PDA

View Full Version : Adding Touch to network w/Net::udap?



jdri
2012-01-16, 10:56
I was going great with my SBR and net::udap but then added a Touch. I can get the Touch to connect to the network and play internet music fine - but it won't see the server so won't play my music collection. And, somewhere in the process of hooking Pandora to the Touch I lost it on my server and so on my primary stereo system. The Logitech site suggests I have to now pay to have it on the server but that seems absurd since it is free everywhere else (and through the Touch). so:
1) Any ideas how I get the Pandora Plugin working again on my server?
2) Has anyone successfully added a Touch to a network with an SBR and net::udap? Do you set up a new config file for each receiver as below?
3) I am on an older version of the server 7.6.0 - r32854 is there any risk in upgrading?

Any insights or references greatly appreciated!

My net::udap configs are below:
UDAP [1] (squeezebox 17b1b9)> list
bridging: 0
hostname: receiver_1
interface: 0
lan_gateway: 192.168.0.1
lan_ip_mode: 1
lan_network_address: 192.168.0.7
lan_subnet_mask: 255.255.255.0
primary_dns: 75.75.75.75
secondary_dns: 75.75.76.76
server_address: 0.0.0.0
squeezecenter_address: 192.168.0.4
squeezecenter_name: Music Library
wireless_SSID: YYYYY
wireless_channel: 6
wireless_keylen: 1
wireless_mode: 0
wireless_region_id: 4
wireless_wep_key_0: 00000000000000000000000000
wireless_wep_key_1: 00000000000000000000000000
wireless_wep_key_2: 00000000000000000000000000
wireless_wep_key_3: 00000000000000000000000000
wireless_wep_on: 0
wireless_wpa_cipher: 3
wireless_wpa_mode: 2
wireless_wpa_on: 1
wireless_wpa_psk: XXXXXXX

I had to set up net::udap to discover and configure 2 - the second Touch receiver. Befire the server would see it.
second receiver is this:
UDAP [2] (squeezebox 2338c0)> list
bridging: 0
hostname: receiver_kitchen
interface: 0
lan_gateway: 192.168.0.1
lan_ip_mode: 1
lan_network_address: 192.168.0.8
lan_subnet_mask: 255.255.255.0
primary_dns: 75.75.75.75
secondary_dns: 75.75.76.76
server_address: 0.0.0.0
squeezecenter_address: 192.168.0.4
squeezecenter_name: Music Library
wireless_SSID: YYYYY
wireless_channel: 6
wireless_keylen: 1
wireless_mode: 0
wireless_region_id: 4
wireless_wep_key_0: 00000000000000000000000000
wireless_wep_key_1: 00000000000000000000000000
wireless_wep_key_2: 00000000000000000000000000
wireless_wep_key_3: 00000000000000000000000000
wireless_wep_on: 0
wireless_wpa_cipher: 3
wireless_wpa_mode: 2
wireless_wpa_on: 1
wireless_wpa_psk: XXXXXX

Mnyb
2012-01-16, 10:59
But why net udap for a Touch it has it own interface you can put in everything on it's menus ?

jdri
2012-01-16, 12:05
mnyb,
I am assuming that in order to connect to my server I need the net::udap...

Is that incorrect?

I don't see any means to do that and so all the music files on the server are not accessible.

Frankly, I would have preferred another SBR but could not find one to buy...but my wife is liking the touch.

Thanks

Mnyb
2012-01-16, 12:09
if port 3483 udp is open on the server player and server should autodiscover each other as soon as they are on the same network and subnet .

what happens if you choose " my music " on the Touch ?

jdri
2012-01-16, 12:14
Mnyb et al,
If I go into the Touch screens I see Settings>Advanced>Squeezebox Server.

There I have the option to Start Logitech Media Server or Wipe & Rescan.
If I go into Start Logitech Media Server I get "Nothing Detected". I can go into "Wipe & Rescan" but that suggests all my server files will get deleted and config lost. That is why I am thinking I must have to do this via net::udap.

Thanks

Mnyb
2012-01-16, 12:14
however if autodiscovery is broken for some reason ( as it was on my linux server for years untill i figured the firewall ) You can cheat I see that your server is 192.168.0.4 asuming static adresses so this does not change often ?

On the Touch itself

Settings > advanced > networking > remote libraries > Add new remote library

Here type in 192.168.0.4

but it is more advisable to get the autodiscovery to work

Mnyb
2012-01-16, 12:16
Mnyb et al,
If I go into the Touch screens I see Settings>Advanced>Squeezebox Server.

There I have the option to Start Logitech Media Server or Wipe & Rescan.
If I go into Start Logitech Media Server I get "Nothing Detected". I can go into "Wipe & Rescan" but that suggests all my server files will get deleted and config lost. That is why I am thinking I must have to do this via net::udap.

Thanks

eh thats the onboard server for using when you atach an usb drive to it, Touch can act as a crippled sbs server by itself, but you don't want that if have a real server :)

jdri
2012-01-16, 14:39
Mnyb
Many thanks. Adding the remote library worked and I never would have known to try that. Where is all the documentation on this stuff? It is not in the manual that came with the Touch...

I do have UDP :open on the firewall - but I do have DHCP though the .4 worked fine and the leases never seem to change. I will try and remember that for the next time there is a problem - and likely change then.

Thanks so much for the help! I am listening to Bruce Springsteen's Nebraska as I write....

JJZolx
2012-01-16, 14:52
The net::udap utility is just a means of configuring the Squeezebox Receiver's network settings. It shouldn't have anything to do with problems caused by adding a Touch to the network.

I would look first at the possibility of an IP address conflict on your network. You've assigned the Receiver 192.168.0.7. When the Touch is added to your network (without using net::udap for the Touch), what IP address does it receive from your DHCP server (probably running on your router)? In fact, what is the IP address range handed out by your network's DHCP server.