PDA

View Full Version : Squeezebox 2 Support with Latest Logitec Server?



Brian250
2012-03-06, 15:33
I have had a Squeezebox 2 and a Squeezebox Classic running with my server for at least a year. The server is running 64 bit Ubuntu. This week, I upgraded the Logitec server to the latest version.

The Squeezebox Classic works fine, but when I attempt to play a song with the Squeezebox 2, I get a message "unable to open file...". I then held down the brightness button to update firmware and the update fails. After that, I can no longer connect to the server.

I removed and reinstalled the server twice with the exact same results. Any ideas on what the problem is?

Thanks!

bpa
2012-03-06, 15:42
For 64 bit kernel you need to install the Ubuntu ia32-libs package to enable the 32bit support application to work and enabling transcoding and playing of some audio formats.

Brian250
2012-03-07, 18:21
I don't really think it's related at all. I am unable to upgrade the software on the device now that I've upgraded the server version.

cliveb
2012-03-08, 02:17
Aren't the SB2 and Classic basically the exact same hardware in a different form factor, using the same firmware?

If that is the case, and one works but the other doesn't, that sounds like some kind of device failure - perhaps a factory reset or Xilinx reset will fix it.

bpa
2012-03-08, 02:41
Aren't the SB2 and Classic basically the exact same hardware in a different form factor, using the same firmware?

If that is the case, and one works but the other doesn't, that sounds like some kind of device failure - perhaps a factory reset or Xilinx reset will fix it.

Yes but the "unable to open file" message is from LMS indicating it has not got the correct support application to play an audio format. The player firmware is irrelevant at this stage.

To Brian250:

Have you installed ia32-libs packages ? If not then the LMS supplied Flac, sox, faad etc. (some of which have LMS reequired patches) will not run and you will get the "unable to open file" message.

Also have you changed any of the Setting/Advanced/Filetypoes from default ?
have you added your own custom-convert.conf file ?
Have you enabled bit rate limiting for a player but didn't install lame ?

bpa
2012-03-08, 04:15
What is the firmware version of on SB2 ?

If it is 40 then you have a SB1 and not SB2 - the physical differences are small as they use same case.

If it is a SB1 then it cannot play a number of formats that Classic can play natively and so transcoding is necessary needing executable support applications.

Brian250
2012-03-09, 10:50
That makes sense if it's a SB 1. For some reason, server is showing as 2, but if you say that firmware goes with 1, I believe it. It is an old device. I did update Ubuntu as well, so there may actually be missing transcoding support at the server. Let me see if making those updates helps.

Thanks for the advice.

bpa
2012-03-09, 11:10
Sometimes the Players name can be coinfused with the model type. IIRC LMS does (or used to) some auto naming of devices and so you can get Squeezbox 4 if you had 4 players.

To be sure on the device itself - go into the Settings/Information/ <playername> Information and then scroll down to "Model"

edit:
If you are playing WMA, SB1 has no WMA support and there is no LMS provided support for Linux - you could install playWMA plugin and mplayer to provide WMA support.

aubuti
2012-03-09, 11:51
To be sure on the device itself - go into the Settings/Information/ <playername> Information and then scroll down to "Model"
You can also look at the sticker on the bottom. If it says "Squeezebox" then it's an SB1, if it says "Squeezebox2" then it's an SB2.