PDA

View Full Version : Have to rescan itunes all the time



Joe Hickey
2004-11-02, 15:04
Hi all,
Since upgrading to 5.3.1 every time I start up slimserver the library
is empty. I have to rescan...
I've tried re-pointing it to my itunes xml file (by deselecting and
reselecting 'use iTunes') but no joy.
Could this be because my itunes library is on an external firewire
disc and slimserver boots up before the disc mounts?
How do I point slimserver to just my music library drive (it's a
firewire drive called iTunes) I've never been to good at addresses and
paths, would it be something like \\iTunes/iTunes music/ ?...
As a feature request it would be good if there was a browse button so
you could browse to the music folder rather than typing in the path.

I'm running 5.3.1 on Mac os 10.3.5, my itunes library + all the xml and
library files are on the external firewire disc with an alias of the
iTunes library in the user/music folder for both of the accounts on the
mac

Thanks,
Joe

Bruce Tucker
2004-11-02, 15:50
It turns out I am having problems playing all of the windows media streams.
They play fine on Softsqueeze, but the stream is just static on my SlimP3
(or on the Softsqueeze when synchronized with teh SlimP3).

I also noticed in Server settings that the Bitrate limit on the Softsqueeze
includes a "No Limit" option, but that the SlimP3 ranges from 64-320, but
without the "No Limit" option (I have it set to 128, but have tried 64 to no
effect). Is this normal?

Any ideas where to start to fix this problem.
Bruce

=?ISO-8859-1?Q?Jonas_Nordstr=F6m?=
2004-11-03, 01:36
I had the same problem, but I solved it by removing previously
installed lame.exe, wmatool and some Base-dlls. I don't know which
file did the trick though.


On Tue, 2 Nov 2004 14:50:31 -0800, Bruce Tucker <tuckerb2 (AT) adelphia (DOT) net> wrote:
> It turns out I am having problems playing all of the windows media streams.
> They play fine on Softsqueeze, but the stream is just static on my SlimP3
> (or on the Softsqueeze when synchronized with teh SlimP3).
>
> I also noticed in Server settings that the Bitrate limit on the Softsqueeze
> includes a "No Limit" option, but that the SlimP3 ranges from 64-320, but
> without the "No Limit" option (I have it set to 128, but have tried 64 to no
> effect). Is this normal?
>
> Any ideas where to start to fix this problem.
> Bruce
>
>

kdf
2004-11-03, 01:47
This sounds like a known bug that should be fixed in the nightly builds, or in
the upcoming 5.4 release. Feel free to try the 5.4 pre-release at:
http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest/
-kdf

Quoting Joe Hickey <joe (AT) hotandstripey (DOT) org>:

> Hi all,
> Since upgrading to 5.3.1 every time I start up slimserver the library
> is empty. I have to rescan...
> I've tried re-pointing it to my itunes xml file (by deselecting and
> reselecting 'use iTunes') but no joy.
> Could this be because my itunes library is on an external firewire
> disc and slimserver boots up before the disc mounts?
> How do I point slimserver to just my music library drive (it's a
> firewire drive called iTunes) I've never been to good at addresses and
> paths, would it be something like \\iTunes/iTunes music/ ?...
> As a feature request it would be good if there was a browse button so
> you could browse to the music folder rather than typing in the path.
>
> I'm running 5.3.1 on Mac os 10.3.5, my itunes library + all the xml and
> library files are on the external firewire disc with an alias of the
> iTunes library in the user/music folder for both of the accounts on the
> mac
>
> Thanks,
> Joe
>
>

kdf
2004-11-03, 02:05
Quoting Bruce Tucker <tuckerb2 (AT) adelphia (DOT) net>:

> It turns out I am having problems playing all of the windows media streams.
> They play fine on Softsqueeze, but the stream is just static on my SlimP3
> (or on the Softsqueeze when synchronized with teh SlimP3).

static would indicate an endian problem. usually this can be fix by adding -x
to the LAME command line. I'm not sure how this works with streaming, however.

> I also noticed in Server settings that the Bitrate limit on the Softsqueeze
> includes a "No Limit" option, but that the SlimP3 ranges from 64-320, but
> without the "No Limit" option (I have it set to 128, but have tried 64 to no
> effect). Is this normal?

'no limit' is only for players that can play uncompressed media. The SliMP3 is
an MP3 only player so the limit needs to be set to 320 or less, thus you do not
see a 'no limit' option.
-kdf

> Any ideas where to start to fix this problem.
> Bruce
>
>
>

Bruce Tucker
2004-11-03, 11:27
> static would indicate an endian problem. usually this can be fix by
> adding -x
> to the LAME command line. I'm not sure how this works with streaming,
> however.

Could you clarify this? Any suggestions how to get the -x option specified
by the Slimserver (Windows XP SP2? ) for a stream?

> 'no limit' is only for players that can play uncompressed media. The
> SliMP3 is
> an MP3 only player so the limit needs to be set to 320 or less, thus you
> do not
> see a 'no limit' option.

Could the fact that SlimP3 is "MP3 only" be what makes the Softsqueeze work,
while the SlimP3 has the static?


I turned on debugging for d_formats, and this is what I see in the log
window when trying to run the wma stream on the slimp3 (this debug message
does not appear when playing the stream on SoftSqueeze):

binmode() on unopened filehandle GEN677 at /PerlApp/Slim/Player/Pipeline.pm
line 123.

