PDA

View Full Version : Squeezeplay Mountain Lion Install



gocubs42
2012-07-26, 05:45
I installed Mountain Lion yesterday and now have no sound output on my Mac. Anyone else run into this.....I can play Mog though its app on the Mac, but nothing through Squeezeplay...thanks for the help

Apesbrain
2012-07-26, 06:11
To start, I would uninstall/reinstall SqueezePlay:
http://downloads.slimdevices.com/nightly/?ver=7.7

It may be a more fundamental problem, but this is easy enough to try.

(You don't really mean "no sound output on my Mac", right? You can hear Mog playing and system sounds.)

gocubs42
2012-07-26, 08:06
Thanks your right on the output. I can play iTunes, Mog but not Squeezeplay. I tried delete and reinstall Squeezeplay with no luck. No output through squeezeplay. I can see from the Vu meters within squeezeplay the music is "playing/running"

kidstypike
2012-07-26, 09:56
Thanks your right on the output. I can play iTunes, Mog but not Squeezeplay. I tried delete and reinstall Squeezeplay with no luck. No output through squeezeplay. I can see from the Vu meters within squeezeplay the music is "playing/running"

Don't think this could happen, but are you sure you've chosen Squeezeplay as the player you're controlling?

gocubs42
2012-07-26, 11:02
Yes I did check that also....really has me stumped

dborod
2012-07-26, 20:51
For what it's worth, I just installed mountain lion as well, and squeezeplay no longer produces any sound. It worked fine up until I installed mountain lion.

theseal
2012-07-27, 03:46
+1

Installed mountain lion, no sound output from squeezeplay. Upgraded to nightly, still no sound.....

I hope the wonderful developers are keeping busy with solving this problem, may the force be with you!


/niclas

gocubs42
2012-07-27, 05:32
Thanks for the info....now waiting out the fix.....

theseal
2012-07-27, 06:16
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=17992


please fill in additional info...

pmontelo
2012-07-27, 06:53
I have no sound either. I can see a few log messages in the console that may help the developers. The following messages are output when squeezeplay starts:

7/27/12 8:39:03.886 AM SqueezePlay[15198]: CPSGetCurrentProcess(): This call is deprecated and should not be called anymore.
7/27/12 8:39:03.887 AM SqueezePlay[15198]: CPSSetForegroundOperationState(): This call is deprecated and should not be called anymore.
7/27/12 8:39:04.246 AM coreaudiod[141]: 2012-07-27 08:39:04.245968 AM [AirPlayScreenClient] Starting session
7/27/12 8:39:07.282 AM coreaudiod[141]: AVF encoder info: AVFQTXENC_SetProperty: kGVAPropertyKey_ExpectedInputBufferDimensions 1680 x 1050...
7/27/12 8:39:07.282 AM coreaudiod[141]: AVF encoder info: APM buffer params: stride:1728, height:1050, el:0, er:0, et:0, eb:6

and the following are output when squeezeplay is closed:

7/27/12 8:39:30.775 AM coreaudiod[141]: 2012-07-27 08:39:30.775329 AM [AirPlay] Stopping endpoint 'Apple TV'
7/27/12 8:39:31.005 AM coreaudiod[141]: 2012-07-27 08:39:31.004910 AM [AirPlay] Disconnected from [fe80::5a55:caff:fe04:aac7%en1]:49152 (from [fe80::2acf:daff:fe04:9bc7%en1]:61449)
7/27/12 8:39:31.006 AM coreaudiod[141]: 2012-07-27 08:39:31.006436 AM [AirPlay] Stopped endpoint 'Apple TV'

bluegaspode
2012-07-27, 11:36
Endpoint AppleTV in the logs?

Does it just stream to a different target?
In the SqueezeSlave thread there was a log of the output devices, and AirPlay was there in first position as well.


For the future: never upgrade to a .0 release.

dborod
2012-07-27, 12:04
I unplugged my apple tv, waited for it's absence to be noticed by the system, and Squeezeplay now plays audio out through the speakers/headphone port.

I plugged my apple tv back in, picked apple tv as the audio output device in system preferences, re-launched squeezeplay, and presto, squeezeplay's audio is coming out the apple tv.

I believe that squeezeplay is sending it's audio to the first output device in the system, and if there's an airplay device, mountain lion sorts it to the top of the list.

theseal
2012-07-30, 04:07
I unplugged my apple tv, waited for it's absence to be noticed by the system, and Squeezeplay now plays audio out through the speakers/headphone port.

I plugged my apple tv back in, picked apple tv as the audio output device in system preferences, re-launched squeezeplay, and presto, squeezeplay's audio is coming out the apple tv.

I believe that squeezeplay is sending it's audio to the first output device in the system, and if there's an airplay device, mountain lion sorts it to the top of the list.

"Its not a bug, its a feature"?

When closing all AirPlay devices in the house, i managed to get sound out of SqueezePlay, upon restart - same issue...

thanks for the tip!

ad6922
2012-08-04, 01:27
+1 for the same issue

Wariole
2012-08-05, 06:07
Same issue for me...
I also have 2 Airplay capable devices in my local network.

mozzer503
2012-08-15, 08:26
I have a mid 2010 imac and mini, both are too old to run airplay. I also have a generation 2 ATV which does support airplay.
The silence is killing me. I've voted for the bug.

Wariole
2012-08-17, 08:49
Temporary workaround: if you disable your network connection just before starting SqueezePlay and re-enable it just after that, you will force the use of your system audio instead of any airplay device available on the network.
This "workaround" works for me on OS X 10.8 and SqueezePlay 7.7.2r9599.

Hope this little bug will be fixed soon.

ad6922
2012-08-22, 13:54
Hi Wariole,

thanx for the work around, That does the trick for now.

NasDonkey
2012-08-28, 09:27
Temporary workaround: if you disable your network connection just before starting SqueezePlay and re-enable it just after that, you will force the use of your system audio instead of any airplay device available on the network.
This "workaround" works for me on OS X 10.8 and SqueezePlay 7.7.2r9599.

Hope this little bug will be fixed soon.

Too bad this workaround doesn't work for me because the connection with my nas is lost. And squeezeplay stops working.

Adding some info: i disconnected my Apple tv to give this a try and found that next in line is my Pioneer AirPlay Reciever. So local sound on my iMac still not possible. :-(
Hopefully this is solved soon. Seems simple, but simple things can be hard.

Regards, Don

ralphy
2012-09-06, 10:31
I've created an OSX build of squeezeplay with the ability to set the output device and max sample rate.

See this post (http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?96328-ANNOUNCE-SqueezePlay-for-Mac-OSX&p=716200) for details.

pippin
2012-09-06, 10:39
Cool! Thanks!

dborod
2012-09-29, 22:32
I've created an OSX build of squeezeplay with the ability to set the output device and max sample rate.

Thank-you very much.

SamS
2012-10-25, 19:58
I just tried the latest nightly for OS X, and of course get no sound with Mountain Lion.

I see where ralphy has (?) as workaround, but honestly I'm a bit intimidated by the extra steps. Is there a turnkey solution for an OS X novice?

NasDonkey
2012-10-25, 22:35
Same here! Hoping for a one-click solution ;-)
But not sure if this is possible. For now i'll just have to wait. :-(

nonnoroger
2012-11-09, 09:38
Same here! Hoping for a one-click solution ;-)
But not sure if this is possible. For now i'll just have to wait. :-(

Wait no longer - see Ralphy's post at http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?96328-ANNOUNCE-SqueezePlay-for-Mac-OSX&p=724850&viewfull=1#post724850

SamS
2012-11-09, 09:49
Thanks so much! I'll give this a try tonight.