PDA

View Full Version : Squeezebox Classic power supply for use in Australia



snoogly
2012-09-29, 23:27
I am planning to send a squeezebox classic I am retiring to a friend in Australia. I envisage it being difficult for him to to find a suitable power supply (the current one is for use in Japan).

Can any members of the squeezebox community in Australia recommend a suitable power supply?

Thanks.

Wirrunna
2012-09-29, 23:48
This one would do the trick - http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=MP3480

snoogly
2012-09-29, 23:59
This one would do the trick - http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=MP3480

Looks good. Will the polarity of the jack be OK?

Mnyb
2012-09-30, 00:11
The Classic can use the Squeezebox Touch supply ? are they available "down under" it can be in logitechs own spare part store .

snoogly
2012-09-30, 00:24
The Classic can use the Squeezebox Touch supply ? are they available "down under" it can be in logitechs own spare part store .

Thanks for that idea. I could find them in the UK spare parts store, but not Aus - which is a bit barren .. http://www.logitechshop.com.au/catalogsearch/result/?q=Spare+Parts+Store

Mnyb
2012-09-30, 00:45
Thanks for that idea. I could find them in the UK spare parts store, but not Aus - which is a bit barren .. http://www.logitechshop.com.au/catalogsearch/result/?q=Spare+Parts+Store

That always was a problem with logitechs squeebox offering local logitech makes decisions on what product to market and how . there are local variations everywhere ?

So in may countries they never offered the complete lineup :-/
And the spare part store differs to .

But the power supply is 100-240 volts it is the slide on conector that differs I have no idea what they have down there .

To actually sell and promote a system like LMS/Squeeboxes the complete system must be there . I don't think local marketing dept around the world really understood the product ,thus also failed to sell it.
So they should have made it all or nothing .

Wirrunna
2012-09-30, 03:54
Looks good. Will the polarity of the jack be OK?

Yes, the polarity can be switched between centre + or centre -. On the link there is a link to a pdf that shows different plug sizes, the two silver prongs allow the selection of the polarity simply by plugging in one way or the other. The centre polarity is marked on the barrel. Instructions come with the gizmo. I have used one for a few years on an SB3.

Mnyb, the voltage down under is 250V 50Hz .

I have used one of these power supplies for a while now (http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?49785-SB3-appears-dead)

snoogly
2012-09-30, 23:03
Yes, the polarity can be switched between centre + or centre -. On the link there is a link to a pdf that shows different plug sizes, the two silver prongs allow the selection of the polarity simply by plugging in one way or the other. The centre polarity is marked on the barrel. Instructions come with the gizmo. I have used one for a few years on an SB3.

Mnyb, the voltage down under is 250V 50Hz .

I have used one of these power supplies for a while now (http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?49785-SB3-appears-dead)

Many thanks, I sent the info to my friend.