PDA

View Full Version : SoftSqueeze - How to use from an external computer?



KNUTE
2004-10-19, 21:48
I have SlimServer(5.3.1) and SoftSqueeze(1.4) on my home PC.
If I go to a computer elsewhere, in some other town or wherever, that computer of course
doesn't have Slim or SoftSqueeze on it. Nevertheless I can select and hear music
from my home (SlimServer) Library at this distant location simply by entering
my correct URLs into that external computer's Browser and Player.
I "think" that is all correct so far, isn't it?
But I still have some questions on how best to do this.

Let's say I'm at an external computer which only includes it's Browser & some ordinary
Player (like Media Player, iTunes, WinAmp, Real, etc.).
Since I know what my home IP address, Port #, and SoftSqueeze MAC address are,
is it possible for me to therefore use a "virtual SoftSqueeze" on that external computer?
I have gotten "close" to it, but with no sound, by entering
http://(My IP address):9000/index.html?player=(MyMAC address) into the client browser.
To get sound I had to open the client's Player. That would be OK, but then you lose the
benefits of SoftSqueeze. (The client's Media Player or Winamp don't perform as well.)

As far as I understand, there are just these 3 URLs to deal with:
http://(My IP):9000
http://(My IP):9000/stream.mp3
http://(My IP):9000/index.html?player=(MyMACaddress)

So, at an external computer (one not having Slim or SoftSqueeze) which URL do I enter
and into what, Browser &/or Player? And in what order, if that's important?
Thanks so much for your help with this!
....Knute

dean
2004-10-20, 11:58
Hi Knute,

There are really two important URLs to remember:

http://(yourip):9000/

this brings up the web interface. You can switch between players using
the popup menu on that page. The url you posted with the MAC address
was a shortcut to one of your existing players. From that home page,
you can click on the SoftSqueeze link in the Help area and then start
softsqueeze from there. If your computer has Java installed, you can
launch it directly from the web browser without having to download and
install manually.

The other one is to create a virtual player using an MP3 player
application:

http://yourip:9000/stream.mp3


On Oct 19, 2004, at 9:48 PM, KNUTE wrote:

> I have SlimServer(5.3.1) and SoftSqueeze(1.4) on my home PC.
> If I go to a computer elsewhere, in some other town or wherever, that
> computer of course
> doesn't have Slim or SoftSqueeze on it. Nevertheless I can select and
> hear music
> from my home (SlimServer) Library at this distant location simply by
> entering
> my correct URLs into that external computer's Browser and Player.
> I "think" that is all correct so far, isn't it?
> But I still have some questions on how best to do this.
>
> Let's say I'm at an external computer which only includes it's Browser
> & some ordinary
> Player (like Media Player, iTunes, WinAmp, Real, etc.).
> Since I know what my home IP address, Port #, and SoftSqueeze MAC
> address are,
> is it possible for me to therefore use a "virtual SoftSqueeze" on that
> external computer?
> I have gotten "close" to it, but with no sound, by entering
> http://(My IP address):9000/index.html?player=(MyMAC address) into the
> client browser.
> To get sound I had to open the client's Player. That would be OK, but
> then you lose the
> benefits of SoftSqueeze. (The client's Media Player or Winamp don't
> perform as well.)
>
> As far as I understand, there are just these 3 URLs to deal with:
> http://(My IP):9000
> http://(My IP):9000/stream.mp3
> http://(My IP):9000/index.html?player=(MyMACaddress)
>
> So, at an external computer (one not having Slim or SoftSqueeze) which
> URL do I enter
> and into what, Browser &/or Player? And in what order, if that's
> important?
> Thanks so much for your help with this!
> ...Knute
>

Bruce Tucker
2004-10-20, 14:28
> The other one is to create a virtual player using an MP3 player
> application:
>
> http://yourip:9000/stream.mp3

This launches whatever is playing, but if you're putting this into WinAmp
(for example) is it possible to launch a specific mp3 or stream? Or do you
have to be running SoftSqueeze?

On a similar note, I often use Total Recorder (www.highcriteria.com) to
launch specific streams using it's timer function so I can record programs
for later listening. I've found that if I leave softsqueeze running, it
blocks this. Is there a way to have Total Recorder launch a stream in
Softsqueeze instead of launching WinAmp?

One last question: I've got JAVA v1.4.2_05. The Softsqueeze FAQ says I need
to install Java 1.5 but the link points me to the developers page where I
can't find 1.5 listed for downloading. Can anyone point me toward where to
download 1.5?

Bruce

rtitmuss
2004-10-20, 15:27
Bruce Tucker wrote:

>> The other one is to create a virtual player using an MP3 player
>> application:
>>
>> http://yourip:9000/stream.mp3
>
>
> This launches whatever is playing, but if you're putting this into
> WinAmp (for example) is it possible to launch a specific mp3 or
> stream? Or do you have to be running SoftSqueeze?

If your using WinAmp, or another media player then you need to use the
slimserver web interface to select the mp3 or stream to play.

>
> On a similar note, I often use Total Recorder (www.highcriteria.com)
> to launch specific streams using it's timer function so I can record
> programs for later listening. I've found that if I leave softsqueeze
> running, it blocks this. Is there a way to have Total Recorder launch
> a stream in Softsqueeze instead of launching WinAmp?

I am not sure what you are trying to do here? Do you point Total
Recorder at the slimserver to record the stream, or are you saying that
Total Recorder does not run when Softsqueeze is running?

>
> One last question: I've got JAVA v1.4.2_05. The Softsqueeze FAQ says I
> need to install Java 1.5 but the link points me to the developers page
> where I can't find 1.5 listed for downloading. Can anyone point me
> toward where to download 1.5?

You can use Java 1.4 to run Softsqueeze, but you will get better
performance from Java 5.0. For marketing reasons Sun have renamed Java
1.5 to Java 5.0. I have not had time to update the Softsqueeze website
recently to keep up with the changes. You can download it from
http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.5.0/download.jsp.

Regards,
Richard

Bruce Tucker
2004-10-21, 09:16
> I am not sure what you are trying to do here? Do you point Total Recorder
> at the slimserver to record the stream, or are you saying that Total
> Recorder does not run when Softsqueeze is running?

Total Recorder runs fine, the problem comes when I have scheduled a
recording session. If I have it set up to launch a stream and Softsqueeze is
already running, I get an error because my sound device is busy. Total
recorder has two actions that it can take in it's scheduler. 1) Connect to a
website and play Internet Transmission. 2) Run (a command). I can
schedule to play http://localhost:9000/stream.mp3 but that only records what
is already playing. I was wondering if there was some way to tell
Softsqueeze what stream to play (or to just quit) from Total recorder using
the "Run" option.

> You can use Java 1.4 to run Softsqueeze, but you will get better
> performance from Java 5.0. For marketing reasons Sun have renamed Java 1.5
> to Java 5.0. I have not had time to update the Softsqueeze website
> recently to keep up with the changes. You can download it from
> http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.5.0/download.jsp.

Thanks for the direct link. I installed version 5 and Softsqueeze shows Java
version 1.5.

I don't think I mentioned it before, but I only get the grey box when I
tried to run Softsqueeze as a java applet. I had hoped that moving to 5
would solve this, but it didn't. Any idea if this is a common problem or if
it is something with my installation.

Bruce