PDA

View Full Version : Using squeezebox remote via NAS



onemeg
2011-12-19, 01:59
Hi;

I run the media server on a NAS and from there I run a Touch, Boon and a Roku R1001 which is emulating squeezebox player.

Everything is working well.

I'm thinking of buying a squeezebox remote (i.e. just the remote unit) and want to check whether there's any reason I'll have any issues in using it with the above hardware configuaration?

cheers

Soulkeeper
2011-12-19, 02:06
Do you mean the Squeezebox Controller (http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Squeezebox_Controller)?

As long as you've got a standard wireless network (802.11g or 802.11N, preferably with WPA encryption) and run a normal LMS (http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Logitech_Media_Server) installation on your NAS, and your NAS is on the same subnet as your wireless access point, there shouldn't be any problems.

onemeg
2011-12-19, 03:04
Yes that's the one (controller wise) and yes, I run the LMS on a Synology NAS - I'm not sure of the exect release but it's relatively current (given that I'm running the Touch on it - 7.6.1 perhaps.

Yes all will be on the same subnet so all sounds promising!

Cheers for your help.

Pascal Hibon
2011-12-19, 08:46
You can also use an iPad, iPod Touch, iPhone or an Android device and use one of the remote control software such as iPeng, SqueezePad, the free Logitech remote software, etc.