously) through ALL headines in the
> > selected feed (or feeds if you could group them). You could then use the
> > remote to interrupt if you wanted to see more information about a
> > particular
> > headline.
>
> Ummm..... that's how mine works.... Are you sure your server isn't
> rescanning or something equally as processor intensive?
>
> ~c
>
>
>
>
> >
> >
> > David Jameson
> >
> > --
> > _______
> >
> >
> >
> >

Danny Rego
2004-11-18, 08:47
What might be nice for all screen savers is the ability to show the "now
playing" info every now and then. It would be ideal for the RSS ticker
though....for example... it could show HEADLINE.....pause.......NOW
PLAYING.......pause........NEXT HEADLINE......pause.....something like
that!?

While I'm on it...in the NOW PLAYING, there should be an option for it to
cycle through song information. For example, now, you can show "SONG
(ALBUM - ARTIST)", but instead, how about an option to show
SONG.........pause.......ALBUM..........pause..... ...ARTIST!??!!

I'm probably going to have a look into doing that myself, but I've got alot
on the go, and probably won't be able to get to it for a bit.

Just thought I'd spew some thoughts after a little messing around with the
new software last night.

Danny Rego




----- Original Message -----
From: "Craig Eales" <craig.eales (AT) gmail (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Thursday, November 18, 2004 10:24 AM
Subject: [slim] RSS


> If you navigate to the plugin then you have to scroll via the remote -
> but if you set it as your screen saver (player settings) then it
> scrolls when the screen saver kicks in.
>
> CE
>
> On Thu, 18 Nov 2004 10:02:42 -0500, Christopher Jacob
> <chris (AT) jacob-solutions (DOT) com> wrote:
>>
>>
>>
>>
>> > -----Original Message-----
>> > From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com [mailto:discuss-
>> > bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of David Jameson
>> > Sent: Thursday, November 18, 2004 9:51 AM
>> > To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
>> > Subject: [slim] RSS
>> >
>> > Having RSS is nice but it's not much good if it only displays one
>> > headline
>> > and I have to manually scroll to see other headlines.
>> >
>> > It should scroll automatically (continuously) through ALL headines in
>> > the
>> > selected feed (or feeds if you could group them). You could then use
>> > the
>> > remote to interrupt if you wanted to see more information about a
>> > particular
>> > headline.
>>
>> Ummm..... that's how mine works.... Are you sure your server isn't
>> rescanning or something equally as processor intensive?
>>
>> ~c
>>
>>
>>
>>
>> >
>> >
>> > David Jameson
>> >
>> > --
>> > _______
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> >

David Jameson
2004-11-18, 19:23
Well, that should be very easy - just needs SlimServer to GENERATE its own
RSS feed with the appropriate information :-)


D

"Danny Rego" <danny (AT) rego (DOT) com> wrote in message
news:00ce01c4cd85$f188df00$6e0a000a (AT) dregowxp (DOT) ..
> What might be nice for all screen savers is the ability to show the "now
> playing" info every now and then. It would be ideal for the RSS ticker
> though....for example... it could show HEADLINE.....pause.......NOW
> PLAYING.......pause........NEXT HEADLINE......pause.....something like
> that!?
>
> While I'm on it...in the NOW PLAYING, there should be an option for it to
> cycle through song information. For example, now, you can show "SONG
> (ALBUM - ARTIST)", but instead, how about an option to show
> SONG.........pause.......ALBUM..........pause..... ...ARTIST!??!!
>
> I'm probably going to have a look into doing that myself, but I've got
> alot on the go, and probably won't be able to get to it for a bit.
>
> Just thought I'd spew some thoughts after a little messing around with the
> new software last night.
>
> Danny Rego
>
>
>
>
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "Craig Eales" <craig.eales (AT) gmail (DOT) com>
> To: "Slim Devices Discussion"
> <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Sent: Thursday, November 18, 2004 10:24 AM
> Subject: [slim] RSS
>
>
>> If you navigate to the plugin then you have to scroll via the remote -
>> but if you set it as your screen saver (player settings) then it
>> scrolls when the screen saver kicks in.
>>
>> CE
>>
>> On Thu, 18 Nov 2004 10:02:42 -0500, Christopher Jacob
>> <chris (AT) jacob-solutions (DOT) com> wrote:
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> > -----Original Message-----
>>> > From:
>>> > discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
>>> > [mailto:discuss-
>>> > bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf
>>> > Of David Jameson
>>> > Sent: Thursday, November 18, 2004 9:51 AM
>>> > To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
>>> > Subject: [slim] RSS
>>> >
>>> > Having RSS is nice but it's not much good if it only displays one
>>> > headline
>>> > and I have to manually scroll to see other headlines.
>>> >
>>> > It should scroll automatically (continuously) through ALL headines in
>>> > the
>>> > selected feed (or feeds if you could group them). You could then use
>>> > the
>>> > remote to interrupt if you wanted to see more information about a
>>> > particular
>>> > headline.
>>>
>>> Ummm..... that's how mine works.... Are you sure your server isn't
>>> rescanning or something equally as processor intensive?
>>>
>>> ~c
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> >
>>> >
>>> > David Jameson
>>> >
>>> > --
>>> > _______
>>> >
>>> >
>>> >
>>> >

David Jameson
2004-11-18, 19:27
Nice -that works
THanks

D
"Craig Eales" <craig.eales (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote in
message news:dc15a8f104111807241996b385 (AT) mail (DOT) gmail.com...
> If you navigate to the plugin then you have to scroll via the remote -
> but if you set it as your screen saver (player settings) then it
> scrolls when the screen saver kicks in.
>
> CE
>
> On Thu, 18 Nov 2004 10:02:42 -0500, Christopher Jacob
> <chris (AT) jacob-solutions (DOT) com> wrote:
>>
>>
>>
>>
>> > -----Original Message-----
>> > From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
>> > [mailto:discuss-
>> > bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of
>> > David Jameson
>> > Sent: Thursday, November 18, 2004 9:51 AM
>> > To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
>> > Subject: [slim] RSS
>> >
>> > Having RSS is nice but it's not much good if it only displays one
>> > headline
>> > and I have to manually scroll to see other headlines.
>> >
>> > It should scroll automatically (continuously) through ALL headines in
>> > the
>> > selected feed (or feeds if you could group them). You could then use
>> > the
>> > remote to interrupt if you wanted to see more information about a
>> > particular
>> > headline.
>>
>> Ummm..... that's how mine works.... Are you sure your server isn't
>> rescanning or something equally as processor intensive?
>>
>> ~c
>>
>>
>>
>>
>> >
>> >
>> > David Jameson
>> >
>> > --
>> > _______
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> >