Bruce

kdf
2004-11-03, 14:03
Quoting Bruce Tucker <tuckerb2 (AT) adelphia (DOT) net>:

> > static would indicate an endian problem. usually this can be fix by
> > adding -x
> > to the LAME command line. I'm not sure how this works with streaming,
> > however.
>
> Could you clarify this? Any suggestions how to get the -x option specified
> by the Slimserver (Windows XP SP2? ) for a stream?

not really. as I said, I'm not sure how this is applied for streaming.

>
> > 'no limit' is only for players that can play uncompressed media. The
> > SliMP3 is
> > an MP3 only player so the limit needs to be set to 320 or less, thus you
> > do not
> > see a 'no limit' option.
>
> Could the fact that SlimP3 is "MP3 only" be what makes the Softsqueeze work,
> while the SlimP3 has the static?
well, softsqueeze will play many other native formats, so that's possible. if
the conversion to mp3 is the wrong endian (byte swapped) then you hear static.
playing native, would avoid problems with incorrect byte swapping.

>
>
> I turned on debugging for d_formats, and this is what I see in the log
> window when trying to run the wma stream on the slimp3 (this debug message
> does not appear when playing the stream on SoftSqueeze):
>
> binmode() on unopened filehandle GEN677 at /PerlApp/Slim/Player/Pipeline.pm
> line 123.

this means nothing to me :)
hopefully someoen more on top of the wma streaming framework will have some
thoughts.

-kdf

vidurapparao
2004-11-03, 15:04
Bruce,

Sorry for not responding earlier. Are you hearing static or silence? On
Windows, transcoding of WMA (or ogg) to MP3 through lame does not
currently work - see http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=644.
I'm hoping to fix this for 5.4, but it's looking a bit tight.

--Vidur

Bruce Tucker wrote:

>> static would indicate an endian problem. usually this can be fix by
>> adding -x
>> to the LAME command line. I'm not sure how this works with
>> streaming, however.
>
>
> Could you clarify this? Any suggestions how to get the -x option
> specified by the Slimserver (Windows XP SP2? ) for a stream?
>
>> 'no limit' is only for players that can play uncompressed media. The
>> SliMP3 is
>> an MP3 only player so the limit needs to be set to 320 or less, thus
>> you do not
>> see a 'no limit' option.
>
>
> Could the fact that SlimP3 is "MP3 only" be what makes the Softsqueeze
> work, while the SlimP3 has the static?
>
>
> I turned on debugging for d_formats, and this is what I see in the log
> window when trying to run the wma stream on the slimp3 (this debug
> message does not appear when playing the stream on SoftSqueeze):
>
> binmode() on unopened filehandle GEN677 at
> /PerlApp/Slim/Player/Pipeline.pm line 123.
>
> Bruce
>
>

Bruce Tucker
2004-11-03, 19:18
> Sorry for not responding earlier. Are you hearing static or silence? On
> Windows, transcoding of WMA (or ogg) to MP3 through lame does not
> currently work - see http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=644. I'm
> hoping to fix this for 5.4, but it's looking a bit tight.
>
> --Vidur

Static on my SlimP3. I can sometimes hear the stream in the background (or
at least what I think is the stream), but the static completely covers it.
However, the Softsqueeze plays the stream without any static at all.
Bruce

vidurapparao
2004-11-03, 23:20
Bruce,

I've checked in a fix that should allow transcoding of WMA to MP3 on
Windows. Please get the nightly build on 11/4 and let me know if it
works for you.

--Vidur

Vidur Apparao wrote:

>
> Bruce,
>
> Sorry for not responding earlier. Are you hearing static or silence?
> On Windows, transcoding of WMA (or ogg) to MP3 through lame does not
> currently work - see http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=644.
> I'm hoping to fix this for 5.4, but it's looking a bit tight.
>
> --Vidur
>
> Bruce Tucker wrote:
>
>>> static would indicate an endian problem. usually this can be fix by
>>> adding -x
>>> to the LAME command line. I'm not sure how this works with
>>> streaming, however.
>>
>>
>>
>> Could you clarify this? Any suggestions how to get the -x option
>> specified by the Slimserver (Windows XP SP2? ) for a stream?
>>
>>> 'no limit' is only for players that can play uncompressed media.
>>> The SliMP3 is
>>> an MP3 only player so the limit needs to be set to 320 or less, thus
>>> you do not
>>> see a 'no limit' option.
>>
>>
>>
>> Could the fact that SlimP3 is "MP3 only" be what makes the
>> Softsqueeze work, while the SlimP3 has the static?
>>
>>
>> I turned on debugging for d_formats, and this is what I see in the
>> log window when trying to run the wma stream on the slimp3 (this
>> debug message does not appear when playing the stream on SoftSqueeze):
>>
>> binmode() on unopened filehandle GEN677 at
>> /PerlApp/Slim/Player/Pipeline.pm line 123.
>>
>> Bruce
>>
>>

Bruce Tucker
2004-11-04, 10:18
> I've checked in a fix that should allow transcoding of WMA to MP3 on
> Windows. Please get the nightly build on 11/4 and let me know if it
> works for you.
>
> --Vidur

Thanks Vidur,
The WMA streams are working perfectly now on my SlimP3.
I am impressed by how quickly the utility of SlimServer is increasing.
Thanks for you great service.
Bruce