PDA

View Full Version : "N" routers cause any problems with SB devices ?



swayzak
2011-12-13, 12:08
Hi

I'm thinking of upgrading my b/g router to "n" (as I have some N compatible devices that might benefit), but gather that some b/g devices can become unreliable on "n" networks.

Does any one run Duet and/or Booms on "n" network without issues ?


thanks

jfo
2011-12-13, 12:58
My Boom is fine on a Dlink DIR632 N router.

regalma1
2011-12-13, 13:29
I switched to a NetGear N WiFi set up last year. The change over was transparent as far as my then SB II was concerned. No issues with my Touch either. Though I am using them both with the ethernet. I run the server on my laptop which is set up with a wireless connection.

rbz5416
2011-12-13, 13:39
I had an issue with the Billion 7800N & SB2/3/Classic where the router appeared to poll the SB when the server was off, causing the display to wake every few minutes with an error. That was just an inconvenience though, there were no problems with streaming.

I now run a Touch in place of the older devices & because it has it's own clock, it can maintain the display when the server is off so the problem doesn't arise.

SuperQ
2011-12-13, 14:04
Nope, no problems with G devices on N routers.

swayzak
2011-12-13, 14:54
Thanks all

Picking up an O2 IV router for 15 squid tomorrow - seems a good deal :)

HeavyB
2011-12-14, 07:47
The range of my wireless network was extended dramatically with the installation of an Asus RT-N56CU router (http://reviews.cnet.com/routers/asus-rt-n56u-dual/4505-3319_7-34200558-2.html?tag=mncol;rvwBody). I can now enjoy a boom outside, 50 ft. away from the router, and through several walls including exterior walls of cement block and brick. Previously only a wired connection permitted me to use squeezeboxen outdoors.