PDA

View Full Version : Perfectwave DAC with bridge and LMS



adamdea
2012-06-18, 04:19
Is there any way I can retain the functionality of LMS while using a PS audio dac with bridge. Should this work with LMS as it is , or via some other program eg whitebear.

Does anyone have any idea which will work best?

I am concerned if possible to retain gapless playback, Inguz and control through iPad/Iphone.

adamdea
2012-06-27, 15:11
Is there any way I can retain the functionality of LMS while using a PS audio dac with bridge. Should this work with LMS as it is , or via some other program eg whitebear.

Does anyone have any idea which will work best?

I am concerned if possible to retain gapless playback, Inguz and control through iPad/Iphone.
What really: nothing. Is this a dumb question?

AndrewFG
2012-06-27, 16:58
Is there any way I can retain the functionality of LMS while using a PS audio dac with bridge. Should this work with LMS as it is , or via some other program eg whitebear.

You will need to provide us with the specs of the device. A quick google indicates that the PS audio claims to be able to work with any DLNA source and/or any DLNA sink. But there's no way I am going to recommend you buying such an expensive piece of kit without knowing more...

That being said, if it really can browse a DLNA ContentDirectory, then it can most probably work with the LMS own UPnP/DLNA plug in. However the own plug in will most likely only be able to deliver music at mp3 quality, because the LMS own UPnP/DLNA plug in downsamples HD audio to mp3 i.e. to the lowest common denominator.

On the other hand, if you disbale the LMS UPnP/DLNA plug in, and use LMS with Whitebear instead, then it should be able to deliver audio to your player with lossless lpcm quality.

But as I said before, please post your specs here first...

adamdea
2012-06-27, 18:12
Thanks Andrew
I have already purchased this device, although it hasn't yet arrived. I didn't primarily buy it for the bridge functionality but just as a dac. I was concerned to note that ps audio seem to concentrate on their elyric music manager software, and that the bridge will apparently not play gapless- the workaround being for Emm to create a single giant wav.
I currently use a SBT with inguz spotify etc and would hate to have to use inferior software. Ideally I would like to see if I can get this functionality via the bridge if it can interface with LMS. If not, I will probably use the SBT USB out to use the perfect wave as a dac.
I think other people may be interested in this because ps audio look like they have botched the bridge and are trying to tie in their clientele into an all in one solution - ie a proprietary server running their software. This is being pushed back though and the gapless playback issue is not yet resolved.

What specs did you have in mind? Sorry I am very new to UPnP/ DLNA but can try to find out whatever I'd needed. Technical information from PS audio is very nebulous- not a good sign in a dac/ streamer manufacturer

SBGK
2012-06-27, 23:58
seems like a big mismatch in capability hooking up a 4000 dac to a 200 squeezebox touch, wonder if you'll find the dac is too good for the touch.

funny that you want to ensure inguz and spotify work with it, talk about messed up priorities.

of course, the touch can always be tweaked to improve the sound, come over to the dark side

adamdea
2012-06-28, 00:56
seems like a big mismatch in capability hooking up a 4000 dac to a 200 squeezebox touch, wonder if you'll find the dac is too good for the touch.

funny that you want to ensure inguz and spotify work with it, talk about messed up priorities.

of course, the touch can always be tweaked to improve the sound, come over to the dark side
Please get back in your box

tonyptony
2012-07-01, 19:14
Doesn't LMS have to be a UPnP control point for something like this to work?

adamdea
2012-07-02, 10:06
Doesn't LMS have to be a UPnP control point for something like this to work?

Thanks Tony
I think you need UpNp controller- but I am not sure it has to be lms- anyone else have an idea? Will whitebear work with any uPNP controller?

ismarketing
2012-07-03, 10:58
Their tech support is amazing.

adamdea
2012-07-03, 11:27
Their tech support is amazing.

Thanks Ii may try that.I have tried to get info from the website forum and have found it friendly but incredibly uninformative.

ismarketing
2012-07-03, 12:06
Folks here are great. You have a very specific question that can easily be answered by calling the manufacturer directly. Please share what you find out.

adamdea
2012-07-03, 13:58
Well I am greatly encouraged by your optimism, although I can't quite follow it.
I will attempt to contact ps audio technical support, probably by email since telephone calls from London may prove expensive.
I hope that the impression I have formed from the psaudio website forum proves to be mistaken.