PDA

View Full Version : [ANNOUNCE] AutoSqueeze (Android Tasker/Locale plugin)



cuberob
2012-12-03, 05:16
Hi all,

If you are into Android, Music and Automating stuff you might have heard of the apps Tasker or Locale for android. With these apps you can let your phone automatically do all sorts of things (e.g. turn on wifi when around home). Well this got me thinking, how awesome would it be if instead of turning on wifi, I could automatically turn on my Squeezebox Boom when I get home!

So I went looking for a plugin but there was nothing to be found on the android market, this is when i started experimenting and this is what I eventually came up with: AutoSqueeze! (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.cuberob.autosqueeze&feature=search_result#?t=W251bGwsMSwyLDEsImNvbS5jd WJlcm9iLmF1dG9zcXVlZXplIl0.)

It Let's you do just that!
Set up Tasker to perform any of the supported commands under your defined condition (e.g. when connected to wifi @ home between 10am and 8pm, press play on player X).

140231402414025

You can also use Tasker to create so-called "scenes" as seen in the third screenshot through the link. You can then place these on your desktop as a widget and in this way have quick access to a players most used controls. (These "scenes" are completely customizable which is awesome but keep in mind that because of this it might also take you some time to set them up)

Anyway, hope some of you like it! It's in the market for 0,99.
That said, I'm not a professional developer (yet :) ) by any means, but if you experience any bugs or would like to see a feature (command) implemented, let me know and I'll give it a shot!

**Requires Tasker (Recommended, scene support) (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=net.dinglisch.android.taskerm&feature=search_result#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDEsIm5ldC5ka W5nbGlzY2guYW5kcm9pZC50YXNrZXJtIl0.) or Locale (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.twofortyfouram.locale&feature=search_result#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDEsImNvbS50d 29mb3J0eWZvdXJhbS5sb2NhbGUiXQ..) to function! And does not work with Squeezeboxes only connected to mysqueezebox.com

bluegaspode
2012-12-03, 08:30
wow - this is a very cool idea indeed.
To those who automate stuff with Tasker: what other usecase than 'come home, turn on' could be useful additions to the Squeezebox experience?

Jaca
2012-12-03, 11:41
wow - this is a very cool idea indeed.
To those who automate stuff with Tasker: what other usecase than 'come home, turn on' could be useful additions to the Squeezebox experience?

LOL I'm doing exactly the same.. squeezebox automation with tasker..

My main object was to bypass build in alarm so I can avoid funky bassline bug :)

it is really easy to get this going with Tasker and HTTP Get...
I'm trying to also sync radios before turning on my favorite station plus fade in... which is more difficult. split variable etc to get some info back from server....

I have tested 'auto play when got home' function.. and it worked spot on.. its really great app tasker!! thanks db122 for pointin me in that direction!

Jaca
2012-12-03, 11:45
ohh I have tried to use INTENT which would be much easier to work with.. I can imagine... but failed to get anything to/from LMS....
That's why I had to go to HTTP get/post... direction...

If you found a way to communicate with LMS better and don't mind sharing it would be great. cheers!

Jaca
2012-12-03, 11:47
ohh I have tried to use INTENT which would be much easier to work with.. I can imagine... but failed to get anything to/from LMS....
That's why I had to go to HTTP get/post... direction...

If you found a way to communicate with LMS better and don't mind sharing it would be great. cheers!

Just seen your printscreen and can see you did it properly with CLI as you are using 9090...
but I can see you selling it so.... I probably shouldn't ask about any tips :)

cuberob
2012-12-03, 13:15
Thanks for the interest!

@bluegaspode I'm also still thinking about more use cases, so tips are very welcome!
Currently I'm planning on adding "mute" to the possible commands, this way you can mute the sound when you receive a call or something, I know Squeeze Controller also does this, but this would work even without squeeze controller running.
You can currently also do this by using the "set volume" command but then you don't know exactly (or automatically) to which volume level you should restore after your call is over.
(oh and I guess your the developer of SqueezePad? Awesome app, use it daily :) )

And @jaca yeah i'm indeed using the CommandLineInterface to communicate with the server.
Don't mind giving tips though! But I'm using my own code to send messages to the server so I wouldn't know how to do that with "just" tasker.
You can however, find all possible commands when you click help on the LMS web interface (lower left corner).

As for the selling part, a little (financial ;)) appreciation for your work is always welcome, hope to earn my Google publisher registration fee back! :D

Jaca
2012-12-03, 13:28
..You can however, find all possible commands when you click help on the LMS web interface (lower left corner)...

I'm aware of help section that's where I got all commands, thanks. My problem is to use tasker to communicate LMS at 9090.
I can send command from pc using telnet, but just can't make it work within tasker...
Only way I managed to send commands is HTTP Get/Post.. hmm in fact I only used Get... but decoding info back from LMS is bit tricky and I feel like this is ugly way to go about things...
Well it works but... I know it could be done better.....


...Don't mind giving tips though! But I'm using my own code to send messages to the server...

That's very interesting... I'm complete Tasker/Android novice and wouldn't mind getting some tips ;) Cheers!

indifference_engine
2013-06-24, 03:01
Hi,

I have just discovered AutoSqueeze and am loving it. I would like to see discrete pause/unpause commands added to it so that I can explicitly pause my music when I get a call. The current pause command is a toggle so can be problematic if the player is already paused when a call comes in, resulting in the player unpausing (which is exactly what I don't want!). Currently I use mute/unmute but that does mean I miss bits which can be annoying if I am listening to a podcast so explicit pause/unpause would be great.

Cheers,
indiff.

cuberob
2013-06-24, 06:36
Hi,

I have just discovered AutoSqueeze and am loving it. I would like to see discrete pause/unpause commands added to it so that I can explicitly pause my music when I get a call. The current pause command is a toggle so can be problematic if the player is already paused when a call comes in, resulting in the player unpausing (which is exactly what I don't want!). Currently I use mute/unmute but that does mean I miss bits which can be annoying if I am listening to a podcast so explicit pause/unpause would be great.

Cheers,
indiff.

Hi!

I'm guessing you are the same person that send me an email about this, to which I just responded.
But for anyone else interested :). I'm currently busy finishing my bachelors degree but will start looking into this (as wel as some other features) as soon as I start getting a little more time!
Thanks for your interest and patience! :).

Regards, Rob

cdmackay
2013-06-26, 16:59
Just bought; thanks much indeed.

indifference_engine
2013-07-03, 15:20
Hi!

I'm guessing you are the same person that send me an email about this, to which I just responded.
But for anyone else interested :). I'm currently busy finishing my bachelors degree but will start looking into this (as wel as some other features) as soon as I start getting a little more time!
Thanks for your interest and patience! :).

Regards, Rob

Yes, that was me. I sent the email via the play store before checking to see if there was a forum thread for the app. I wouldn't have polluted your inbox if I had been thinking!

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

quadronado
2016-08-01, 22:57
I would like to automatically turn off the Don't stop the music plugin when playing a certain Genre. Is this possible with Tasker and AutoSqueeze?

Gesendet von meinem Nexus 7 mit Tapatalk

Errik128
2016-11-02, 03:20
Hello!
How to get the player volume in variable Tasker?
Or how to show on lockscreen track name and volume level?