PDA

View Full Version : Migration from 2000 to XP



Sebastian Wright
2004-11-11, 19:58
I have just upgraded my laptop from 2000 to XP. I had been using - and
really enjoying - slimserver and more recently the softsqueeze utility
on 2000 with no issue what-so-ever. Since the upgrade to XP - clean
install, SP 2 - I am noticing annoying clicks on the audio feed from
softsqueeze. The audio sounds in some way more compressed as well.
It's annoying.

Exactly the same hardware throughout. Same Network adaptor, AP,
server, laptop etc. I have no limit on the bitrate, as I didn't need
one with 2000.

Is this a known issue. Is there anything I can do?


Thanks


Seb

bobv
2004-11-12, 09:46
Sebastian Wright wrote:
> I have just upgraded my laptop from 2000 to XP. I had been using - and
> really enjoying - slimserver and more recently the softsqueeze utility
> on 2000 with no issue what-so-ever. Since the upgrade to XP - clean
> install, SP 2 - I am noticing annoying clicks on the audio feed from
> softsqueeze. The audio sounds in some way more compressed as well.
> It's annoying.
>
> Exactly the same hardware throughout. Same Network adaptor, AP,
> server, laptop etc. I have no limit on the bitrate, as I didn't need
> one with 2000.
>
> Is this a known issue. Is there anything I can do?

You don't mention what your laptop is, but... I have always found
laptop audio drivers to be a dodgy thing. Windows update may offer
newer drivers, though personally I'd look for OEM drivers. I just
reinstalled 2K on an older Thinkpad a few days ago, and almost
immediately was compelled to upgrade the stock CS4231 audio drivers.

Making sure Java (1.5/5.0) and DirectX (9.0b/c) are current may also
help. I experience much better sound quality with the "primary sound
driver" than the "java sound engine," I believe a current java is
required for this.

Oh -- and there was an annoying bug on my desktop (Audigy 2) machine,
where softsqueeze would exhibit clicks if the player volume was cranked
all the way up. Turning it down one notch would eliminate it. This
may be fixed in a more current version of SS, I'm still a few builds
back.

-b