PDA

View Full Version : DAC 101 Help Please!

laylow
2012-10-15, 18:18
Hi guys,

I've been browsing the forum for a while, but this is my first time posting. I was hoping you could help me understand DAC's and a few scenarios in my situation:

Here is my current setup:

Denon AVR - 1612
Squeezebox Duet

My understanding is that the AVR has a DAC, but so does the Squeezebox. The third option would be purchasing an external DAC (with the equipment I have, is this necessary)?

Before we get into external DAC's, I have some questions about my current setup:

In order to use the Squeezebox DAC, does the setting on the receiver have to be in Direct mode? Does it matter if I use Optical Out or RCA cables?
->My understanding is that optical out is sending a digital signal and my receiver is then decoding it (regardless of direct mode, stereo, or dolby)

If I decide to use my receiver's DAC, does it need to be in optical? If I were to use the analog, RCA cables would the signal go from Digital -> Analog -> Digital. If so, how bad is this?

Any help understanding this would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

laylow
2012-10-15, 18:19
Also note, the files I am playing are all FLAC's.

Mnyb
2012-10-15, 22:55
Analog is analog so yes using the analog outputs on the squeezebox may introduce the effect that the analog signal is reencoded as digital ( depends on how your reciever works ) .

In general a true analog bypass in rare in HT receivers novadays sometimes not even a direct mode is that ?
Usually the manual are very vague about it ,unless the reciever has it for real .

And yes using any sound effect would invoke digital DSP processing and this includes the subwoofer cross over .

So if you use your subwoofer for music the choice is simple use a digital input on the reciever spdiff or optical ToS link ,Touch have both . I would then keep the squeezebox volume at 100% and use the receivers volume .