PDA

View Full Version : Wireless networking problem, can any explain this to me...



autopilot
2012-08-10, 14:46
When it comes to networking, I have that 'dangerous' amount of knowledge - enough knowledge to set up something reasonably complicated, but not enough always knowledge to fix it when it goes wrong :)

What I have done is used a netgear access point to extended my wireless coverage but setting it up as a wireless bridge (with client association). Basically what I have read tells me this is better than repeater mode. Same SSID etc for seemless extension. Generally it works well, however when my iPhone is connected through the bridge it can not see my server (touch). Same problem with the logitech app. Can anyone tell me why, and how to fix it? Thanks.

toby10
2012-08-11, 04:18
Sure DHCP is turned off on the second router?

autopilot
2012-08-13, 14:20
Yes it's off.

Stratmangler
2012-08-14, 02:02
Have you tried repeater mode?

pippin
2012-08-14, 04:30
Do you use different subnets?

autopilot
2012-08-14, 06:12
Have you tried repeater mode?

Correct me if im wrong, but I was under the impression that repeater mode significantly reduces bandwidth of the overal wireless network, but wireless bridging mode has less effect of bandwidth. Also more reliable.

autopilot
2012-08-14, 07:24
Do you use different subnets?

Not sure, how would I check?

pippin
2012-08-14, 10:02
What IP address do devices on the new network get? Can you ping devices on the other branch? Can you e.g. open the server's web interface in the browser on your iPhone?

autopilot
2012-08-14, 12:21
What IP address do devices on the new network get? Can you ping devices on the other branch? Can you e.g. open the server's web interface in the browser on your iPhone?

Yes, everything is on 192.168.1.1xx

I can open the main routers web interface from a device connected to AP acting as a bridge. I can also open the APs web interface with devices connected to the main router.

Stratmangler
2012-08-14, 12:34
Correct me if im wrong, but I was under the impression that repeater mode significantly reduces bandwidth of the overal wireless network, but wireless bridging mode has less effect of bandwidth. Also more reliable.

From where I'm reading it's so reliable it isn't working ;)

Stratmangler
2012-08-14, 13:25
This any use?
http://documentation.netgear.com/dg834n/enu/202-10197-02/Advanced.7.6.html

phycomp
2012-08-15, 08:28
Maybe try changing the wireless network channel?

autopilot
2012-08-15, 16:35
Maybe try changing the wireless network channel?

Thanks, already did (1 & 11). But it would not work as wireless bridges and repeaters need to be on the same channel as the router (as the router can not use 2 channels at the same time.

epoch1970
2012-08-16, 05:17
I haven't played much with WDS and repeating but basically every time I tried I was frustrated due to poor reliability or compatibility issues (things would work without cypher and break with it, or the bridge would never reconnect after disconnect…)
Then recently I got a "range extender" that claimed compatibility with any router (and not use WDS). I had little hope but since it was cheap I got one. And the miracle happened: I was able to extend the network in minutes (WN2000RPT+WNDR3700 used as AP only --router is on another box).
I think the extender I got must use a different SSID (like your_ssid_EXT) but roaming with an iPhone and an iPad I haven't had *any* problem. And the Boom downstairs is much happier, too.
A real progress compared to the black magic of WDS, alternative firmwares and whatnot. Maybe you want to try this class of products.