PDA

View Full Version : Fishbone enhancements?



Jason
2004-10-15, 12:51
I know it must have done it for a while because I think it was when I loaded
one of the 5.3 betas that I noticed it had gone away. I figured it just
used a cookie to keep track of which search selection I wanted and kept
pulling it up the same way each time.

As far as the button synch thing goes, it's really no huge deal, but I
synch/unsynch my players a lot and current to unsynch I have to click on the
player settings, then click on the audio tab (and frequently hunt for it
because I seem to always forget that's where it is) then I have to click on
no synchronize from the dropdown, then click on change, then click on home
to ge back to the primary display.

I was thinking it would be neat if there was just a little button next to
the drop down box that shows the player name/status, or maybe just another
text option over on the right of the player, where all the other stuff is.

Kinda like what I put in my caveman drawing here;

http://home.comcast.net/~audi-fan/pics/synchbutton.jpg

Let me know if you want me to put this stuff as an enhancement request in,
but if it will take too much time and I'm the only one interested in the
changes it's no big dealio.

-J



-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of kdf
Sent: Friday, October 15, 2004 12:17 PM
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] Fishbone enhancements?

Quoting Jason <jason (AT) pagefamily (DOT) net>:

> Where do we submit enhancement requests for the Fishbone skin? I
> don't know about others but I'd love to see the following.

http://bugs.slimdevices.com

> "persistance in search drop down box". it used to work this way, if I
> did a search by artist it would stay search by artist next time, now
> it always reverts back to search by album.

do you recall when it used to do this? It used to be a single menu, which
persisted teh browse mode. The search mode was linked to browse mode, thus
it would persist as a side effect. However, the server now creates the list
for both search and browse to allow for future additions. This made it near
impossible to combine the lists as before. however, it shouldn't be too
hard to add persistence.

>
> "unsynch button" .. There are too many menus to drill down on the web
> page to unsynch the player. A simple "unsynch" button in the player
> display would help tremendously.

where would you want it in the player display? The sync commands are only
two clicks away right now.

-kdf

kdf
2004-10-15, 13:06
Quoting Jason <jason (AT) pagefamily (DOT) net>:

> I know it must have done it for a while because I think it was when I loaded
> one of the 5.3 betas that I noticed it had gone away. I figured it just
> used a cookie to keep track of which search selection I wanted and kept
> pulling it up the same way each time.
a cookie is exacly what it uses. They are a pain to use, but it coudl be done.

>
> As far as the button synch thing goes, it's really no huge deal, but I
> synch/unsynch my players a lot and current to unsynch I have to click on the
> player settings, then click on the audio tab (and frequently hunt for it
> because I seem to always forget that's where it is) then I have to click on
> no synchronize from the dropdown, then click on change, then click on home
> to ge back to the primary display.
>
> I was thinking it would be neat if there was just a little button next to
> the drop down box that shows the player name/status, or maybe just another
> text option over on the right of the player, where all the other stuff is.
>
> Kinda like what I put in my caveman drawing here;
>
> http://home.comcast.net/~audi-fan/pics/synchbutton.jpg
>
> Let me know if you want me to put this stuff as an enhancement request in,
> but if it will take too much time and I'm the only one interested in the
> changes it's no big dealio.

might as well create the request regardless. The only way to really know if
others want it as well is to put it there and let people vote.

2004-10-15, 19:46
Has anyone developed a step-by-step for installing the Slim Server on a
Buffalo box?

I have dabbled in unix/linux and can find my way around the OS, but I
am not familiar enough to go this alone. I saved all the eMails but I
am having trouble following and developing an install plan. Can anyone
help?

Mike